how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 7.

Moderator: Benj

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Fri Sep 16, 2016 11:39 am

dear advioser
I have finished my project of driving a motor & Displaying the information in a EMB001 it works in my laptop ok
but when it installed in pcb with what I have the equivalent gLCD (1.44´SPI 128* 128 V1.1
it dosem´t show nor it starts the display
the crystal for clock pules is a 20 Mhz
the configurations are as flowed
Zox8007
Oscillator HS oscillator speed crystal, 20Mhz
Watchdog Disable
power up timer //////
MCLR Enabled
code protect off
data EE read protect Disabled
Brown out Reset Enable
Clock out Enable Disable
Internal-External switch over Disable
Fall clock Monotor Enable //////

Zox 8009
Flash memory write protiction Disable
voltage regulator capacitor //////
Pll Enable bit //////
Stack overflow/underflow Reset Enabled
Brown-out reset voltage Brown out Reset voltage (VBO)
Debuggur Mode Disabled
Low voltage programming Enable bit Disabled
there must be a mistake can you kindly tell me which one is that?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14660
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4651 times
Been thanked: 4269 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Benj » Fri Sep 16, 2016 4:39 pm

Hello,

Have you tried the 1 second flasher approach to test if the micro is running at the right rate.

http://www.matrixtsl.com/wikiv7/index.p ... ED_flasher

You can also attach your program using the upload attachment tab underneath the "Post A reply" window when replying.

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Sat Nov 05, 2016 3:50 pm

dear Leigh M
Thanks allot for you use full advice
but it is the same can you kindly look at the attached configurations there must be some mistakes here I can not send the all document snap shots more then 3 please advice me which ones to choose
with regards
Nasim
Attachments
2016-11-05 (3).png
(90.16 KiB) Downloaded 1927 times
2016-11-05 (2).png
(94.45 KiB) Downloaded 1927 times
2016-11-05 (1).png
(85.81 KiB) Downloaded 1927 times

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 467 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby dazz » Wed Nov 09, 2016 11:49 pm

HI nasim
Config looks ok but i always enable power up timer, from your posts, the program works ok and displays ok when connected to your laptop, so i am assuming that you are programming chip which works fine in your test setup, but when placed in final pcb with a different display it doesnt work, is this correct ??

If so please attach your flowchart so it can be checked over and also provide a link to the lcd you are using in your own pcb, as to be fair if it works with the ebm001 and not in your board there may be an issue with the lcd you are using. it would also help if you attach your flowchart to any post asking for help as it allows people to see if theres a code issue

Regards
dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Wed Nov 16, 2016 12:17 pm

Dear adviser
thanks for you information sorry I am late but I am sending you a copy of my software work
see if you can find a way to make it work with the mentioned display

with regards
Nasim
Attachments
New micro control A1.fcfx
no data show on display
(24.51 KiB) Downloaded 237 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14660
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4651 times
Been thanked: 4269 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Benj » Wed Nov 16, 2016 1:21 pm

Hello Nasim,

I have finished my project of driving a motor & Displaying the information in a EMB001 it works in my laptop ok
but when it installed in pcb with what I have the equivalent gLCD (1.44´SPI 128* 128 V1.1
it dosem´t show nor it starts the display


First of all I would take the EBM001 Initialise component macro out of the loop and place this before the start of the loop.

Secondly you say EBM001 equivalent. The EBM001 component will ONLY work with the EBM001 display module and other display modules with the exact same driver IC onboard.

Where did you purchase your display, do you have a link or a datasheet?

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

pic16F1937 interrupt weirdness Timer0 in simulation

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:44 pm

Dear Benj
thanks for your last information of placing the initalising gLCD be for the Loop that is making the action of display faster in my laptop but still
I could n`t get the data display in my EBM001
here I attach some of my work

the Bread board I made are supplying the right voltages & current to the pins according to the PIC16F1937 & EBM001 Datasheets

please take a look of these point when you have time for ,
The graphs are showing the data out put pin of PIC ,B0 & data input of EBM001 both the same according to the time base of my scope

Looking forward hearing from you
with regards
Nasim

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8601
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2474 times
Been thanked: 3558 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby medelec35 » Sat Dec 03, 2016 6:47 pm

Hi Nasim,
I have moved your post from 'pic16F1937 interrupt weirdness Timer0 in simulation' topic as your post has nothing to do with that subject.
Please try not to hijack other users topics.

