Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

User avatar
JonnyW
Posts: 1230
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:13 am
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 306 times
Contact:

Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby JonnyW » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:53 am

Good morning.

Just to let you all know that there is a latest install of Flowcode v5.5 for all variants available. This is the first Flowcode version to package DSP components. You can upgrade your current version through Flowcode.

Select 'Online Resources' or 'Check For Updates' in your registered copy of Flowcode to download the patch installer.
menu.png
menu.png (2.38 KiB) Viewed 27186 times


The link in your web links will be highlighted in yellow.
weblinks.png
weblinks.png (11.18 KiB) Viewed 27186 times


There is a change list below:

################################
# Flowcode for PICmicros V5.5 #
# Release: 17th January 2013 #
################################

EXE
* Addition of extra free-version chips for dsPIC
* Fixed line grid-lock on the Panel
* ICD switch on/off marks doc as modified
* Cosmetic fix to show port H and L instead of port 1 and 0 for 16-bit ports
* Fix to allow import/upgrade of V5 dsPIC programs using Zigbee component
* Removed some reg-key resource leaks
* Undo marks project as modified
* AVR icon colour is correct in release

CAL
* ADC CAL bug fix and efficiency increase
* MIAC module CAL updates
* I/O CAL file updates – allow multi byte ports
* Strings CAL – fixes/improvements to some of the functions

Components
* Added DSP components
* CAN filters bug fix – Standard frames only
* I2C remappable bug fix
* SPI pre-scalar bug fix
* ADC conversion speed bug fix
* RC5 component works in SW mode with correct pins

FCD
* 18FxxJ53 Family - USB bug fix
* 10F bug fix
* Mods to some FCD init routines
* Added missing RXINT to FCDs
* FCD timer updates
* TRISE fix PSP devices
* Added missing RE3/MCLR pin to some devices
* UART bug fixes and mods
* FCD mods K80 family – PWM pin definitions

Misc
* HiTech definitions update
* Removed unnecessary warnings from compilation
* avrdude.exe and other AVR packaged files are at the latest version

Known issues
PPP not reporting incorrect chip on download
These users thanked the author JonnyW for the post (total 11):
kersing (Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:56 am) • medelec35 (Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:18 pm) • Jan Lichtenbelt (Sat Jan 26, 2013 9:14 pm) • Enamul (Sat Jan 26, 2013 9:42 pm) • randomrichard (Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:52 pm) • Brendan (Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:03 am) • STibor (Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:34 am) • JohnCrow (Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:06 pm) • jgu1 (Sun Jan 27, 2013 2:43 pm) • Mantas (Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:39 pm) and one more user
Rating: 57.89%
 

wayne millard
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 2:18 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby wayne millard » Sat Jan 26, 2013 3:47 pm

Hi Flowcode Team,

Is there going to be any examples on how to use all of the componets on the new DSP update?

Thanks,
Wayne Millard :D

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 467 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby dazz » Sat Jan 26, 2013 5:50 pm

Hi Wayne
Heres a basic chart, use it in conjunction with the help files

Regards
Dazz
Basic DSP Template.fcf
(13.74 KiB) Downloaded 947 times
These users thanked the author dazz for the post (total 3):
medelec35 (Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:01 pm) • STibor (Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:34 am) • randomrichard (Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:16 pm)
Rating: 15.79%
 
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

wayne millard
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 2:18 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby wayne millard » Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:47 pm

Hi thanks Daz,

I cant seem to load this example it says that it has a compont not registered any one know why?

Wayne Millard

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 467 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby dazz » Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:51 pm

Hi Wayne
what flowcode are you using avr ,pic,dspic or arm

Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8440
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2412 times
Been thanked: 3450 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby medelec35 » Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:21 pm

Hi Wayne,
This is from Benj, he gets 100% of the credit.
There are examples using DSP components and a document explaining how it works
The document is not complete yet, i have posted it to give you an idea.
So you will need to bare that in mind.
I believe the document will be officially released once it's finished.

Hope it helps

Martin
Attachments
DSP Examples.zip
(127.73 KiB) Downloaded 867 times
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post (total 3):
wayne millard (Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:39 pm) • STibor (Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:34 am) • Mantas (Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:45 am)
Rating: 15.79%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

randomrichard
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:01 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby randomrichard » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:07 pm

Hello
Followed your instructions to download patch (V5.5) installer from my V5.4 but was simply returned to your today's forum message announcing the update. Where is the hypertext or button for the actual downloadable patch?
Thanks
randomrichard

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 467 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby dazz » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:21 pm

Hi Richard
If you cant download from flowcode itself(the help, check for update in flowcode works for me, i just checked), here the direct link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/flowcode.php, put the last two sections of your key in press submit and it will download the latest version

Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

wayne millard
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 2:18 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby wayne millard » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:25 pm

Hi medelec35,

Thank you for the examples but i cant seem to load them with lots of errors.
i am running Flowcode 5.5 for pic Pro
I unistall old flowcode then install the full install but still have problems

Wayne Millard :oops:

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 467 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby dazz » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:27 pm

Hi Wayne
can you post a screen shot of the error

Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

randomrichard
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:01 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby randomrichard » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:51 pm

dazz wrote:Hi Richard
If you cant download from flowcode itself(the help, check for update in flowcode works for me, i just checked), here the direct link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/flowcode.php, put the last two sections of your key in press submit and it will download the latest version

Regards
Dazz


Hi Dazz
Many thanks for your help which has enabled me to install V5.5. I have quoted you to emphasize to others stuck as I was that your suggestion works.
Regards
randomrichard

wayne millard
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 2:18 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby wayne millard » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:10 am

Hi Dazz,

Sorry cant post screen dumps of the problem

Wayne

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8440
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2412 times
Been thanked: 3450 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby medelec35 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:46 am

The examples are for 16bit DSP flowcode, but should give you an idea?

