Autosave

Moderator: Benj

User avatar
Jay Dee
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:42 pm
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 134 times
Contact:

Autosave

Postby Jay Dee » Mon Jun 25, 2012 8:23 pm

Hi,
I really into a project on the weekend and got totally absorbed, when I ran simulation the program crashed. FC is pretty stable so no complaints but I had stupidly forgotten to save anything in the previous hour and lost it. :(
An autosave feature that keeps a backup version every 5 or 10 minutes would be great, since these things happen.
Thanks,
John.

Spanish_dude
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 102 times
Contact:

Re: Autosave

Postby Spanish_dude » Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:35 pm

Or some sort of recovery system like in MS Word/Excel

kersing
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1873
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 530 times
Been thanked: 1040 times
Contact:

Re: Autosave

Postby kersing » Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:10 am

Jay Dee wrote:An autosave feature that keeps a backup version every 5 or 10 minutes would be great, since these things happen.


Nice feature if it uses a different file name. When I'm working on a file I do not want FC to automatically overwrite the file I opened, I might want to keep the original and save the reworked flow chart with a different name.
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”

― C.S. Lewis

Mikat
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:32 pm
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 36 times
Contact:

Re: Autosave

Postby Mikat » Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:34 am

kersing wrote:
Jay Dee wrote:An autosave feature that keeps a backup version every 5 or 10 minutes would be great, since these things happen.


Nice feature if it uses a different file name. When I'm working on a file I do not want FC to automatically overwrite the file I opened, I might want to keep the original and save the reworked flow chart with a different name.


Agree with that, I usually use version number of my files like 1.0,1.1,1.2 etc.. The autosave could be nice, but sometimes it could cause problem if it's overwrites the existing save, it's not once or twice when I had to backed the older files when something goes wrong..


Mika

User avatar
DavidA
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1056
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 274 times
Contact:

Re: Autosave

Postby DavidA » Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:10 am

This is something we are looking into, it would be soemthing you could turn on or off in global settings and would be entirely seperate from the main Flowcode file you are working on (ie it would create a Flowcode_auto.fcf) or something similar.
These users thanked the author DavidA for the post (total 2):
Enamul (Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:11 am) • Mikat (Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:35 am)
Rating: 10.53%
 

User avatar
Enamul
Posts: 1772
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:34 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 814 times
Contact:

Re: Autosave

Postby Enamul » Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:11 am

That would be great!
Enamul
University of Nottingham
enamul4mm@gmail.com