All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 4.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 4 or higher. To sign up for this forum topic please use the "Online Resources" link in the Flowcode Help Menu.

Moderator: Benj

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 1:53 pm

Hi Martin,

While you are 'there'.....
I just wondered if you could give me a clue here - for the PIC16F1823 which simulates and compiles to hex but fails to compile to chip in the last few lines: Can you tell me or point to a link which shows me what needs changing in 'Compiler options/Programmer' for PPP, PICkit2/3 and mLoader respectively - then I can try all these alternatives.

Chris

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8332
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2381 times
Been thanked: 3393 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby medelec35 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 4:40 pm

Which programmer are you going to try with?
Have you already got this programmer?
If not then when you do have it, we can take it from there.
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
christoph (Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:41 am)
Rating: 5.56%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 7:11 pm

Hi Martin,

Thankyou for coming back on this query - unfortunately had to dash off so couldn't answer straight away.

I have the old HP488 programmer and have no trouble with any other chips but this one - as you have said in previous post - the PIC16F1823 has had some bugs with it but having tried a 'tweaked' one, on the whole it seems ok except for the last few lines sending to chip and a panel comes up saying it 'cant send to chip, check location and parameters'. That is what it says when I try to use mLoader. David A. gave me a link to download latest mLoader to try after I had downloaded latest PPP and it wasn't working. Benj gave me some ideas re PICkit 2 and 3 and thought they might work but I have tried a PICkit 2 (I havent a PICkit 3) wired accordingly direct to the chip without success. I have tried 'default' on the compiler too. Final thing was really to buy an EB006 but dont want to spend all that money just to programme this one particular chip even though it would be nice! So basically I need to stick with my HP488 programmer.

Chris

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 7:28 pm

Hi Martin,

This is with PPP
Attachments
Failure compiling to chip.jpg
(377.83 KiB) Downloaded 7554 times

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8332
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2381 times
Been thanked: 3393 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby medelec35 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 8:17 pm

Hi Chris,
PPP programmer location looks wrong.
There is a square bracket in your path after V4\.
You can select Restore Defaults.
Then make sure you have:
Programmer:
Location:C:\Program Files\Matrix Multimedia\Flowcode V4\tools\PPP\PPPv3.exe
Parameters:-cs 2 -chip PIC%p -nogui "%f.hex"

I have just programmed a 16F1824 with Flwocde V4, PPP and EB006 V7 which is prior to ghost so should be the same programming setup as your hardware.

If you make sure location and parameters are as above we can then take it from there.

Martin
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
christoph (Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:41 am)
Rating: 5.56%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 9:31 pm

ok I giving that a whirl now....

Chris

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 9:57 pm

Hi Martin,

This is now how it looks and the dotted lines are still continuing so will send you this and click OK and send you the result (bearing in mind that I still have this problem of all my charts still taking 8 minutes instead of a few seconds)!
Attachments
A_Untitled.jpg
(365.79 KiB) Downloaded 7545 times

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:02 pm

....and when I click 'Yes' it finishes like this:-
Attachments
B_Untitled.jpg
(344.59 KiB) Downloaded 7545 times

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:21 pm

....and these are the current Compiler options (two 'cos I can't get the 'whole' lines to show) :-
Attachments
D_Untitled.jpg
(383.51 KiB) Downloaded 7544 times
C_Untitled.jpg
(383.27 KiB) Downloaded 7544 times

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:27 pm

Sorry - they were bothe the ends but this one is the beginnings:-
Attachments
E_Untitled.jpg
(367.58 KiB) Downloaded 7544 times

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:41 pm

Well spotted re the square bracket which was because when I DO select defaults, it comes up with a word ( I cant remember what it is and don't want to mess anything up at this stage to check) inside square brackets and way back a year or two, this problem came up and is fixed by replacing the square brackets and contents with what it should be at the start of the line - and I had inadvertently left the end bracket and not noticed. I explain this here for the benefit of anyone following this as well.

It is the long dotted lines that use up the 8 minutes processing and Task Manager shows that up as 'not responding' during that time. I am just concerned to try and get F1823 to programme as I havent been able to test the hardware yet. :(

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8332
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2381 times
Been thanked: 3393 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby medelec35 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:47 pm

Can you go in to the Flowcode\Tools\PPP directory.
Select PPP then Help about.
Let me know the version.
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
christoph (Sat Oct 22, 2016 11:26 pm)
Rating: 5.56%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 11:06 pm

version 3.11.15.30

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8332
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2381 times
Been thanked: 3393 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby medelec35 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 11:23 pm

Is programming selection Jumper on HP488 in ICD or USB?
Do you have a different programmer like Pickit3?
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
christoph (Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:41 am)
Rating: 5.56%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 11:28 pm

USB

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sat Oct 22, 2016 11:34 pm

Hi Martin,

I have never moved it but I* gave it a 'wiggle' to make sure it was making good contact just yestrday in fact - but all the other chips programme ok!

Chris

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:40 am

Hi Martin,
No I dont have a PICkit 3 - only a 2 and that doesn't 'do it'. It seems to me that the Flowcode re-work for that chip to iron out the bugs is just not recognised by earlier programming software and what concerns me is that I am informed by Matrix M that Flowcode 4.5 will PROBABLY work with the F1823 via EB006 but it is not guaranteed so I may then need to buy later version of Flowcode as well, which is getting expensive for one particular chip. Same applies to the 1824 and 1825 as they have the same problems. Unfortunately no other chip has the particular attributes I need.
Chris

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8332
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2381 times
Been thanked: 3393 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby medelec35 » Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:51 am

Hi Chris,
As I don't have the same hardware as you, I can't guarantee help you resolve this.
Have you had a look at this post?
I have used a PICkit2 to program via Flwocode a 12F1840 device.
If it programs that it should work with any 16F18xx device.
Although Flowcode V5 is mentioned, there is no reason it should not work with V4.
At the very least You must use a 10k resistor in series with VPP of programmer and target device.

Martin
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

christoph
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 382
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:28 pm
Has thanked: 196 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: All good except not completing 'compile to chip'

Postby christoph » Sun Oct 23, 2016 8:50 pm

Hi Martin,
Yes, I looked at the post you mentioned and that is interesting because I currently use a PIC12F1840 and I have no problems with it at all from flowchart right through to programming the chip and runs the hardware perfectly and predictably!
That is using both my HP488 development board AND PICkit 2 with Flowcode v4.5 (which also works with EVERY other chip I have tried in the 12F and 16F series since 2011). The latest current ones I am using are PIC16F767's and they all work perfectly from start to finish first time working from 3 different flowcharts so doing 3 different jobs.
It just seems to come down to this one 'awkward' PIC16F1823!
I didn't experience any damaged chips with the HP488 or the PICkit 2 but oops, I thought the voltage out of the PICkit 2 was less than 12 for VPP so I always connect directly.

Don't know that there is much more that can be done other than know what the compiling option SHOULD look like for mLoader so I can check it but haven't had response from Matrix on that which is still in my last post in 'GENERAL' posts.
Would you know what that should look like at all or is it dependent on other factors like the software on the HP488?

Chris