Advice needed for Newbe

An area to discuss 8-bit PIC specific problems and examples

Moderator: Benj

Billoo

Advice needed for Newbe

Post by Billoo »

Hi Everyone,

This is my first ever post on the Matrix forums and I’m hoping that someone can offer some help and advice on a little project I’m working on.

Firstly a little about me. I’m no programmer (hence my interest in Flowcode), and I’m also no electronics guru, more of a general designer/engineer with some very simple scripting knowledge, and some basic electronics knowledge going back to the 80s!

Secondly, I’m presently using an unlocked demo version of Flowcode 7, so up against the clock to see if I can get what I need to work, before I commit my hard earned to the full version with a Pic pack, as I will need the software commercially going forward to generate different variations.

My project I’m thinking should be basic stuff as all I’m looking to do is control five LEDs in different fixed (defined by the code) looping combinations, and I need to use the smallest and cheapest Pic to do the job, and the smallest amount of supporting components to keep the PCB very small.

Presently I’m using a 12f675 with a Pickit3 programmer and I can get most of everything to work perfectly both in Flowcode, and on the real circuit so when power is applied, the LED pattern runs and loops for a number of times to give a duration of 10-15 seconds then stop. The final part of the puzzle was to add a PTM switch to trigger the program, and this is where I have hit a wall…!!

Digging around on the net I find many 12f675 projects that use both LED sequences and a PTM trigger switches, so I’m convinced the little chip can do what I need however, any example code is either .hex so pointless to analyse, or .asm which for me is incomprehensible :?