Page 3 of 3

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:26 pm
by JDR04
Hi martin, tried all that but still no flashing LED's. Just cant belive all the hassle.

I've also done a simple one LED flasher program and tried to burn that but its even worse. Got the same problem as in the very begining inspite of the PICKit2 software being the lastest.

Do you think it might be worthwhile be uninstalling FLOWCODE and going for a fresh install????

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 9:18 pm
by medelec35
You can try a fresh install.
Can you compile to hex with latest version install then post C and hex again, so I can see if that side of things have improved.

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 10:05 pm
by JDR04
OK, I havent done a fesh install yet but have compiled to C and to hex.

Have things improved??

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 10:22 pm
by medelec35
No better.
So we need to look at your compiler options (Build, compiler options, Programmer tab.)
Use External program to set configurations must be enabled. (only thing I can think of its not enabled or you have not got -config on the end of -cs 2 -chip PIC%p in the lowest parameter settings?).
This is what your compile options should look like:
compiler settings.png
(45.46 KiB) Downloaded 6589 times
There may be a problem with yours?

Martin

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 11:10 pm
by JDR04
Thanks Martin, I'll check all that. I've also checked the programmer voltage calibration and have redone it with my scope so I know its 100% Apparently, you have to keep the PICKit2 programmer connected to the same port you have done the calibration with.Thought that might help somebody...maybe.

I'll check those settings tomorrow and let you know.

Thanks a hell of a lot for your help on this. much appreciated-JDR04

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:10 am
by JDR04
My settings did not have the(x86) bit in them. I inserted them but got the message...... unable to transfer HEX file. Have removed it.

Still no go... Must BOD and SBOREN still bew disabled. Have got WATCHDOG TIMER switched off and oscillator on INTERNAL RC NO CLOCK.

Are these correct.

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:52 am
by medelec35
Hi JDR04, the x86 is for 64 bit windows only, which is the PC I currently have.
If you have not got 64 bit windows then x86 is removed.

Its the ringed parts on my picture you need to check.
JDR04 wrote:Have got WATCHDOG TIMER switched off and oscillator on INTERNAL RC NO CLOCK.
These are the most important settings and I can tell from your C file that they are set
I can't think of any other reason why your configuration settings are not transferred.

Maybe the clever people at Matrix Multimedia will be able to shed some light on this?

Martin

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:04 am
by JDR04
OK, last question as I have used lots of your time up, must JP5 always be bridged if I am using the internal oscillator?

Do the Matrix folk have an email I can contact them on besides a very expensive phone call? Kind of surprised none of them have shown any interest in this situation yet???

Take Care JDR04

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:57 am
by JDR04
Have just installed the demo lessons for LPC board and have tried a few.

Using the PICKit2 software they seem to compile into the chip OK and all is working???

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:05 pm
by DavidA
Hello,

Can you please sum up your problem and situation in a single post, its a bit difficult to piece together the issue from over 3 pages of posts.

- What Operating system are you using?
- Is it 32 or 64 bit?
- What version of Flowcode are you using (Help >> About)?
- What programmer are you using?
- What chip are you using?
- What is the target hardware (E-blocks, other 3rd party, custom hardware?)
- What is the history of the issue? (has it worked in the past, has anything in the hardware changed or had problems)?
- Please post your compiler settings (Build >> Compiler Settings)
- Please post (or point to) an fcf file which exhibits the problem.

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:52 pm
by JDR04
Hello DavidA, hopefully the following info will answer your questions;

Vista
32 bit
Flowcode version V5.5.2.1 (30.01.2013)
Microchip PICKit2 with v2.61
PIC16F690
Microchip Low Pin Count Demo board

I have used Flowcode twice. The very first time the only problems were setting PICKit2 up correctly which forum members helped with. Once this was done all seemed to work OK.

