Page 1 of 1

Using the HITECH C compiler with Flowcode 4.2

Posted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:30 pm
by Benj
Flowcode versions V4.2 or later now come capable of generating code that is compatible with the HITECH C 10F-12F-16F & 18F compilers. To allow Flowcode to work with the HITECH compiler you must first install the compiler onto your hard drive. The latest version of the HITECH compiler can be downloaded from here http://www.htsoft.com/. The compiler allows you to use it with no restrictions for 45 days. After the 45-day period is over the compiler will change to the lite version which does not optimise the code as much as the pro version does.

Once you have installed the compiler you need to point Flowcode to the HITECH installation directory to allow the compiler to be referenced by Flowcode. To do this open Flowcode and then click on the "chip" menu and select "compiler options".
1.JPG
1.JPG (7.55 KiB) Viewed 76034 times
In here you will need to replace the information in the top four text boxes with the following information ensuring that the paths are correct for your installation of HITECH.

If your using a 10F, 12F or 16F target
Compiler Location 32-bit OS = C:\Program Files\HI-TECH Software\PICC\9.83\bin\picc.exe
Compiler Location 64-bit OS = C:\Program Files (x86)\HI-TECH Software\PICC\9.83\bin\picc.exe
Params = --CHIP=%p -N48 %f.c

If your using a 18F target
Compiler Location 32-bit OS = C:\Program Files\HI-TECH Software\PICC-18\9.80\bin\picc.exe
Compiler Location 64-bit OS = C:\Program Files (x86)\HI-TECH Software\PICC-18\9.80\bin\picc.exe
Params = --CHIP=%p -N48 %f.c

If your using a Matrix target with Matrix USB bootloader eg MIAC, ECIO
Compiler Location 32-bit OS = C:\Program Files\HI-TECH Software\PICC-18\9.80\bin\picc.exe
Compiler Location 64-bit OS = C:\Program Files (x86)\HI-TECH Software\PICC-18\9.80\bin\picc.exe
Params = --CHIP=%p -N48 %f.c --CODEOFFSET=800h --ROM=default,-0-7FF --OUTPUT=inhx032

The next two text boxes control the linker settings and require the following information. You should ensure that the path to the Flowcode directory is correct.

Flowcode v4
Linker Location 32-bit OS = C:\Program Files\Matrix Multimedia\Flowcode V4\Tools\DoNothing\DoNothing.exe
Linker Location 64-bit OS = C:\Program Files (x86)\Matrix Multimedia\Flowcode V4\Tools\DoNothing\DoNothing.exe
Linker Parameters =

Flowcode v5
Linker Location 32-bit OS = C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\Tools\DoNothing\DoNothing.exe
Linker Location 64-bit OS = C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\v5\Tools\DoNothing\DoNothing.exe
Linker Parameters =
2.JPG
2.JPG (38.41 KiB) Viewed 76032 times
Following are a few things to look out for when using the HITECH compiler. Otherwise you will receive the message "Unrecognised File Type" when trying to compile.

1) There must be no spaces in the Flowcode filename.
2) There must be no punctuation in the Flowcode filename.
3) The Flowcode filename must not start with a number.

The following PICmicro targets have been created to work with this new HITECH compatibility, and will currently only work when used with the HITECH compiler:

PIC10F devices : 10F200, 10F202, 10F204, 10F206, 10F220, 10F222
New PIC16/18 devices which are currently unsupported by the BoostC compiler.

If you are using the ICD functionality with the HITECH compiler then you must ensure that the communications speed in the project options is set to approx 3x what it would be for the default BoostC speed. For example at a clock speed of 19660800Hz the default ICD rate is 9. Multiplying 9 by 3 gives a rate of 27, which should allow the ICD to work when compiled with HITECH.
3.JPG
3.JPG (29.05 KiB) Viewed 76032 times
If you wish to restore the Flowcode settings to the default BoostC compiler, you can simply click the "restore defaults" button on the "compiler options" screen, or consult the Flowcode help file which contains the appropriate settings.

In v5 there is an option to save the edited configuration settings. After you have changed all the settings and tested they work go back into the compiler options, type in a name for your configuration eg "HiTech 16 9.83 + PPP" and click the disk icon to save the configuration. You can then use the drop down selection to choose between the default and your edited settings.

