V4 problem

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
nmindana
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 5:00 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

V4 problem

Post by nmindana »

Hi,
Purchased V4 professional version 4.3.7.63 recently, trying to programme 18LF13K50, comes up with
an error message on the expert config screen "could not find config start end address in 18LF13K50"

Same problem pops up with some other PIC's as well.

Please help.

Indana

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3422
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: V4 problem

Post by Steve »

Hi Indana,

I've deleted your double post. In future, please only post your question once to one forum. Also, Flowcode V4 questions should be posted into the V4 forum. You can gain access to this forum via the "help...online resources" menu within Flowcode.

To answer your question, the workaround is to select the "18F13K50" device within the config tool instead (you will need to access the "expert" configuration screen for this). When you get the following message, select "no" to continue using the LF device within Flowcode.
wrong chip msg.PNG
(11.94 KiB) Downloaded 3421 times

nmindana
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 5:00 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: V4 problem

Post by nmindana »

sorry for the double posting Steve.

Your solution albeit seemed to work initially but the compiler has come up with the following errors:

Launching the compiler...
C:\Program Files\Matrix Multimedia\Flowcode V4\BoostC\boostc.pic16.flowcode.exe -v -t PIC18LF13K50 "secondprog.c"
BoostC Optimizing C Compiler Version 6.95 (for PIC16 architecture)
http://www.sourceboost.com
Copyright(C) 2004-2009 Pavel Baranov
Copyright(C) 2004-2009 David Hobday

Licensed to FlowCode User under Single user Pro License for 1 node(s)
Limitations: PIC12,PIC16 max code size:Unlimited, max RAM banks:Unlimited


secondprog.c
Starting preprocessor: C:\PROGRA~1\MATRIX~1\FLOWCO~1\BoostC\pp.exe "D:\Documents and Settings\MURTHY.HOME\Desktop\secondprog.c" -i C:\PROGRA~1\MATRIX~1\FLOWCO~1\BoostC\include -d _PIC18LF13K50 -la -c2 -o "D:\Documents and Settings\MURTHY.HOME\Desktop\secondprog.pp" -v -d _BOOSTC -d _PIC16


...................................

secondprog.c success

success

Return code = 0

Launching the linker/assembler...
C:\Program Files\Matrix Multimedia\Flowcode V4\BoostC\boostlink.pic.exe -ld "C:\Program Files\Matrix Multimedia\Flowcode V4\BoostC\lib" libc.pic16.lib flowcode.pic16.lib rand.pic16.lib float.pic16.lib "secondprog.obj" -t PIC18LF13K50 -d "D:\Documents and Settings\MURTHY.HOME\Desktop" -p "secondprog"
BoostLink Optimizing Linker Version 6.95
http://www.sourceboost.com
Copyright(C) 2004-2009 Pavel Baranov
Copyright(C) 2004-2009 David Hobday


Error: .obj or .lib file wrong target type
Error: Failed to process:libc.pic16.lib
Error: .obj or .lib file wrong target type
Error: Failed to process:flowcode.pic16.lib
Error: .obj or .lib file wrong target type
Error: Failed to process:rand.pic16.lib
Error: .obj or .lib file wrong target type
Error: Failed to process:float.pic16.lib
Error: .obj or .lib file wrong target type
Error: Failed to process:secondprog.obj


failure

Return code = -2

Flowcode was unable to assemble the ASM file due to the following errors:


FINISHED

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3422
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: V4 problem

Post by Steve »

BoostC does not support this target - you need to change the compiler toolchain to HITECH.

nmindana
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 5:00 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: V4 problem

Post by nmindana »

sorry I din't catch that Steve, did you mean I have to purchase the Hitech version ?
How do I update the compiler ?

Also my login in the forum has restricted access, I am unable to post in the V4 forum, do I need to register again ?

Thanks

User avatar
DavidA
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1076
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 258 times
Contact:

Re: V4 problem

Post by DavidA »

Hello nmindana,

I have updated your forum account to allow V4 posting access.

As for the HITECH compiler, please see this article from Ben about how to use it with Flowcode v4.

http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... =26&t=6812

nmindana
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 5:00 pm
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: V4 problem

Post by nmindana »

Many thanks David I will try the Hitech compiler.

Post Reply