Running out of Memory

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
Bobw
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 10:39 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Running out of Memory

Post by Bobw »

Still working on my Auto Humidistat project and it looks like I am running out of memory.
This is what I get at the end of the compiler:

RAM available:384 bytes, used:164 bytes (42.8%), free:220 bytes (57.2%),
Heap size:220 bytes, Heap max single alloc:79 bytes
ROM available:4096 words, used:4062 words (99.2%), free:34 words (0.8%)

What can i do to reduce things a bit?
Less variables?
I do have a spot where I could use the same variables just change the calculation a bit.
I still need to add about 10 decision trees to things.

Bob

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Running out of Memory

Post by Benj »

Hello Bob,

It looks like your variable usage (RAM) is fine. The problem is your program code (ROM).

To try and reduce the ROM usage look for sections of code that are repeated and see if you can move any of the repeated code into a macro to save a bit of space. If you don't have much repeated code then is there a logical way to remove the complexity of your programs by restructuring etc?

If you post up your program to the forums then we can probably offer some pointers of where to start.

Bobw
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 10:39 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Re: Running out of Memory

Post by Bobw »

I have not removed any thing yet.
I was going to display both temp in C and in F, only use degrees F here in the USA.

Will remove the temp in C or use the same string variables with a different calculation. Have to toy around with that one.
I can loose the do nothing loop where I display x o X . Had that in there so I could just see the program was running.
I could also loose the interrupt and just check the switch state like I had originally planned on, have to move the pins from RA2 and RA3 to RB6 and RB7 to use the interrupt, poor planning on my part.
I have all my formulas working well, just have to smooth things out. I could also loose the start up display at the beginning of the program, no one is going to see that part anyway except once on start up.

As a side note: Chinese LCD displays use a strange ASCII set, I always thought ASCII 167 was a degree symbol, on this display it is 223.
Attachments
newhum101.fcf
(24.48 KiB) Downloaded 299 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Running out of Memory

Post by Benj »

I noticed a couple of floating point values in the program and wondered if these could be causing the code bloat.

e.g. 102.4

Bobw
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 10:39 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Re: Running out of Memory

Post by Bobw »

Darn,
Missed that one.
changed it to 102
Amazing how much a float value will eat up.

RAM available:384 bytes, used:120 bytes (31.3%), free:264 bytes (68.7%),
Heap size:264 bytes, Heap max single alloc:79 bytes
ROM available:4096 words, used:1849 words (45.2%), free:2247 words (54.8%)

Thanks Ben.........

Bobw
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 10:39 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Re: Running out of Memory

Post by Bobw »

Guess I am just going to have to bite the bullet and upgrade to The Pro Version, If I can find my License key for the 5.0 Student.

Bob

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Running out of Memory

Post by Benj »

Hi Bob,

If you can't find it then send me a PM with your details: username, email etc and I will see if I can dig out the key for you.

Bobw
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 10:39 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Re: Running out of Memory

Post by Bobw »

Had to do away with a few things.
Talk about cutting it close.
RAM available:384 bytes, used:118 bytes (30.8%), free:266 bytes (69.2%),
Heap size:266 bytes, Heap max single alloc:79 bytes
ROM available:4096 words, used:4051 words (99.0%), free:45 words (1.0%)

Bob

Post Reply