save the project

A forums to allow resolved bugs and problems with Flowcode v7 to be stored and marked as resolved.

Moderator: Benj

User avatar
Osta
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:42 am
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

save the project

Postby Osta » Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:21 am

save the project Ctrl + S,
sometimes disappearing panel
or both.
Regards Slava.
Attachments
Sav.jpg
Sav.jpg (35.13 KiB) Viewed 8804 times
These users thanked the author Osta for the post:
johnsondav (Sat Jul 16, 2016 8:41 am)
Rating: 5.56%
 

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3071
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 387 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby Steve » Fri Jul 15, 2016 11:56 am

Hi Slava, we are having difficulty replicating this problem. I think minimising and maximizing the Flowcode window should solve the problem for now.

User avatar
Osta
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:42 am
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby Osta » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:25 pm

Hi Steve!
Yes, closing the window helps!
The problem is not easy, I'm sure you can do it !!!
Steve tell me Russian interface will come back?
Regards Slava.

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3071
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 387 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby Steve » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:41 pm

We were aware that most users were using English and so we decided to remove the other languages temporarily from this initial release. We can add the languages back if you like.

User avatar
Osta
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:42 am
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby Osta » Fri Jul 15, 2016 4:22 pm

Russian course very convenient.
I understand that the program easier to correct in English
I wish you good luck and patience!
Regards Slava.
These users thanked the author Osta for the post:
dazz (Sat Jul 16, 2016 12:30 pm)
Rating: 5.56%
 

johnsondav
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Durham
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 180 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby johnsondav » Sat Jul 16, 2016 8:51 am

Hi Slava

I too have the problem you describe

Flowcode 7 Missing icons.jpg
Missing Icons
(148.92 KiB) Downloaded 3089 times


FC7 Build 7.0.0.4

Windows 10 Pro - Ver: 1511
OS Build - 10586.494

Think the problem is FC7 not our computers. We only use what you made available.

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3071
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 387 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby Steve » Sat Jul 16, 2016 12:11 pm

I agree it's a problem with Flowcode, but as we cannot replicate the problem it is difficult to fix. We will continue to try to solve it.
These users thanked the author Steve for the post (total 2):
dazz (Sat Jul 16, 2016 12:31 pm) • johnsondav (Sat Jul 16, 2016 4:02 pm)
Rating: 11.11%
 

johnsondav
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Durham
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 180 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby johnsondav » Tue Aug 02, 2016 2:14 pm

Hi Steve

I think I have a solution for the icon's going missing upon saving. I have solved the problem on my PC with the following:

- Open Global options
- Select the menu 'Application'
- Change OpenGL from 'Hardware', to 'Software' as shown below:

Global Options OpenGL Software.jpg
Global Options OpenGL Software.jpg (75.67 KiB) Viewed 8569 times


Works for me. Hope it helps others.

Dave
These users thanked the author johnsondav for the post (total 4):
EtsDriver (Tue Aug 02, 2016 2:51 pm) • dazz (Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:20 pm) • Benj (Tue Aug 02, 2016 5:37 pm) • kersing (Tue Aug 02, 2016 7:48 pm)
Rating: 22.22%
 

User avatar
Osta
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:42 am
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby Osta » Thu Aug 04, 2016 7:42 pm

Hi Dave !
Configured as you advised.
Now the sidebar began to disappear .....
Attachments
Save.jpg
(88.28 KiB) Downloaded 2876 times

EtsDriver
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:19 pm
Location: Kajaani, Finland
Has thanked: 328 times
Been thanked: 210 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby EtsDriver » Thu Aug 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Osta, may i ask what brand is your gpu?
Ill just keep the good work up!

johnsondav
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Durham
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 180 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby johnsondav » Fri Aug 05, 2016 1:49 pm

Hi Osta and EtsDriver

I don't believe it. Everything was working fine. So, I started a new project to test my set up as I had finished the previous project and could not replicate your problem. However, with a new project started, your right, the left-hand side menu keeps disappearing upon doing a save. This is very strange indeed and I am beginning to thing it is an OpenGL driver problem. This is my hardware details:

GTX770.jpg
GTX770.jpg (54.47 KiB) Viewed 8489 times


I have tried to make further changes to my graphic drivers setting without success. Would be interested to know if you are using similar to mine.