Now when trying to do a simple two lED light flashing program, the simulation works fine but when trying to compile to HEX the following error seems to come up;



Description:
Generated by: Flowcode v5.5.2.1
Date: Tuesday, June 11, 2013 18:42:17
Licence: Professional
Registered to: johnreunert
Licence key: J3UZRR
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com
Launching the compiler...
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe -BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC16F690 -FNEW 2LED PROG.hex -M -A5 -R
Hex file not found.
Return code = 37
Flowcode was unable to compile the flowchart's C code due to the following errors:
If your flowchart contains C code, please review this carefully. If your flowchart contains no C-code or you have thoroughly reviewed the code, contact Technical Support.
FINISHED

I downloaded some of the demo lessons from Microchip and they all worked fine with the hardware. (Used PICKit2 software to burn the chip)
I also did the voltage calibration with the PICKit2 software and all checked out OK.

Tried using a brand new PIC made no difference either.

I've attached the COMPILER and PROGRAMMER settings for you to check. Sorry, dont know how to do the screen grab so you can see it properly.

COMPILER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe
-BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC%p -F%f.hex -M -A5 –R

PROGRAMMER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe
-BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC%p -F%f.hex -M -A5 –R
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PPP\PPPv3.exe
-cs 2 -chip PIC%p -config


Thanks for your time. JDR04

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:06 am
by DavidA
Hello,

Your compiler settings should not be the programmer settings it should be this below (defaults).

Location:

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\v5\Tools\boostc\boostc_pic18_flowcode.exe
Parameters:

Code: Select all

-v -t PIC%p "%f.c"

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:32 am
by dazz
Hi JDR04
To do a screen grab , press control and prtscn, this will copy the screen to the windows clipboard ,then open a paint program( i use paint.net) and paste

Regards
Dazz

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:38 am
by JDR04
Thanks Dazz, much appreciated.

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:41 am
by JDR04
Hi DavidA, thanks for the prompt reply.

In one of the posts I tried those settings and with the x86 in them it did not work. Thats why I suggested you read the posts so you can get a better idea as to what has happened rather than relying on my inexperience.

If you want I'll try them again, let me know please.

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:57 am
by dazz
Hi JDR04

the 64 is if you have 64 bit windows , as yours is 32 cbit try as david asked but with the 64 removed see below, and add the parameters as per davids post . can you also post some screen grabs of each section of your compiler settings

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\Tools\boostc\boostc_pic18_flowcode.exe
Regards
Dazz

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:02 pm
by DavidA
Hello,

According to your post your Settings look liek this:

COMPILER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe
-BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC%p -F%f.hex -M -A5 –R

PROGRAMMER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe
-BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC%p -F%f.hex -M -A5 –R
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PPP\PPPv3.exe
-cs 2 -chip PIC%p -config


They should look like this:

COMPILER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\Tools\boostc\boostc_pic18_flowcode.exe
-v -t PIC%p "%f.c"


PROGRAMMER
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\pk2cmd.exe
-BC:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PICkit2\ -PPIC%p -F%f.hex -M -A5 –R
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\V5\Tools\PPP\PPPv3.exe
-cs 2 -chip PIC%p -config

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:44 pm
by JDR04
Thanks DavidA, I'll give that a try and get back to you.

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:01 pm
by JDR04
Tried it, have attached the screen grab of the error report.

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:04 pm
by JDR04
Hi Guys, noticed there is a PIC18 in the line, I'm using a PIC16, does this make any difference. I did also try it with PIC16 in but made no difference.

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:35 pm
by JDR04
Have attached both Compiler and Programmer settings. Would appreciate you checking them out for me. Thanks

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:34 pm
by JDR04
and chip configuration screen grab.....

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:34 pm
by DavidA
Hello your compiler settings in the "Compiler" tab are still incorrect,

you never changed the parameters to be

Code: Select all

-v -t PIC%p "%f.c"

Re: Problem programming Chip

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 5:18 pm
by JDR04
Success!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks to all those members who showed extreme patience with me.

Last question, is there a way of turning on Vdd without using the PICKit 2 software??