Bad mistake in FC8!

Moderator: Benj

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 93 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Mon Jan 06, 2020 11:43 am

Hello Andre,
use Regedit to delete the entire registry entry "HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ MatrixTSL \ FlowcodeV8".
Then delete the directory "C: \ ProgramData \ MatrixTSL \ FlowcodeV8".
If you start Flowcode now you have to reconfigure it and install all component updates.
A workaround:
After you have configured Flowcode, start Regedit again and export the key "HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ MatrixTSL \ FlowcodeV8" into a Reg file.
If this problem occurs again, simply import the saved registry key and you can continue working.
I hope this leads to success!

Regards
Christina
These users thanked the author tiny for the post (total 3):
Benj (Mon Jan 06, 2020 11:47 am) • medelec35 (Mon Jan 06, 2020 12:06 pm) • iain wilkie (Sat Apr 18, 2020 8:03 pm)
Rating: 15%
 

User avatar
andreeksteen
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:55 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby andreeksteen » Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:18 pm

Hallo Christina,

Thank you so much for the great advice! I actually took it a step further:

1: Uninstall Flowcode 8 and all associated items (Pic8, Pic16, Pic32 and so on)
2: Deleted the entire registry entry "HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ MatrixTSL \ FlowcodeV8" as well as SCADA.
3: Then delete the directory "C: \ ProgramData \ MatrixTSL \ FlowcodeV8".
4: Installed Flowcode 8.2 again
5: Activated my licences

Flowcode 8 now works flawlessly. Thank you so-so much for the help.

Regards
Andre
These users thanked the author andreeksteen for the post (total 2):
Benj (Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:10 pm) • patrick schoon (Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:23 pm)
Rating: 10%
 
Andre Eksteen

Biotech Emporium cc
Reg: 2002/104664/23
P O Box 433
Oudtshoorn
South Africa
6620

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 93 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:07 pm

Hi Andre,
With pleasure.
Glad I could help.
These users thanked the author tiny for the post (total 2):
Benj (Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:11 pm) • andreeksteen (Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:32 pm)
Rating: 10%
 

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 413 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Steve » Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:30 pm

Thanks for posting a solution.

A quicker way of fixing this for those happy to manually edit the Windows registry is open the registry editor and navigate to this location:

Code: Select all

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\MatrixTSL\FlowcodeV8\WindowPlacement


In there, there should be an entry for MainWindow which consists of 10 comma-separated integers. The second of this may have become 0, but it should be set to 1. Try setting it to something like this:

Code: Select all

0,1,-1,-1,-1,-1,20,20,980,880


If that does not fix the issue, you could try removing the whole "WindowPlacement" registry entry, or even the whole FlowcodeV8 entry.

PLEASE NOTE: only edit the Windows registry if you know what you're doing!

Thanks,
Steve.
These users thanked the author Steve for the post (total 2):
tiny (Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:57 pm) • medelec35 (Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:54 pm)
Rating: 10%
 

maharadga
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:38 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 12 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby maharadga » Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:09 pm

tiny wrote:Hello Andre,
use Regedit to delete the entire registry entry "HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ MatrixTSL \ FlowcodeV8".
Then delete the directory "C: \ ProgramData \ MatrixTSL \ FlowcodeV8".
If you start Flowcode now you have to reconfigure it and install all component updates.
A workaround:
After you have configured Flowcode, start Regedit again and export the key "HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ MatrixTSL \ FlowcodeV8" into a Reg file.
If this problem occurs again, simply import the saved registry key and you can continue working.
I hope this leads to success!

Regards
Christina


I try this and temporary solve the problem. After some time is the same. I put file in registry, the problem solve and again crash some time later and etc......till the end of time... or world. :-)

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 93 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:01 pm

Hi Abhi,
the workaround does not help against shutdown syndrome, but it does reduce the number of steps that need to be taken if FC8 cannot be started afterwards. Simply double-click the .reg file and you're ready to go. It always worked for me.
There has been almost no shutdown since the update to Windows 10 build 1909.

