Which Programmer?

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Which Programmer?

Postby JDR04 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:26 pm

Hi Martin, I ask you this question because I can't seem to get an honest opinion from elsewhere. Please be assured I am not looking to appropriate blame for anything to anybody so feel free to cut out the pc stuff and let me have it. Any hassles are usually appropriated to my own level of incompetence!!!

I do realise that my equipment and software is way,way out of date and this causes difficulties. I would however like to upgrade the PICkit 2 programmer to either the PIC kit 4 or the

https://www.mikroe.com/debuggers?archit ... c32-32-bit

PRODUCT CODE MIKROE-764

I like the fact of all the reasonably priced peripherals that can be attached with progression to the MIKROE-764.

As from 24 this month I will be bed bound for a long time so I seriously need something to keep my brain stimulated and am trying to set this all up. I feel that FLOWCODE 5 is about my level and cannot justify upgrading it at the moment. I have a budget of about £150 to £175.

Anyway, thanks for your time and I look forward to your valued opinion. John

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8384
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2388 times
Been thanked: 3417 times
Contact:

Re: Which Programmer?

Postby medelec35 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:36 pm

Hi John,
Really sorry to hear you are bed bound for a long time from the 24th.
I wish you a very speedy recovery

I have PICkit 2,3, & 4, mickroProg & Presto Asix programmers.
From my own personal experience I'm not keen on PICkit range.
With V4 it hold s the chip in reset (even though release from reset is selected.
THat is a pain the backside as you have to keep unplugging programmer to test, when debugging code.
I would rather leave programmer in situ with programming and debugging.
The 'Programmer-to-Go (PTG) support with an SD™ card slot to hold program data' does not seen to work with MPLABx V5.0
I'm having issues with PICkit4, IPE with flowcode!
But I will investigate to see what the issue is.

I much prefer mikroprog as that programs and debugs(if using with Mikro range of compilers) a vast rang of chips including PIC10, PIC12, PIC16, PIC18, dsPIC33, PIC21 and PIC32 devices.
It also does not have to keep loading different operating systems for each device.
What Microcip was thinking I do not know, but it's really stupid.
another major advantage is that is can power target device
2.7V to 5V with output current up to 250mA, Nice!

Unlike PICkit2 and ASIX programmers, PICkit 3, & 4 + Mikroprog can program newer devices which have VPP of 9V or lower.
That is a great improvement

The only issue with Mikroprog is the connector is not the same as PICkit.
£74.23 is not unreasonable either, but it is double the price of PICkit 4.

Personally I'm Sticking with Mikroprog until holding in reset is sorted out as it still the same with IPE 5.10
Even after then going to be reluctant to go back to PICkit.

Hope this is helpful.
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
JDR04 (Sat Feb 09, 2019 10:27 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Which Programmer?

Postby JDR04 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 10:27 pm

Thanks Martin, can you suggest a board to plug into the Mikroprog that will enable me to swap out different PIC controllers. So, just to make sure I understand, the mikroprog is compatable with Flowcode 5,6,7 and 8? May I also ask where you got yours from? Thanks

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Which Programmer?

Postby JDR04 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 12:13 am

OK, so it looks this is what we discussed?

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/chip-pro ... s/7916347/

What else do I need to get up and running? Cheers....John

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8384
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2388 times
Been thanked: 3417 times
Contact:

Re: Which Programmer?

Postby medelec35 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:19 am

Hi John,
JDR04 wrote:can you suggest a board to plug into the Mikroprog that will enable me to swap out different PIC controllers.

The only one I can think of is this one, not cheap.
Perhaps you source acheaper version or use breadboard?

Have you thought about Matrix Eblocks 2 range? The BL0011 for example, instead of mikroprog?

JDR04 wrote:So, just to make sure I understand, the mikroprog is compatable with Flowcode 5,6,7 and 8?

Yes, fully compatible.
Before this evening I have always used the mikroProg Suite For PIC to program devices after loading in the Flowcode generated hex file.
It did not take that long this evening to setup Flowocde V5 & V8 to directly program chip!

JDR04 wrote:May I also ask where you got yours from?

I ordered mine from Farnell components as RS was waiting for stock to arrive.
There was not much difference in price.
Last edited by medelec35 on Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: URL was wrong
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
JDR04 (Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:35 am)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Which Programmer?

Postby JDR04 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:35 am

Thanks for that.I think I will order the mikroprog. What do you think about using this board to program different PIC's with the mikroprog?

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/processo ... s/7916381/

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8384
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2388 times
Been thanked: 3417 times
Contact:

Re: Which Programmer?

Postby medelec35 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 2:03 am

opps,
Sorry link for easypic v7 has now been corrected.
JDR04 wrote:What do you think about using this board to program different PIC's with the mikrioprog?

I have never used it so can't personally vouch for it, sorry.

It does look good and should give you plenty to do, but its your call.
Here is the manual for easypic v7
If you don't need the mikroprog for programming external boards then the easypic v7 has the programmer built in.
That will save money.
I have only just spotted that on looking at the manual.
Personally, like I stated on earlier post, I would just purchase prototyping bread board, components including a few microcontrollers, LCD, LEDs resistors caps ect.
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
JDR04 (Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:32 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

JDR04
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Which Programmer?

Postby JDR04 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:42 pm

Thanks for your help on this one .I've heeded your advice and dropped the idea of the board. Ordered the Mikroprog so here goes........should be here some time tomorrow. Once again thanks so much for your help on this one. Take care...John