Simulate C-code

Please add any feature requests for Flowcode version 6 here

Moderator: Benj

Forum rules
Only feature requests will be considered here. General questions should not be posted in this forum.
Post Reply
Drakkor
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:34 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Simulate C-code

Post by Drakkor »

Hi, I don't know if Ver 6 has this ability but it would be nice to be able to simulate the project when there is C-code in it : )

User avatar
JonnyW
Posts: 1230
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:13 am
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 290 times
Contact:

Re: Simulate C-code

Post by JonnyW »

Hi.

The problem with C code is that there is not enough context to simulate a snippet reliably. Take the code:
A * B;

This may mean 'A multiplied by B', or it may mean 'B is a pointer to a variable of type A'. Without prior context (i.e. a whole program) we can not tell for sure which meaning to execute.

We could compile and execute the whole thing as byte-codes, but as Flowcode supports so many architectures this is a very large undertaking.

In short, this is not possible at this time, but would, I agree, be a really nice feature to have in the future given enough time to develop.

Jonny

Drakkor
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:34 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Simulate C-code

Post by Drakkor »

Thanks for the explanation. I figured it would be a complicated thing to do. I'll just keep studying c code and testing on the breadboards : )

Post Reply