Dave

EtsDriver
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:19 pm
Location: Kajaani, Finland
Has thanked: 328 times
Been thanked: 210 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby EtsDriver » Mon Aug 08, 2016 5:05 pm

myspeks.JPG
myspeks.JPG (22.27 KiB) Viewed 8429 times
For others curiosity, im having same things happening as Osta/johnsondav and keep sometimes losing all the toolbar icons from the GUI, and i use Nvidia GTX970. What GPU does Steve have? :)
These users thanked the author EtsDriver for the post:
johnsondav (Mon Aug 08, 2016 8:00 pm)
Rating: 5.56%
 
Ill just keep the good work up!

johnsondav
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Durham
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 180 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby johnsondav » Mon Aug 08, 2016 8:04 pm

Hi EtsDriver

Thanks for sharing your Graphics hardware details. It has help to suggest my concern that the problem may be to do with the drivers. We'll only know when other give details of their hardware/drivers that does not produce this problem.
These users thanked the author johnsondav for the post:
EtsDriver (Mon Aug 08, 2016 8:58 pm)
Rating: 5.56%
 

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14130
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4325 times
Been thanked: 4070 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby Benj » Tue Aug 09, 2016 10:46 am

Hello,

What GPU does Steve have?


It's a laptop that Steve uses so I would guess it's an on-board Intel GPU.

I have a gaming laptop with a Nvidia 670M however it has a dual mode with an on-board Intel GPU and the Nvidia card is only fired up when needed to save power so not 100% sure which is being used for Flowcode.

I'll ask around the office and see if we have other Nvidia based machines we can use for testing.
These users thanked the author Benj for the post (total 2):
EtsDriver (Tue Aug 09, 2016 2:04 pm) • johnsondav (Tue Aug 09, 2016 5:27 pm)
Rating: 11.11%
 

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 190 times
Been thanked: 140 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby petesmart » Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:39 pm

Hi,

I'm running a nvidia quadra4k and fc7... It's running hires +2500 pixels...I will have to check the exact resolution and come back to you.....What tests would you like me to run for you?...

Best

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

EtsDriver
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:19 pm
Location: Kajaani, Finland
Has thanked: 328 times
Been thanked: 210 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby EtsDriver » Tue Aug 09, 2016 4:09 pm

petesmart wrote:Hi,

What tests would you like me to run for you?



Would be intrested to hear some other facts, like what OS, RAM amount, what CPU if you can provide :)

If you can and want to test out, put your system screen close to 1920x1080 resolution (if your GPU can handle it and you can still see the texts well, dont know about what systems and screens you are using really :D), then put color scheme to 32 bit scheme, try running fc7 in light themed mode and doing things like starting stopping simulation, saving, opening, opening help etc. And if you get some icons to mess up or go "hidden", tell us your results :)

I go now test out what happens if i use the dark theme... :O

EDIT:
I updated my GPU to same drivers as johnsondav. (Nvidia GeForce GameReady Driver 368.81)
After opening old things in dark theme and pressing save icon couple times, seems that the icons go out of their place on dark theme, if looking by the undo and redo buttons:
darkfails.JPG
darkfails.JPG (18.21 KiB) Viewed 8357 times


When some items are pointed, they go back to their original positios:
darkfails2.JPG
darkfails2.JPG (27.37 KiB) Viewed 8357 times


Video can be found behind this link:
https://youtu.be/zWr1V4b8q0Y

The things on video happen in both modes, the HW and SW OpenGL. While pressing save icon rapidly, seems that the icons get messed up much easier.. Or im just imaging things. :D

EDIT2:

I tried changing out my GPU to older GTX750TI and the problem shown on video is still happening.
Ill just keep the good work up!

johnsondav
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Durham
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 180 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby johnsondav » Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:46 pm

Hi EtsDriver

Thanks for taking up so much of your time on this GUI problem. I have tried all the options as I can think of related to graphic adaptor settings (BIOS settings, type of cable to monitor, screen resolution, various Nvidia control panel settings etc..), nothing changes the problem. I have also been looking for any event logs that might show up any Windows 10 problems during boot up, none found. I did find this though - a log in the Flowcode 7 directory:

Flowcode & - logs
Changes in this version: alpha_2_160713

flickering issue in components bar when resizing
flickering issue in tabs when resizing
Fixed toolbar so that the help and code profiling buttons now show tooltips
Resizing components when grid is enabled and aspect ratio locked
Resizing components toolbar
Loading Workspace window layout
Redrawing issues in tabs


This redrawing issue with tabs problem has been present at some time. Could still be a problem with Flowcode 7! Just a though, before we get too sure it is our computer system.

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1843
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 429 times
Been thanked: 611 times
Contact:

Re: save the project

Postby LeighM » Wed Aug 10, 2016 9:53 am

Thanks for all your investigations on this.
I've been running into similar issues on my PC, which has NVIDIA adapter.
But running the latest (pre-release) executables from our dev team I am no longer seeing the issue.
So no doubt you will benefit from the next update release :D
These users thanked the author LeighM for the post (total 3):
petesmart (Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:20 am) • johnsondav (Wed Aug 10, 2016 11:31 am) • EtsDriver (Wed Aug 10, 2016 5:21 pm)
Rating: 16.67%