Martin
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
Benj (Mon Dec 05, 2016 11:04 am)
Rating: 5%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14660
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4651 times
Been thanked: 4269 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Benj » Mon Dec 05, 2016 11:04 am

Hello Nasim,

Please can you draw up a basic schematic of your microcontroller, the oscillator circuit and the EBM001. It sounds to me like your chip isn't running on your hardware.

You can confirm this by following the information here to do a 1 second flash test.

http://www.matrixtsl.com/wikiv7/index.p ... ED_flasher

Your scope traces seem to be showing mains hum so that seems to confirm the chip is not running.

If you draw up the schematic then we can hopefully help to pinpoint why the chip is not running. A photo of your breadboard may also help but a schematic is easier to read.

Another thing I have noticed is that all the switches in your program are Simulation switches. E.g. switches that have no pin connection and are available in the Flowcode simulation only. Is this correct?

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:28 pm

thanks
I will take a small photos of my drawings and send to you .
as we all know it is Christmas month we are all busy
but I hope to get some where to success this project.
thanks again
wr
Nasim

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:19 pm

2016-12-07 (2).png
(385.63 KiB) Downloaded 1436 times
hey Ben J
can you please have a look at my work notes to find my mistakes ?
Connection notes:
1-MLCR connected to 4v9 via 10 k resistor & a switch for reset
2-A0 has been tried by inserting 3v3 or 4v9
3-A4 is connected to Clock pin 13
4-I used a Zenor Diode of 5v1 with 10R resistor for pic safty.
5-Crystals I hav tried are : 32MHz,20MHz AND 8MHz
6- I don´t know about basic_sim_switch I couldn´t find any other LED´s to set for representing the rotating switch number
there for I used the basic_sim_switch.

With regards
Nasim
Attachments
2016-12-07 (3).png
(499.32 KiB) Downloaded 1436 times
2016-12-07.png
(914.42 KiB) Downloaded 1436 times
These users thanked the author Nasim Khaliqhey for the post:
Benj (Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:05 am)
Rating: 5%
 

EtsDriver
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:19 pm
Location: Kajaani, Finland
Has thanked: 345 times
Been thanked: 224 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby EtsDriver » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:38 pm

Are you sure your 8MHz clock crystal really uses 0.1nF = 100p load caps (according the schematic and picture)? Usually 10-35pF ceramic is enough.. I personally use max 22pF load caps for my crystal oscillators.

Edit: are both pins connected from xtal to the micro? Cant see any line going from the left side to anywhere else than to load cap on the schematic...?
These users thanked the author EtsDriver for the post:
Benj (Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:05 am)
Rating: 5%
 
Ill just keep the good work up!

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:20 am

dear adviser
yes always two 0.1nf dc blacker been set between the two pins of crystal & Grd (-)

User avatar
QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1187
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:20 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 378 times
Been thanked: 604 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby QMESAR » Thu Dec 08, 2016 4:43 am

Nasim Khaliqhey wrote:yes always two 0.1nf


That is incorrect as Estdriver mentioned it should be between 10-35pF did you try to flash a led to make sure your mcu is running ?
These users thanked the author QMESAR for the post:
Benj (Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:05 am)
Rating: 5%
 

EtsDriver
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:19 pm
Location: Kajaani, Finland
Has thanked: 345 times
Been thanked: 224 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby EtsDriver » Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:23 am

Here is a drawing of how i usually connect the xtal, for example on 16F1937, note the cap values:
1937_xtal_con_smal.PNG
1937_xtal_con_smal.PNG (6.33 KiB) Viewed 14915 times
These users thanked the author EtsDriver for the post (total 2):
Benj (Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:04 am) • medelec35 (Wed May 31, 2017 10:08 pm)
Rating: 10%
 
Ill just keep the good work up!

