Bad mistake in FC8!

Moderator: Benj

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:21 pm

I'm using FC8 last update on Windows 10, 1903.
Since an update of MS and only in FC8, my PC says goodbye with the following error:

Pic2.jpg
Pic2.jpg (121.09 KiB) Viewed 1029 times

This occurs mainly when I create, change, or just list variables in the Project Explorer, but also
in the simulation debugger, when I delete or add variables.
With a little luck and some detours I can still save my work, otherwise everything is gone!
After restarting the PC and again with a bit of luck I need not reconfigure FC8.
Today I already deleted 2x registry entry and FC8 reconfigured, so I can continue working.
Is already a bit boring!

Can you take a look at this?
Many thanks
Christina

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14367
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4446 times
Been thanked: 4144 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Benj » Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:13 pm

Hi Christina,

Many thanks we will investigate what might be causing this.

DanielM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:54 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby DanielM » Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:16 am

Hi Christina,

This is a tricky one because we are unable to recreate the problem here. Would you be able to provide the following information to help us try to narrow the search?

1) Confirm you are using v8.2.1.13
2) Are you using an antivirus, firewall, or any other security software that has real-time protection?
3) Are you using any software designed to monitor/protect the Windows registry?

Also, would you be able to spend some time running Windows in safe-mode to see if the problem still occurs? (I understand if you cannot as it's quite inconvenient).

Thanks, and we shall continue investigating.

Daniel

DanielM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:54 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby DanielM » Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:34 am

Hi Christina,

Are you by any chance using multiple instances of Flowcode at the same time when this occurs? Or just running a single instance?

Thanks

Daniel

DanielM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:54 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby DanielM » Mon Sep 16, 2019 10:00 am

Hi Christina,

One more question for you (sorry!). Do you happen to know what graphics card manufacturer you are using (Intel, AMD/Radeon, Nvidia/Geforce)?

Daniel

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:36 am

This issue occurs with Single Instance and also with Multi Instances of FC8. My notebook has the Intel integrated graphics and also a Nvidia graphics card. I use the Intel internal graphics because the Nvidia drivers are mainly optimized for 3D applications. In addition, the error occurs in both graphics.

Christina

User avatar
Steve001
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1086
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
Has thanked: 440 times
Been thanked: 492 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Steve001 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:09 am

Hi
This may be unrelated - have you just installed the latest build 1903 ? of windows 10
at work this has also broken Autodesk Inventor 2018 & Autocad 2018. We have rolled back to the previous build

So might not be a bug in FC8 - MS could have caused this

Steve
These users thanked the author Steve001 for the post:
tiny (Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:40 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:16 pm

Hello Steve,I have the built 1903 installed, but it happened before this upgrade after any update. The problem with registry delete and reconfigure I already know from the time before Built 1903, now just the shutdown prompts have become a bit more common.Christina

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:45 pm

Addendum: the error occurs more often when more than one instance of FC8 is open.

And this shutdown again needs a necessary cleanup of the FC8 registry entry!

Christina

DanielM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:54 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby DanielM » Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:24 pm

Christina,

Just to let you know that we are still investigating this, (but as of yet we have not been successful). Thanks for your patience.

Daniel
These users thanked the author DanielM for the post:
tiny (Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:39 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 

johnsondav
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: Durham
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 181 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby johnsondav » Fri Sep 20, 2019 7:08 pm

Hi Everyone.
Hope you don't mind me butting in. However, I too have just completed a 'clean build' of Windows 10 pro 1903. OS build 18362.365
There is a notable difference as to how OneDrive functions. All desktop icons are affected too. During the new install, Windows appears to use a system snap-shot to rebuild the computer structure back to what is was before the rebuild. This included all files and desktop icons. Allowing the computer to sit unused for a while to let it work on reinstalling all folder files from the OneDrive, corrects any issues you may have. It takes a long time to complete. It appears to me that Microsoft has taken a snapshot of your system to be ready for an upgrade in the background some time ago. If you made changes after that snapshot was taken, may cause the problems you have.

Dave
These users thanked the author johnsondav for the post:
tiny (Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:39 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:39 pm

Thank you for continuing to work on this problem. It is sometimes quite annoying.

I also did a rollback on my PC, after that some other programs did not work properly anymore, so PC reinstalled, all updates except Build 1903 installed.FC8 (latest version) installed, after a short time no FC8 file can be opened. Registry cleaned up, ran again some time!So even mistakes as before the reinstallation.The only difference: there was no shutdown request without build 1903. This feature should really only come along with the build 1903!

Christina

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:03 pm

Just happened: during a simulation added a few variables in the simulation debugger.
Run simulation, pause, add variable (has always been a normal process) and immediately the shutdown window has appeared.
No chance to save!

Christina
These users thanked the author tiny for the post:
STibor (Sun Sep 22, 2019 2:35 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 

User avatar
STibor
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 3:20 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 112 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby STibor » Sun Sep 22, 2019 2:42 pm

tiny wrote:Just happened: during a simulation added a few variables in the simulation debugger.
Run simulation, pause, add variable (has always been a normal process) and immediately the shutdown window has appeared.
No chance to save!

Christina

Hello,

Mystical bug.
Macro "ok and edit button bug" 3 months ago not fixed...

https://youtu.be/INTVePi9Htg
These users thanked the author STibor for the post:
tiny (Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:16 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 

User avatar
Steve001
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1086
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
Has thanked: 440 times
Been thanked: 492 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Steve001 » Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:42 pm

Evening all

There is a notable difference as to how OneDrive functions. All desktop icons are affected too.


you can now sync desktop and other folders to onedrive i have turned off onedrive in msconfig a while ago
Steve
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 77 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Fri Sep 27, 2019 3:11 pm

Maybe a little help:
PC: Fujitsu Celsius H780, current bios, current drivers
Windows 10 Pro x64, build 1903, all updates
Flowcode v8.2.1.13, all core and component updates

I have cleared all system logs, started FC8 with a simple routine. 4 to 5 times variable in the debug window added or deleted, 4 occurrences of variables listed, again added in the debug mode variable and the shutdown request was already there.
In the user log there were then 3 messages, which are shown in the attached PDF.
Maybe this can help a bit with debugging.

I am (again) working on cleaning up the registry and reconfiguring Flowcode so that I can continue working!

User Log.pdf
(55.08 KiB) Downloaded 17 times


best regards
Christina