Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 3:27 pm

Hi, cant seem to get this program right.

Have had to reinstall flowcode 5 onto a new laptop.Windows 8.1 64 bit.
I.ve attached the flowchart and error and hope somebody can point out where I went wrong.Thanks a lot.
Attachments
pickit 2 setup 5.png
pickit 2 setup 5.png (189.64 KiB) Viewed 2142 times
SETUP LIGHT1.fcf
(8.5 KiB) Downloaded 34 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14321
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4412 times
Been thanked: 4129 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby Benj » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:09 pm

Hello,

Some antivirus software will flag files with two or more . in the filename as viruses or malware and get rid of them. Maybe check your antivirus and see if the mentioned files are where they should be.

e.g.

libc.pic16.lib
rand.pic16.lib

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:40 pm

Thanks. Will check it out when I get home. So, I assume all my programmer and compiler settings are correct?

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2405 times
Been thanked: 3437 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby medelec35 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:44 pm

Hi John,
It looks like path settings of Linker within compiler options are wrong, they don't match!
If you look at your screen shot you will see both C:\Program Files (x86)\ and C:\Program Files\ are both used.
Could that be the issue?
My path for 64 bit windows for the linker settings are:
Location

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\v5\Tools\boostc\boostlink_pic.exe


Parameters

Code: Select all

-ld "C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\v5\Tools\BoostC\lib" libc.pic16.lib rand.pic16.lib float.pic16.lib "%f.obj" -t PIC%p -d "%d" -p "%f"
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
Benj (Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:43 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:02 am

Hi Martin, tried changing the settings to what you use but to no avail.What I dont understand is that I used a program from about a year ago that did work but now does not. Different laptop but same software and pickit 2 programmer. Any ideas?

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2405 times
Been thanked: 3437 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby medelec35 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:24 am

Is laptop 32 or 64bit windows?
Can you post within code option all the compiler message.
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:21 am

Sure, laptop is 8.1 64 bit. I'll do screen grabs and post tomorrow for you to peruse. Thanks for your help. John

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 9:24 am

Hi Martin, not sure where I find the CODE OPTION within compiler. I have however done screen grabs of various compiler and programmer settings in the hope they will help with the issue.

Could I ask what programmer could I upgrade to for Flowcode 5. As I am still an absolute beginner I cant justify upgrading Flowcode 5 yet.I will however be getting a new laptop running Windows 10 soon. Thanks a lot.
Attachments
Compiler Options-Compiler.jpg
Compiler Options-Compiler.jpg (54.77 KiB) Viewed 2099 times
CHIP Config.jpg
CHIP Config.jpg (51.07 KiB) Viewed 2099 times
Cannot find File -Error message.jpg
Cannot find File -Error message.jpg (25.7 KiB) Viewed 2099 times

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 9:26 am

Some more screen grabs..........
Attachments
Compiler OptionsProgrammer.jpg
Compiler OptionsProgrammer.jpg (80.03 KiB) Viewed 2099 times
Compiler Options-Linker-Assembler.jpg
Compiler Options-Linker-Assembler.jpg (59.88 KiB) Viewed 2099 times

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:15 am

Hi Martin,just so I dont waste your time I have resolved the hex issue in the last 5 minutes.Now "dont have connected cable"
Let me work on it for a while and if you dont mind I'll get back to you if I cant resolve it.
Thanks a lot.....John

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2405 times
Been thanked: 3437 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby medelec35 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:32 am

JDR04 wrote:I dont waste your time I have resolved the hex issue in the last 5 minutes.

That's great!
Thanks for letting us know.
So you changed all the Program Files to Program Files (x86) within programmer settings as well?
Strange how there is a mixture, unless you manually copied and paste settings?
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
JDR04 (Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:50 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:28 pm

I used the DEFAULT setting at the options list window.Make any sense to you?

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2405 times
Been thanked: 3437 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby medelec35 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:33 pm

JDR04 wrote:I used the DEFAULT setting at the options list window.Make any sense to you?

Not to me as it should know you are using 64bit windows.
Unless the Flowcode folder was copied and pasted, rather than installed?
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:39 pm

Nope, I installed it using my original disc. Now I've got USB CABLE CONNECTED error which I need help with please. Have attached the program.Many thanks.
Attachments
SETUP LIGHT1.fcf
(8.5 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2405 times
Been thanked: 3437 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby medelec35 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:52 pm

I have a suggestion.
Make sure flowcode is not running.

Run regedit.
Delete HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\MatrixMM\FlowcodeV5 key.
Uninstall Flowcode V5.

Download Flowcode V5.5 installer
Install Flowcode V5.5.
If installed from the disc then it's probably out of date, hence the issues you are facing?
When I select help and about, my version is:
Flowcode V5.png
Flowcode V5.png (67.76 KiB) Viewed 1993 times

What is your version?
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:05 pm

Hi Martin,it does appear to be out of date. I've attached a screen grab for your perusal.Thanks a lot
Attachments
Flowcode 5-Version Screen.png
Flowcode 5-Version Screen.png (70.73 KiB) Viewed 1992 times

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2405 times
Been thanked: 3437 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby medelec35 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:09 pm

I thought that maybe the case.
Can you let me know how it goes if you try my suggestions please?
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
JDR04 (Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:04 am)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:41 pm

Sure,I;ll do it in the morning as there's rugby in the afternoon.

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2405 times
Been thanked: 3437 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby medelec35 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:57 pm

Wow, can't let i get in the way of rugby!
My cousin is a huge rugby fan and she would have told me off if I suggested to try during rugby. :lol:
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 10:52 pm

Steady now my friend, dont spoil the friendship.Speak to you tomorrow.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:20 am

Can only find something to do with flowcode on this path
HKEY_CURRENT_USER

> Software > a file with Flowcode v4, flowcode v5 and PPPv3

I assume this is the one you want me to delete? The whole file or just the v5 part?

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2405 times
Been thanked: 3437 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby medelec35 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 2:32 pm

Hi John,
Entry to delete.png
Entry to delete.png (18.95 KiB) Viewed 1962 times
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8420
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2405 times
Been thanked: 3437 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby medelec35 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 8:33 pm

Hi john,
Did any of the above post help to get v5 to work?
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:53 pm

Hi Martin, deleted as you suggested and then re-installed off your link. Installation went well with no hitches. Have not tried to program chip with pickit 2 yet.Will give it a bash later and let you know

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Pickit 2 and Flowcode 5

Postby JDR04 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:02 pm

Still got error message of USB CABLE NOT CONNECTED.

Have attached the program for your perusal.Thanks again.
Attachments
SETUP LIGHT1.fcf
(8.5 KiB) Downloaded 11 times