PIC Development Board V2.1

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

andy257

PIC Development Board V2.1

Post by andy257 »

Hi All,

Beginner here having problems autodetecting my microcontroller. I am using the latest version of PPP and it detects the board fine. However when i try to detect the controller i am using i get an error saying it is not found.

I am using the PIC16F84, the strange thing is i have a PIC16F84A and it can be detected no problems.

Is this a duff chip or a common problem with the board?

Cheers

Andy

Benj
Matrix Staff

Post by Benj »

Hi Andy

Does the 16F84 still program and work if the type of controller is assigned manually in PPP. If it is not working then it would suggest a problem with the chip. Im afraid I only have 16F84A's here to test and you say they are being detected fine. Let me know how you get on.

Steve
Matrix Staff

Post by Steve »

The 16F84 does not have an inbuilt id number, so can't be identified. The 16F84a does, which is why that one is ok.

The chip should work fine. Just make sure that you specify the 16F84 in the configuration screen.

andy257

Post by andy257 »

Hi Steve,

Thanks for your help. The 16F84 does indeed program as long as it is named as the chip being used. I thought it was strange that it did not have any autodetect function. Now i know why.

I have another problem with my board. I seem to have to hold the reset button down constantly for my program to execute. If the reset is not held down the board will do nothing.

Any ideas what is wrong?

Cheers

Andy

Steve
Matrix Staff

Post by Steve »

Hi Andy,

That seems an odd problem - has it always behaved like this, or is it a recent problem? Also, does it work ok if the parallel port cable is removed? And what about different chips (if you have access to any)?