formula allcode

For Formula AllCode users to discuss projects, programs, and any other issues related to the Formula AllCode robotics platform.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

sundgau
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: formula allcode

Postby sundgau » Wed May 23, 2018 2:48 pm

Hello,
I am currently working with a 128G2 GLCD display connected to J5 of AllCode:
Screen Shot 05-23-18 at 03.11 PM.PNG
Screen Shot 05-23-18 at 03.11 PM.PNG (15.04 KiB) Viewed 1341 times


The program works; the connection is good and the display works well but when I open my file on my other posts the configurations of the component gLCD_EB075_4D1 change; "Baud option" is still at 9600 baud but "Baud Rate" is 57600: Bizard.
Screen Shot 05-23-18 at 03.09 PM.PNG
Screen Shot 05-23-18 at 03.09 PM.PNG (5.92 KiB) Viewed 1341 times

In addition the program does not work anymore! The reset is done well (I see it on the oscilloscope) but no signals on TX. Program remains stuck in function "gLCD_EB075_4D1 :: initializes"

Here is a zip file (FC.zip) in which you will find 2 test files: "flowcode1" that works and" flowcode "2 that does not work and yet the .fcfx source codes are the same. On the other hand, the generated .hex files are different.

Thank you for reviewing these two tests.
Best regards

Bruno
Attachments
FC.zip
(480.21 KiB) Downloaded 40 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 13379
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3932 times
Been thanked: 3742 times
Contact:

Re: formula allcode

Postby Benj » Wed May 23, 2018 4:39 pm

Hi Bruno,

Which version of Flowcode are you using, you can find the specific version number by clicking the Help -> About menu.

If you're using v7.3 then it might be worth trying the updates available here to see if they help.
viewtopic.php?f=63&t=19743

sundgau
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: formula allcode

Postby sundgau » Fri May 25, 2018 12:55 pm

Hello Benj

I have version 7.3.0.5 of flowcode. I just followed the link given; should we also copy the 3 executable files: flowcodeV7.exe, flowcodeV7.3.0.5.exe, flowcodeV7.3.0.6.exe?
Screen Shot 05-25-18 at 01.45 PM.PNG
Screen Shot 05-25-18 at 01.45 PM.PNG (5.05 KiB) Viewed 1320 times

It is not specified on the link.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 13379
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3932 times
Been thanked: 3742 times
Contact:

Re: formula allcode

Postby Benj » Fri May 25, 2018 4:37 pm

Hello,

Yes you can simply drop all files including the executables into the "Flowcode 7" folder. There are multiple executables to allow you to go back to a previous release version if you need to. FlowcodeV7.exe is the latest (7.3.0.6) so any existing shortcuts to the application will load the latest version.

sundgau
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: formula allcode

Postby sundgau » Wed May 30, 2018 8:45 am

Hello Benj,
I did the update with the file "FC7_Latest_Files_16-05-18.zip" and I tested with my students. it still does not work properly. The reset works well but the program remains stuck on initialization with several PCs and several GLCDs!

Thank you for your help.
Best regards
Bruno

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 13379
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3932 times
Been thanked: 3742 times
Contact:

Re: formula allcode

Postby Benj » Wed May 30, 2018 2:50 pm

HI Bruno,

Have you tried using the UART component from Comms to control the display. The display likely has a slightly different version of the 4D systems API onboard and so using the UART component you can tailor the commands to what the display requires.

sundgau
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: formula allcode

Postby sundgau » Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:11 am

I tested the communication with the tool "UART" and it works very well!
The problem is that in the two examples above, flowcode source files are the same with the same parameters for the GLCD display (transmission speed, software data flow, connection pins, ...).
It's during the compilation that I have a problem.
Here are two photos that prove it:
The setting of the left display is OK with flowcode1.fcfx but not with the flowcode2.fcfx file: the reset command works but the program remains locked in the "initialize" function as explained above ...
OK.jpg
OK.jpg (70.21 KiB) Viewed 1150 times
not OK.jpg
not OK.jpg (63.59 KiB) Viewed 1150 times


In the zip files of the two examples "flowcode1 and flowcode2 above, the hex files are not the same:
compare.JPG
compare.JPG (486.98 KiB) Viewed 1150 times

During my last sessions with my students, they all had more or less the concern: sometimes it worked and, during a change of computer station, it does not work anymore!
All my posts have been updated with the latest versions of flowcode as well as the file "FC7_Latest_Files_16-05-18.zip".
There is a problem with the component macro GLCD; the settings are not taken into account correctly.

Thank you for your help.
Best regards
Bruno

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 13379
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3932 times
Been thanked: 3742 times
Contact:

Re: formula allcode

Postby Benj » Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:00 am

Hi Bruno,

Not sure what the problem is here, I've done a compare of the two Flowcode project files and they are significantly different.

Flowcode2 contains supplementary code and Flowcode1 contains two variables. Are these projects meant to be identical?

I tested the communication with the tool "UART" and it works very well!


You should be able to drive the entire display using the UART component, if the API has changed then the display component will currently no longer work (or only partially work) with your version of the display. Maybe we need to update the component for the latest API.

I'll add it to the list to have a look through and make sure we are fully compatible with the latest version.