Rotary Switch and Inputs

Moderator: Benj

jon
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:12 pm
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Rotary Switch and Inputs

Postby jon » Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:27 pm

I need to make use of a rotary encoder with switch on a PIC16F1788 to select 3 inputs.

I’m new to this kind of switches, so :(

I think I will make use of this rotary encoder with switch:
https://www.addicore.com/rotary-encoder ... /ad267.htm


They have 5 Pins but how this work to get 20 positions is a question for me. I think this must be done in the software but how I don’t know.

I have looked in the Inputs section from FlowCode but I can’t find. Maybe I must buy an extra pack but this I don’t know.

How must I proceed and how does this work ?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14676
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4661 times
Been thanked: 4283 times
Contact:

Re: Rotary Switch and Inputs

Postby Benj » Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:13 pm

Hello,

Looks like you could use that with the quadrature encoder component, combined with a switch component if you want the button click. The pin out suggests otherwise but the Arduino site it sends you to suggests it outputs a standard quadrature signal.

jon
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:12 pm
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Rotary Switch and Inputs

Postby jon » Sun Feb 09, 2020 7:29 am

Can I use quadrature encoder component for simple rotary encoder module and basic push switch for rotary switch input?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14676
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4661 times
Been thanked: 4283 times
Contact:

Re: Rotary Switch and Inputs

Postby Benj » Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:37 am

Hi Jon,

Can I use quadrature encoder component for simple rotary encoder module and basic push switch for rotary switch input?


Yes that should be fine.