Problem programming Chip

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

Hi martin, tried all that but still no flashing LED's. Just cant belive all the hassle.

I've also done a simple one LED flasher program and tried to burn that but its even worse. Got the same problem as in the very begining inspite of the PICKit2 software being the lastest.

Do you think it might be worthwhile be uninstalling FLOWCODE and going for a fresh install????

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by medelec35 »

You can try a fresh install.
Can you compile to hex with latest version install then post C and hex again, so I can see if that side of things have improved.
Martin

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

OK, I havent done a fesh install yet but have compiled to C and to hex.

Have things improved??
Attachments
agitator servo 1.hex
(1012 Bytes) Downloaded 251 times
agitator servo 1.c
(3.3 KiB) Downloaded 274 times

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by medelec35 »

No better.
So we need to look at your compiler options (Build, compiler options, Programmer tab.)
Use External program to set configurations must be enabled. (only thing I can think of its not enabled or you have not got -config on the end of -cs 2 -chip PIC%p in the lowest parameter settings?).
This is what your compile options should look like:
compiler settings.png
(45.46 KiB) Downloaded 6589 times
There may be a problem with yours?

Martin
Martin

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

Thanks Martin, I'll check all that. I've also checked the programmer voltage calibration and have redone it with my scope so I know its 100% Apparently, you have to keep the PICKit2 programmer connected to the same port you have done the calibration with.Thought that might help somebody...maybe.

I'll check those settings tomorrow and let you know.

Thanks a hell of a lot for your help on this. much appreciated-JDR04

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

My settings did not have the(x86) bit in them. I inserted them but got the message...... unable to transfer HEX file. Have removed it.

Still no go... Must BOD and SBOREN still bew disabled. Have got WATCHDOG TIMER switched off and oscillator on INTERNAL RC NO CLOCK.

Are these correct.

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by medelec35 »

Hi JDR04, the x86 is for 64 bit windows only, which is the PC I currently have.
If you have not got 64 bit windows then x86 is removed.

Its the ringed parts on my picture you need to check.
JDR04 wrote:Have got WATCHDOG TIMER switched off and oscillator on INTERNAL RC NO CLOCK.
These are the most important settings and I can tell from your C file that they are set
I can't think of any other reason why your configuration settings are not transferred.

Maybe the clever people at Matrix Multimedia will be able to shed some light on this?

Martin
Martin

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

OK, last question as I have used lots of your time up, must JP5 always be bridged if I am using the internal oscillator?

Do the Matrix folk have an email I can contact them on besides a very expensive phone call? Kind of surprised none of them have shown any interest in this situation yet???

Take Care JDR04

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

Have just installed the demo lessons for LPC board and have tried a few.

Using the PICKit2 software they seem to compile into the chip OK and all is working???

User avatar
DavidA
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1076
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 258 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by DavidA »

Hello,

Can you please sum up your problem and situation in a single post, its a bit difficult to piece together the issue from over 3 pages of posts.

- What Operating system are you using?
- Is it 32 or 64 bit?
- What version of Flowcode are you using (Help >> About)?
- What programmer are you using?
- What chip are you using?
- What is the target hardware (E-blocks, other 3rd party, custom hardware?)
- What is the history of the issue? (has it worked in the past, has anything in the hardware changed or had problems)?
- Please post your compiler settings (Build >> Compiler Settings)
- Please post (or point to) an fcf file which exhibits the problem.

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

Hello DavidA, hopefully the following info will answer your questions;

Vista
32 bit
Flowcode version V5.5.2.1 (30.01.2013)
Microchip PICKit2 with v2.61
PIC16F690
Microchip Low Pin Count Demo board

I have used Flowcode twice. The very first time the only problems were setting PICKit2 up correctly which forum members helped with. Once this was done all seemed to work OK.

