Problem with entering two config settings for 16F737

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Problem with entering two config settings for 16F737

Post by medelec35 »

I am having a problem with entering two config settings at address 0x2007 and 0x2008
Chip, config window.
I have entered:
0x2007,0x3F98
0x2008,0x3FBD
Then when I re-open configure box in flowcode, all that is shown is:
0x2007,0x3f98
also in expert config menu of ppp, only one address is shown for 16F737, which is 0x2007.

I found the config settings I required, and programmed chip by: Importing hex file flowcode has created into Mplab, Made sure 16F737 is device selected, un-ticked Configuration Bits set in code, changed both config settings using drop down boxes & finally exported hex file with bits set correctly.

If I load PICkit2 with hex file created by Flowcode (with config set at 0x2007,0x3f98), it shows a warning about some configuration words not in hex file. However if I load PICkit2 with hex file that was configured in mplab and exported, then I get a message hex file successfully imported.
Why is there only one config box and not two?
How can I enter two configuration words when Flowcode thinks there should only be one configuration word with 16F737 chip is selected.
Martin

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3422
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Problem with entering two config settings for 16F737

Post by Steve »

I see what the problem is. It looks like both the PPP software and Flowcode don't realise that the 16F7x7 range of chips have 2 config words.

The fix for PPP is a bit tricky to do straight away, but the fix for Flowcode is easy enough. Just replace the 16F737.fcd file with the one attached (the original can be found in the "fcd" folder of your Flowcode installation). If anyone has a similar problem, simply change the line "ConfigCount=1" to "ConfigCount=2" near the start of the affected file.

Note that this will only work when entering the config data using Flowcode's own config screen. It will not work when using the PPP interface.
Attachments
16F737.fcd
(6.83 KiB) Downloaded 258 times

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: Problem with entering two config settings for 16F737

Post by medelec35 »

Great. Thanks for file. It now saves both configs.
Martin

Post Reply