Flowcode Buggy HP794 Win7 32-bit USB problem (solved)

For Formula Flowcode Micromouse users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to the Formula Flowcode Micromouse.

Moderator: Benj

ICTTechnicum
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:39 pm
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Flowcode Buggy HP794 Win7 32-bit USB problem (solved)

Postby ICTTechnicum » Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:55 pm

Hello


We are using now for several years the Flowcode Buggy with Flowcode V3 on Win XP in our school.

Last week we installed new pc's with Win 7 32-bit. Our "old" buggy's are recognised fine by Win 7 32-bit (drivers installed from the website of Matrix).

But this week we bought 4 new buggy's (HP794 Formula FLowcode Buggy Kit). When we connect the new buggy, we hear a sound from Win 7 that it is connected, Win 7 also installs automatically the drivers. We get the announcement that the device is installed and ready, but it shuts down immediately. So it appears a short time in the device manager and then disappears after a few seconds. When we reconnect our "old" buggy, this one stays "alive" in the device manager!
The new and the old buggy are exactly the same, they have the same microchip PIC18F4455 but the chip left of the microchip is different. The old one is HPS16A JL L7C and the new one is HPS16C JL B3B. Is this the problem?

We tried everything from installing older drivers, Win 7 save mode, uninstalling everything, reinstalling, but it's always the same.

Does anyone have an idea?


Thx a lot!


Raf
ICT Technicum Sint-Truiden
Belgium
Last edited by ICTTechnicum on Tue Mar 25, 2014 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14219
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4360 times
Been thanked: 4096 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode Buggy HP794 Win7 32-bit USB problem

Postby Benj » Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:57 pm

Hello,

If you load the BuggyProg.exe program from the "Flowcode V3" directory and then attach the FF to the computer does the application recognise the buggy and allow it to remain in bootloader mode?

I think the firmware might have changed slightly from the original so that it now works more like one our ECIOs or MIACs. Simply press the reset button on the FF when instructed when programming via flowcode and it should connect, re-program itself and disconnect ready to run your code.

ICTTechnicum
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:39 pm
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Flowcode Buggy HP794 Win7 32-bit USB problem

Postby ICTTechnicum » Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:42 pm

Hello


Yes, that's true but this only works in Windows 7 64-bit! Here we can run BuggyProg.exe and the "new" FF works just like you said.

But we use Windows 7 32-bit because our "old" FF's only work under 32-bit but here the BuggyProg.exe doesn't run. When we start the program it gives an error code that Windows can't start the program. So we are stuck!

Is it possible that the new FF's only work under Windows 64-bit?


Thanks for your help.


Raf

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14219
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4360 times
Been thanked: 4096 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode Buggy HP794 Win7 32-bit USB problem

Postby Benj » Mon Mar 17, 2014 1:03 pm

Hello Raf,

The Buggy Prog software will run on both 32 and 64 bit versions of Windows.

The Formula Flowcode USB driver comes with individual 32-bit and 64-bit installers so you will need to install the correct driver for your system before the BuggyProg software will discover the formula flowcode.

If your still having problems then can you take a screen shot of the error message your receiving.

ICTTechnicum
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:39 pm
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Flowcode Buggy HP794 Win7 32-bit USB problem

Postby ICTTechnicum » Tue Mar 25, 2014 9:04 am

Hello


After your tip that the "buggyprog" will work under 32- and 64-bit, we went on further searching.

Finally we found the problem. We are using Symantec Endpoint Protection in our network and there is a problem with a certain version of this software and Windows 7 Enterprise 32-bit.

We upgraded this software and the problem is solved! So it wasn't a "buggy" problem.

Thx for your help. Case closed! :)


Raf
These users thanked the author ICTTechnicum for the post:
Benj (Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:42 pm)
Rating: 5.26%