Page 1 of 1

Error opening Flowcode file

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 12:19 am
by ncc1502
When I try to open my last Flowcode program, I get the error:

Failed to open document.
Can not load <schema> without a block header

OK



Can this be repaired?

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:29 am
by medelec35
First make sure you have the latest V6 then try and open the file again.
You can try looking for.001 file from the project directory and rename to .fcfx
That file is a backup copy.
If you want to keep the file that could be corrupted the rename it before completing the above step, so you don't have two files with the same name.

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:20 pm
by ncc1502
medelec35 wrote:First make sure you have the latest V6 then try and open the file again.
You can try looking for.001 file from the project directory and rename to .fcfx
That file is a backup copy.
If you want to keep the file that could be corrupted the rename it before completing the above step, so you don't have two files with the same name.


Thanks Martin,

Unfortunately, that did not work.

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:30 pm
by medelec35
Can you post the 001 file?

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:37 pm
by ncc1502
Hi Martin,

I sent jou the file by PM.

Thanks for having a look at it.

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:47 am
by medelec35
Hi,
Not a problem.
Just looked at the Flowchart you sent via pm.
There is no chance at all of any recovery.
It looks like the file has been totally wiped.
Every single byte from start to finish is a null character:
Corrupt Flowchart.png
Corrupt Flowchart.png (146.89 KiB) Viewed 2515 times

That would be a typical file that has had an anti forensic data wiper used on it
Has one been used?

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:23 am
by Benj
I've seen some network attached storage do this type of thing before too.

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:28 am
by tiny
Hi,
I had a similar problem. After installing a Samsung 860 EVO SSD, I installed the supplied software "Samsung Magician". Everything worked fine, until exactly this described error message came when opening a FC file. When checking with an editor (Notepad ++) I saw that parts of the file contained useless strings. After some attempts without improving the bug, I uninstalled the Samsung software and have not had any problems since then.
For me, it was a software component, maybe this post helps a bit with troubleshooting.

Christina

Re: Error opening Flowcode file

Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 9:13 pm
by ncc1502
Hi Martin,

Thanks for the effort.

@Benj
It is/was stored on a nas.


I saved the file before building the program. When the programming was finisched somehow the power of the NAS was cut of.
Due to the fact that the file was saved just before, I did not save the program local an stopped working at the project. I assume the file was not closed and that is what caused it.

Fortunate I had a backup of a week age, I did loose quite a bit of work but due to the fact that it was fresh in my memory I could program it back to where I was relatively fast.