Its the document that should be worth reading.

DSP components are not easy to understand at all

I struggle with that side.
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

Brendan
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 112 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby Brendan » Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:03 am

I used the 'Check for Update' link without isue, though after downloading and opening the installer I made a point of closing Flowcode before running the installer. There is a message to this effect though.

Though I'm unable to guess at the problems/errors others may have experienced, it may be an issue associated with locked files if Flowcode remains open and files are in use when the installer is trying to update them.

All the best,

Brendan

User avatar
STibor
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 3:20 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 112 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby STibor » Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:42 am

Imported in the 10th Frequency Analysis FFT.fcf_pic16 file using the Attachment is the error message.
If you have your hardware components, will close at the start of the simulation Flowcode.
Attachments
error_1.jpg
error_1.jpg (74.57 KiB) Viewed 27083 times
10. Frequency Analysis using FFT.fcf
(20.61 KiB) Downloaded 623 times

randomrichard
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:01 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby randomrichard » Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:30 am

Following Dazz's instructions and installing "free" version of V5, the installer automatically incorporated my licence code and gave access to V5.5 after deleting my previous V5.4. I then had no problem installing the FFT example:

Now I have to purchase an EB064 and components!
Exciting.
randomrichard
Attachments
FFT screen.JPG
(246.09 KiB) Downloaded 15603 times

User avatar
JonnyW
Posts: 1230
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:13 am
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 306 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby JonnyW » Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:46 am

Hello. It seems from these posts there is a problem importing DSP programs from one version of Flowcode to another (so dsPIC to PIC).

If this is something that will commonly need to be done we may need to produce a patch for this, though I would rather not produce a new Flowcode release so if these are isolated incidents based solely around the example files perhaps we can produce these examples in each variant instead.

Cheers,

Jonny

wayne millard
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 2:18 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby wayne millard » Sun Jan 27, 2013 2:31 pm

Hi Jonny,

Thanks for the heads up on the problem.
Cant wait to see some examples on 8 bit pics.

Thanks,
Wayne :D

jgu1
Posts: 1102
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1003 times
Been thanked: 255 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby jgu1 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 2:39 pm

Hello Johnny! :D

With version 5.5, does this this means that all minor fixes in 5.4 updated in 5.5 and in addition DSP component.

And I need to formatC on one of my PC. When I reinstall FC, do I then only run the 5.5 . exe to reinstall :?:

Have a nice Sunday

Jorgen

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 467 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby dazz » Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:06 pm

Hi Jorgen
Yes most was updated and dsp components added, V5.5 is a complete install not a patchfile. so when you reformat your drive use the V5.5 installer and you will need your full keycode

Regards
Dazz
These users thanked the author dazz for the post:
jgu1 (Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:56 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

jgu1
Posts: 1102
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1003 times
Been thanked: 255 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby jgu1 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:55 pm

Hi Dazz!

Thank you. :D

Best regard

Jorgen

User avatar
Mantas
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 10:32 pm
Location: Klaipeda, Lithuania - North sea, UK
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby Mantas » Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:03 am

JonnyW wrote:Hello. It seems from these posts there is a problem importing DSP programs from one version of Flowcode to another (so dsPIC to PIC).

If this is something that will commonly need to be done we may need to produce a patch for this, though I would rather not produce a new Flowcode release so if these are isolated incidents based solely around the example files perhaps we can produce these examples in each variant instead.

Cheers,

Jonny


Hello Jonny,

Congrats, for the another milestone on the flowcode development. I would like to see examples of those above for ARM version also, because I have the same ploblem importing them.

Cheers,
Mantas
Science is my true religion.

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 467 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby dazz » Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:35 am

Hi Mantas
Can you post som screenshots of the error messages and what file you were trying to import etc.
Ive attached the sample files below already saved in arm version
Regards
Dazz

arm.zip
(39.14 KiB) Downloaded 530 times
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

User avatar
JonnyW
Posts: 1230
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:13 am
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 306 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby JonnyW » Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:15 pm

Hello. For anyone having issues with example 10 crashing Flowcode when simulation is clicked, there was a mistake in the DSP_Input call in the interrupt that was causing problems. The amended example file is here:

10. Frequency Analysis using FFT.fcf_pic16
(21.58 KiB) Downloaded 701 times


Can anyone who is having trouble importing into non-dsPIC versions take me through what steps they are taking and the error messages, as I can not replicate this here - programs import fine.

Cheers,

Jonny
These users thanked the author JonnyW for the post:
randomrichard (Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:24 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 

User avatar
Mantas
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 10:32 pm
Location: Klaipeda, Lithuania - North sea, UK
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby Mantas » Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:12 pm

dazz wrote:Hi Mantas
Can you post som screenshots of the error messages and what file you were trying to import etc.
Ive attached the sample files below already saved in arm version
Regards
Dazz

The attachment arm.zip is no longer available


Hello Dazz, Jonny,

First of all thank you very much for the arm files :wink: Can you make the last one, example 10? But why is it showing to me that it is v4 arm files? About the error, - it just says the same, that one or more components are not registered on this machine, bla bla bla...it even crashes if I try to import V4 files on V5 arm...steps I take are simple, file-> open->choose a file...
[img]
error.png
[/img]

Cheers,
Mantas
Attachments
error.png
erroe_screenshot
(209.59 KiB) Downloaded 15448 times
Science is my true religion.