Now when trying to do a simple two lED light flashing program, the simulation works fine but when trying to compile to HEX the following error seems to come up;



Description:
Generated by: Flowcode v5.5.2.1
Date: Tuesday, June 11, 2013 18:42:17
Licence: Professional
Registered to: johnreunert
Licence key: J3UZRR
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com
Launching the compiler...
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe -BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC16F690 -FNEW 2LED PROG.hex -M -A5 -R
Hex file not found.
Return code = 37
Flowcode was unable to compile the flowchart's C code due to the following errors:
If your flowchart contains C code, please review this carefully. If your flowchart contains no C-code or you have thoroughly reviewed the code, contact Technical Support.
FINISHED

I downloaded some of the demo lessons from Microchip and they all worked fine with the hardware. (Used PICKit2 software to burn the chip)
I also did the voltage calibration with the PICKit2 software and all checked out OK.

Tried using a brand new PIC made no difference either.

I've attached the COMPILER and PROGRAMMER settings for you to check. Sorry, dont know how to do the screen grab so you can see it properly.

COMPILER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe
-BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC%p -F%f.hex -M -A5 –R

PROGRAMMER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe
-BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC%p -F%f.hex -M -A5 –R
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PPP\PPPv3.exe
-cs 2 -chip PIC%p -config


Thanks for your time. JDR04
Attachments
NEW 2LED PROG.c
(3.3 KiB) Downloaded 212 times
NEW 2LED PROG.fcf
(12 KiB) Downloaded 216 times

User avatar
DavidA
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1076
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 258 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by DavidA »

Hello,

Your compiler settings should not be the programmer settings it should be this below (defaults).

Location:

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\v5\Tools\boostc\boostc_pic18_flowcode.exe
Parameters:

Code: Select all

-v -t PIC%p "%f.c"

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by dazz »

Hi JDR04
To do a screen grab , press control and prtscn, this will copy the screen to the windows clipboard ,then open a paint program( i use paint.net) and paste

Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

Thanks Dazz, much appreciated.

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

Hi DavidA, thanks for the prompt reply.

In one of the posts I tried those settings and with the x86 in them it did not work. Thats why I suggested you read the posts so you can get a better idea as to what has happened rather than relying on my inexperience.

If you want I'll try them again, let me know please.

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by dazz »

Hi JDR04

the 64 is if you have 64 bit windows , as yours is 32 cbit try as david asked but with the 64 removed see below, and add the parameters as per davids post . can you also post some screen grabs of each section of your compiler settings

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\Tools\boostc\boostc_pic18_flowcode.exe
Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

User avatar
DavidA
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1076
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 258 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by DavidA »

Hello,

According to your post your Settings look liek this:

COMPILER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe
-BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC%p -F%f.hex -M -A5 –R

PROGRAMMER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe
-BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC%p -F%f.hex -M -A5 –R
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PPP\PPPv3.exe
-cs 2 -chip PIC%p -config


They should look like this:

COMPILER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\Tools\boostc\boostc_pic18_flowcode.exe
-v -t PIC%p "%f.c"


PROGRAMMER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe
-BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC%p -F%f.hex -M -A5 –R
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PPP\PPPv3.exe
-cs 2 -chip PIC%p -config

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

Thanks DavidA, I'll give that a try and get back to you.

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

Tried it, have attached the screen grab of the error report.
Attachments
Error1.jpg
(112.56 KiB) Downloaded 3072 times

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

Hi Guys, noticed there is a PIC18 in the line, I'm using a PIC16, does this make any difference. I did also try it with PIC16 in but made no difference.

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

Have attached both Compiler and Programmer settings. Would appreciate you checking them out for me. Thanks
Attachments
Programmer Settings.jpg
(47.3 KiB) Downloaded 3071 times
Compiler Settings.jpg
Compiler Settings.jpg (30.31 KiB) Viewed 12226 times

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

and chip configuration screen grab.....
Attachments
Chip Configuration.jpg
(69.9 KiB) Downloaded 3070 times

User avatar
DavidA
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1076
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 258 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by DavidA »

Hello your compiler settings in the "Compiler" tab are still incorrect,

you never changed the parameters to be

Code: Select all

-v -t PIC%p "%f.c"

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Problem programming Chip

Post by JDR04 »

Success!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks to all those members who showed extreme patience with me.

Last question, is there a way of turning on Vdd without using the PICKit 2 software??

Post Reply