Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

SHORTCIRCUIT
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 4:39 am
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada USA
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby SHORTCIRCUIT » Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:54 pm

I am interested in using the DSP component in V5, however not being an engineer I find it very difficult. Particularly interested in bandpass filter in the voice frequency range. Does anyone have an example they can post which I will use to learn from. I have a PIC 16F88 in mind. Will this be fast enough to handle bandpass filter function or is it to slow.
I have been watch the site for some time now, but no helpfull examples yet. I know what a bandpass filter does but I am not familiar with the terms used to setup the DSP component. So please be very explicit. I need this badly. Are there any you tube stuff on this or any matrix training videos, etc. Thanking you in advance.

Oh, am I posting this in the right place?

wayne millard
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 2:18 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby wayne millard » Thu Mar 14, 2013 5:05 pm

Hi Matrix team,

Is there going to be any explanation on how to use DSP how to use each componet
and any examples?

Wayne :?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14374
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4448 times
Been thanked: 4151 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby Benj » Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:11 pm

Hi Wayne,

This was meant to be released as an official article. I will chase it up at this end.
Attachments
DSP.zip
(645.85 KiB) Downloaded 597 times

Xavier
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 11:26 pm
Location: South Africa
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby Xavier » Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:45 pm

Hi Guys

I wanted to open an example with DSP but I get a message telling me that the 30f3014 is not available and that I must choose a substitute... First I would not know what could be a good substitute second aren't these chips available for download? I'm running flowcode 5.5.2.1profecional (am I missing something here? )

All the best
Xavier

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14374
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4448 times
Been thanked: 4151 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby Benj » Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:11 am

Hello Xavier,

The examples were all developed using Flowcode for dsPICs as these devices have the most power to do DSP type applications.

You can open the DSP example files into other variants of Flowcode but you will have to choose which target device you want to use from that variant's available targets.

Xavier
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 11:26 pm
Location: South Africa
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby Xavier » Sun Apr 21, 2013 4:33 pm

Hi Benj

I was not notified of this message hence my very late response. As I have no idea as to what chip can be used with DSP can you tell me if there is a list available on these chips and how could I recognize one that has DSP?. Another thing that pops to mind is FlowCode v5.5 has DSP. I have looked long and hard on the forum to see if I could find an example using DSP but I have found non, could it not be possible to have a few examples using it ?

All the best all
Xavier

User avatar
BChappy
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:03 pm
Location: Lincoln, UK.
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby BChappy » Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:23 pm

Hello Xavier,

My understanding is that DSP is possible on almost any an 8 bit micro from "midrange" upward, but will be for less critical control applications, due to resolution and speed, not forgetting lack of the "dsp engine". The examples posted are for Flowcode V5 for dsPIC.

PIC micros specifically for DSP (digital signal processing) have the "ds" prefix (dsPIC) dsPIC30/33.
dsPIC30... series are 2.5-5.5V / 16 bit,
dsPIC33... series are 3.3V / 16 bit.
The PIC24 are general purpose 16 bit micros.
Microchip dsPIC family page, links below for more information,
For dsPIC30: Click here!
For dsPIC33: Click here!


Hope this helps.

Regards

Brian
These users thanked the author BChappy for the post:
Benj (Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:05 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Is your Project Not Working? - Help and General Advice Click here!
Flowcode v8 forum topic - Click here!

SHORTCIRCUIT
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 4:39 am
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada USA
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby SHORTCIRCUIT » Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:19 pm

I just downloaded the free trial version of Flowcode 5 for dsPic and I am not able to load any of the DSP examples.
the program shuts down immediately. Their seems not to be a DSP module in the trial version. Is this correct or am I
missing something.

User avatar
DavidA
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1060
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 275 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby DavidA » Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:39 am

Hi,

No sorry the Flowcode v5 free doesnt have the DSP modules in it.

We hopefully have a new version of Flowcode coming out very soon and the free version of that will have the DSP libraries available to test.

User avatar
Nico595
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:46 pm
Location: Toulouse France
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v5.5 with DSP for all variants

Postby Nico595 » Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:42 am

Hi,

I upgrade Flowcode V5.3 ARM with last version. I see DSP component and I test this, but I have problem.

Code: Select all

t.c:2330: error: syntax error before 'MX_SINT8'
t.c:2330: error: 'Gene' undeclared here (not in a function)
t.c:2330: error: syntax error before numeric constant


Gene is name of buffer.

How for controled parameters of FREQ with variables ?


Thank you very much