3C : RS232 Parity (1)

Tips, Tricks and methods for programming, learn ways of making your programming life easier, and share your knowledge with others.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
Dan81
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:07 pm
Location: Albi France
Been thanked: 60 times
Contact:

3C : RS232 Parity (1)

Post by Dan81 »

Hello

An interesting new function in Flowcode v4 is C Code Customization.
With v3, it was possible to customize but you were obliged to modify a file in a sub directory of ..\Flowcode\.. and when you went off with your laptop, the modified file stayed at home (or at the office) in your desktop computer.
Now you only need to (remember to) take your Flowchart.

Now I frequently use this new function.

RS232 is a little bit old , but there is always a system which uses it and of course needs PARITY !

The only thing to do is to put an RS232 component, click "Custom Code" then "Import" and select the right file ( Parity_Even.fcc or Parity_Odd.fcc ).

I've made several tests (Software and UART1, I don't get Pic with UART2) it seems to be OK.

Daniel

PS : see also 3C : RS232 Parity (2)
Attachments
Parity_Even.fcc
customized component macro file
(22.37 KiB) Downloaded 539 times
Receive_Even.fcf
for example
(32.6 KiB) Downloaded 618 times
Send_Even.fcf
for example
(29.04 KiB) Downloaded 584 times

ncc1502
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 8 times
Contact:

Re: 3C : RS232 Parity (1)

Post by ncc1502 »

Dan81,

I am not a C programmer and i do not understand the code of components, so how to change that is even more a mistery to me.

After i import your 232 component, what do i have to do to send/receive in odd or even parity?

I have looked at your sample files but at the extende properties of the RS232 component 8 bit is checked, is this correct or should it be 9 bit?

Thanks for your reply
Better safe then sorry

User avatar
Dan81
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:07 pm
Location: Albi France
Been thanked: 60 times
Contact:

Re: 3C : RS232 Parity (1)

Post by Dan81 »

Hello

When "even.fcc" (or "odd.fcc") is imported, the only thing you have to do is to select the baud rate.
Don't touch anything else. (9th bit is declared in the *.fcc).

Parity can't be changed "on the fly" ( I don't think it is useful).

Then you've just got to use "SendRS232Char" ("ReceiveRS232Char") as you do without parity.

Daniel

boogui
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:50 pm
Contact:

Re: 3C : RS232 Parity (1)

Post by boogui »

hello dan
i've tried your even and odd files importing them in the component, but i get errors when i start compiling.
I'm using flowcode v5 and a PIC 18F26k22.
do you think it can be related to any of those ?


many thanks for your help

seb

Spanish_dude
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 102 times
Contact:

Re: 3C : RS232 Parity (1)

Post by Spanish_dude »

What errors do you get ?

- Nicolas

Post Reply