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16f877A

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:38 pm

hi Ben
there has been allots of mistakes in my communications
sorry to repeat
I tried to send by( L in) but it was not possible to sent the right document I can not find the right programming configuration for PIC´s I am using even I tried at micro soft`s
info page I just see the same question been asked by many people
If you have any document for solving this problem please send it to me if not just forget about it and kindly let me know when do you have the program of course for this solution I will be pleased to book & fix the time for it.
looking forward Hearing from you
with regards
Nasim
Attachments
New micro control A1.c
(40 KiB) Downloaded 135 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14660
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4651 times
Been thanked: 4269 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Benj » Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:43 pm

Hi Nasim,

If you have any document for solving this problem


What problem are you experiencing? can you elaborate?

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16f877A

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Wed May 31, 2017 8:34 pm

Sorry the unfinished project was sent by mistake I all ways start my out side work at 1 PM there for I must have been in a rash
but the result has been the same no mater what Display or PIC been used
every thing shows ok in my lap top but no action when data sent to PIC.
thanks allot
with regards
Nasim
Attachments
PIC16F877A F7.fcfx
(7.33 KiB) Downloaded 110 times

EtsDriver
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:19 pm
Location: Kajaani, Finland
Has thanked: 345 times
Been thanked: 224 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby EtsDriver » Wed May 31, 2017 8:59 pm

Did you edit your circuit according to the diagram i posted above? What are your current load capacitors for your PIC?

glcd.PNG
(72.1 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Just to notify, your program has many "If 1":s... That might cause unexpected behavior...
Ill just keep the good work up!

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:43 am

Hey Dear
hear I tried the way I was asked for with deference crystal oscillator 20 ,16, 8, and 4 MHz , not RC,
the result is the same.

by the way this is what I thing about that my programmer PPPV3 some how dose n´t have a good drive software us I mentioned some times ago
example dose not have in it is list PIC16F1937,
please see this matter don´t need to rash see when you have a good time
looking forward hearing from you
wr
Nasim
Attachments
PIC16F877A F7 for begianing.fcfx
(5.94 KiB) Downloaded 119 times

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 480 times
Been thanked: 686 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby LeighM » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:03 pm

my programmer PPPV3 some how dose n´t have a good drive software

You could try the newer mLoader? ...
http://www.matrixtsl.com/resources/getr ... php?id=884

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Sat Jun 03, 2017 11:39 am

hey dear Leigh M
thanks for your help it shows a little deference in sending data to the chip
can you please give me these configurations with PIC16F877A ,3 kinds of out puts
gLCD ,16X2 line LCD ,and LEDS wich Ones of these options will be Enable or Disable with choice of Oscillators

1-Oscilltor ?
2-Watchdog Timer ?
3-power up Timer ?
4-Brown out Detect ?
5-Low voltage program ?
6-Flash program write ?
7-Back ground Debug ?
8-Data Read protect ?
9-Code protect ?

may be this will help me to get the programmed data displayed
(Note Each one of displays plans are with one PIC separate from each other ) not to be confused just to know the settings ,

with regards
Nasim

sorry if I am late always my Fridays are same thing takes my all day.

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:33 am

hey dear Leigh M
as I mentioned the display problem with using pic16F877A or pic16f1937 with display EBM001
Now I used my Data man programmer to be able to inter PIC16F1937 becuase my programmer EB-006-00-8 dose not have the 16F1937 in it is component list
I am sorry it is a complicated problem .
I have time to come to England in 08 2017 to find out what is missing in processing this project if you can find half an hour to spend with me I´ll be pleased
looking forward hearing from you
with regards
Nasim


Note: I attached 2 copies data configurations but can not be seen why ?

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2006
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 480 times
Been thanked: 686 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby LeighM » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:49 am

These are the default settings when you create a new PIC16F877A project,
the settings are the same whatever you connect (LCD, gLCD, LEDs),
but the Oscillator setting is important and depends on your hardware,
this setting assumes that you have an external (19660800Hz) crystal for the oscillator ...

877A.jpg
877A.jpg (63.21 KiB) Viewed 11787 times

Nasim Khaliqhey
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: how to get a glcd work with with PIC16F1937

Postby Nasim Khaliqhey » Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:27 pm

hey Mr LeighM
lets say Thank you I needed this advice to begain with my very first project the programmed PIC has started to work now
I will let you know about the rest lets say again I owe you thanks
with regard
Nasim