Page 1 of 1

GLCD KS0108, bug free??

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:19 pm
by 407charles
I'm having a couple issues regarding the operation of the GLCD KS0108. I found that the problem is with controller 3. If I down load to chip with the CS3 disconnected and then connected when the display starts to work it does not have this shifting problem and it works normal. Also when I reboot the controller by disconnecting it from USB and then reconnecting it, it does not display the controller CS3 pixels just the other two controllers. However, if I disconnect the pin CS3 and reboot it, it does not shift the "y" coordinates but it does get scrambled when the program works in a loop but if I reconnect the controller three before it turns around the loop it does work as it supposed to! I was reading through the other posts in order to find something similar and I found a post about the problem with a KS0108 but with two controllers only, it was helpful because I down load an updated component with the foreground set fixed (before this did not work for "drawing a rectangle" command, it always print the outline when foreground color was chosen to match the background color) but unfortunately the shifting did not work well when a display with three controllers it's chosen.
In order to test my theory, I disconnect the pin CS3 from the display and I connected to the normally open contact of a relay and the pin A0 (where CS3 goes) from the controller to the common of the relay, then, I made a pin F0 to enable the relay after the "initialization macro" and even without using a delay it works perfect every single time! I tried this configuration with three different programs, every one works just right. The only thing needed is to keep the controller three disconnected before the initialization and connected back just after the initialization to make it work as needed.
Please I need some help here from the Flowcode specialists, I would like to get this display component fixed to not need the extra components when using it. I will appreciate the help provided. Thanks a lot.

KS0108 bugs or wrong settings??

Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:20 pm
by 407charles
I'm having a couple issues regarding the operation of the GLCD KS0108. I found that the problem is with controller 3. If I down load to chip with the CS3 disconnected and then connected when the display starts to work it does not have this shifting problem and it works normal. Also when I reboot the controller by disconnecting it from USB and then reconnecting it, it does not display the controller CS3 pixels just the other two controllers. However, if I disconnect the pin CS3 and reboot it, it does not shift the "y" coordinates but it does get scrambled when the program works in a loop but if I reconnect the controller three before it turns around the loop it does work as it supposed to! I was reading through the other posts in order to find something similar and I found a post about the problem with a KS0108 but with two controllers only, it was helpful because I down load an updated component with the foreground set fixed (before this did not work for "drawing a rectangle" command, it always print the outline when foreground color was chosen to match the background color) but unfortunately the shifting did not work well when a display with three controllers it's chosen.
In order to test my theory, I disconnect the pin CS3 from the display and I connected to the normally open contact of a relay and the pin A0 (where CS3 goes) from the controller to the common of the relay, then, I made a pin F0 to enable the relay after the "initialization macro" and even without using a delay it works perfect every single time! I tried this configuration with three different programs, every one works just right. The only thing needed is to keep the controller three disconnected before the initialization and connected back just after the initialization to make it work as needed.
Please I need some help here from the Flowcode specialists, I would like to get this display component fixed to not need the extra components when using it. I will appreciate the help provided. Thanks a lot.

Re: KS0108 bugs or wrong settings??

Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 7:15 pm
by kersing
I have merged your two identical posts to one topic. For the future, please do not post duplicate messages. If you feel a message requires attention 'bump' the original by adding a reply, not by posting the same message in a different part of the forum.

Re: KS0108 bugs or wrong settings??

Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 1:49 pm
by 407charles
I wrote the original post in the Flowcode V6 but when I login in a different day I saw the report bugs section and I thought that it was the right section to post my issue, so I opened another page and copy/paste the same post but when I started to look my program to upload it I forgot to delete the original, my bad.

I forgot to mention that I have the last two KS0108 updated components by Benj. Here are the updated files from Benj, I uploaded to flowcode and my only issue is what a mention above. I appreciate your time and help on my issue.

Re: KS0108 bugs or wrong settings??

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 1:16 pm
by Benj
Hello,

Many thanks for letting us know of the issue and how you are working around it.

Please can you try the attached component and see if I have managed to fix the problem.
gLCD_KS0108.fcpx
(32.43 KiB) Downloaded 417 times

Re: KS0108 bugs or wrong settings??

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 6:12 pm
by 407charles
Mission accomplished Benj, it works great! Your new updated component got rid of the 'Y" offset and also the issue with controller 3 (CS3) not displaying it's pixels during reboot or after uploading a program, now it works without resetting the controller and playing with the CS3 pin. I really do my best on every project and I only contact you guys when I get stuck. Thanks a lot for your help and concern on my issue. Best regards.

Re: KS0108 bugs or wrong settings??

Posted: Mon May 23, 2016 4:43 pm
by Ahmad_k
Today i have downloaded the latest version with trial license and trying to make the gLCD KS0108 works in real hardware.

In simulation it works. But on real hardware and on Proteus ISIS the display is very slow. so if i print a string it takes a second or two to print on it. i think there is a bug or some delay error in the component library. Anyone have this problem ?

The XTAL frequency is correct (10MHZ) and the PIC18F4620 is running fine with all timing used except for the gLCD. in the attachement is a small portion of the software (Only gLCD initialize and a print function)

Re: KS0108 bugs or wrong settings??

Posted: Mon May 23, 2016 8:01 pm
by Bachman
Use the fastest controller you got, clock it as fast as possible. In the gLCD properties panel, set the "Display Enable" to 1. Zero, or higher number than 1 will slow down the gLCD.

I'm using some KS0108 with PIC18F26K22 at 64 MHz, but the display isn't too fast. Better than running the controller at 10 MHz, but not enough. Same problem on ILI9341. This is a bug, because the display can run much faster but Flowcode can't drive it. Some example:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ZBy50tTguQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0uevXj1ARM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMAJQY-tLas

Re: KS0108 bugs or wrong settings??

Posted: Mon May 23, 2016 8:54 pm
by Ahmad_k
ok thank you, i will try tomorrow to run the PIC18 with x4 PLL, that would be 40Mhz

But as i remember i did use this LCD using xc8 by microchip and it runs smoothly at 10Mhz. I hope that this component will be better in the future in Flowcode