Re: Using the HITECH C compiler with Flowcode 4.2

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:41 am
by Benj
A definitions update for newer releases of HiTech is now available from here,

http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 253#p23652

Re: Using the HITECH C compiler with Flowcode 4.2

Posted: Mon May 30, 2011 11:34 pm
by DIKKOABUBAKAR
I too have a similar problem. I simply can not understand the error report. please help. I have a file containing the flowcode program and the error report, but I do not know how to make it available in this space. I can e-mail it however.

Re: Using the HITECH C compiler with Flowcode 4.2

Posted: Tue May 31, 2011 10:15 am
by Benj
Hello,

Please sign up for the v4 forum topic and then create a new topic there and you will be able to attach your program to the forum posting using the upload attachment button.

Re: Using the HITECH C compiler with Flowcode 4.2

Posted: Tue May 31, 2011 3:17 pm
by DIKKOABUBAKAR
I tried the Hi-Tech, but got into more trouble. So I took a second look at my code and realized that SQRT is the same as RAISING TO POWER OF 0.5 This worked well and I have now compiled my code to HEX in BOOSTC.

Re: Using the HITECH C compiler with Flowcode 4.2

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 11:04 am
by Benj
Hello,

The latest set of definitions to go with the latest version of the HiTech compiler can be found here.
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... ons#p37125

Re: Using the HITECH C compiler with Flowcode 4.2

Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:21 pm
by jawier
What about FC V5 and Hi-Tech compiler?

Re: Using the HITECH C compiler with Flowcode 4.2

Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:49 pm
by medelec35
jawier wrote:What about FC V5 and Hi-Tech compiler?
Hi jawier,
There is a FAQ on this that can be found here:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/support ... f=68&t=788

With V5 once the compiler details are stored ( same with different programmers as well) it's very easy to to instantly swap from form one version to another.
You just select form a drop down box.

Martin

Re: Using the HITECH C compiler with Flowcode 4.2

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:55 pm
by jawier
I am trying use FC5 with HiTech 9.8, but in MPLAB 8.63 and it not works.

Build C:\ProyectosPic\HiTech18fProba for device 18F2550
Using driver C:\Program Files\HI-TECH Software\PICC-18\9.80\bin\picc18.exe

Make: The target "C:\ProyectosPic\Proba18FCV5HiTech.p1" is out of date.
Executing: "C:\Program Files\HI-TECH Software\PICC-18\9.80\bin\picc18.exe" --pass1 C:\ProyectosPic\Proba18FCV5HiTech.c -q --chip=18F2550 -P --runtime=default --opt=default,+asm,-debug,-speed,+space,9 --warn=0 -D__DEBUG=1 --addrqual=ignore -g --asmlist "--errformat=Error [%n] %f; %l.%c %s" "--msgformat=Advisory[%n] %s" "--warnformat=Warning [%n] %f; %l.%c %s"
Error [984] C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\FCD\..\CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_IO.c; 120.1 type redeclared
Error [1098] C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\FCD\..\CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_IO.c; 120.1 conflicting declarations for variable "FC_CAL_Port_In__x" (C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\FCD\..\CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_IO.h:42)
Error [253] C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\FCD\..\CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_IO.c; 120.1 argument list conflicts with prototype
Error [984] C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\FCD\..\CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_IO.c; 126.1 type redeclared
Error [1098] C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\FCD\..\CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_IO.c; 126.1 conflicting declarations for variable "FC_CAL_Port_In_DDR__x" (C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\FCD\..\CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_IO.h:43)
Error [253] C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\FCD\..\CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_IO.c; 126.1 argument list conflicts with prototype

Re: Using the HITECH C compiler with Flowcode 4.2

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:00 pm
by jawier
It is only possible with Hitech 9.70 and 9.63?

Pictures

Re: Using the HITECH C compiler with Flowcode 4.2

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:07 pm
by medelec35
Hi jawier,
For you to get any help with your version of V5 Professional or Home version,
Can you please register for the V5 section by going to:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... =46&t=9958

Then your post can be moved since your not using V4.2 Flowcode.

If you would like to post a flowchart that your having issues with, then once your registered, it can be look at.

Martin