Regards
Christina
These users thanked the author tiny for the post:
AbhijitR (Tue Jan 07, 2020 6:40 am)
Rating: 5%
 

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 413 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Steve » Tue Jan 07, 2020 10:43 am

This shutdown problem has been extremely frustrating for us. We have seen it ourselves just a few times over the same week about 6 months ago - it seemed to have no pattern, could not be replicated and therefore is almost impossible to fix.

Our suspicion is that an update to some other product (e.g. Windows Defender, or Windows itself) was causing the issue, and that has since been fixed by a subsequent update.

I do realise this does not help those still experiencing the problem. If anyone has any further information that could help us, then please let us know.

Regards,
Steve.

User avatar
AbhijitR
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 12:48 pm
Location: Pune, India
Has thanked: 183 times
Been thanked: 48 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby AbhijitR » Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:05 pm

Hello! Steve

Kindly excuse to speak my mind may be I am wrong but I think for me it is due to the anti-virus, because when ever the shut down situation/scene occurs I see one window prompting by the anti-virus (Quick Heal in my case), and the warning is about malware activity by FC8 (I think) and ask to allow if trusted.

Honestly I did not find any setting in my AV where I can allow FC as trusted application.

I hope this could help, or may be I am late to share this information and you already knew that.

Regards
Abhi

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 413 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Steve » Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:21 pm

Thanks, Abhi - that information is really useful. I have a few other quick questions if you don't mind...

Are you still getting the shutdown problem? Does it happen all the time or only occasionally? Is there something specific you can do in Flowcode to make the shutdown problem happen?

Regards,
Steve.

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 93 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Fri Jan 17, 2020 9:32 pm

I have programmed and tested a lot in the past few days, added / deleted variables for debugging, worked through the programs step by step with setting / deleting breakpoints. All of these steps used to lead to a restart prompt after a few minutes. None of the problems described in the previous posts have occurred in the past few days.

It looks to me that Microsoft has solved the problem for me, maybe for you, with one or more updates.

Nothing has changed on my PC (brand and performance described in a previous post).
Flowcode Version 8.2.1.13 with all required component updates.

Windows Info under Windows Settings, System, Info:
Windows 10 Pro
Version 1909
Operating system build 18363.592

Maybe this information will help a little.

Regards
Christina
These users thanked the author tiny for the post (total 3):
medelec35 (Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:37 pm) • AbhijitR (Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:48 am) • Steve (Mon Jan 20, 2020 2:01 pm)
Rating: 15%
 

DCW
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby DCW » Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:53 am

Hello Christina.... okay so now .. what type of processor do you have in your PC..???
apparently.. some versions of certain processors... had faults "built into the die"...
I would suggest that you try to find ..."an oldish" INTEL core ... whatever you can... and try that...???
If you using an AMD... it might just be responsible for this 'fault'....!!
Thank you....
good bye...
DCW...

User avatar
tiny
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 93 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby tiny » Sat Jan 18, 2020 11:16 am

Hello DCW,
of course I can not rule out that a certain hardware configuration is involved, as well I can only pass this on for Windows 10 PCs. But on my PC this problem appeared without having changed anything on the hardware or the PC drivers and after some Windows updates I can (hopefully) work without recurring PC restarts and this after the function update to version 1909.

My PC configuration:
Fujitsu Celsius H780
Processor Intel Core i-7 8750H 64Bit 6 core
16GB Ram
256GB m.2 PCIe SSD for Windows 64Bit
1TB m.2 PCIe SSD data drive

Regards
Christina

mnf
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 11:57 am
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 402 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby mnf » Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:22 pm

I can fairly reliably replicate this error on my laptop - Windows 10 (fully updated)

The specific task - expose properties from a component to top level (in this cases SDA/SCL from cal_12c) Then 'drag' them into position on the panel properties (this for a component...) - I first dragged one to bottom of properties (to make the layout more sensible), then dragging the second causes the ''Shutdown' error....

This seems to bomb FC - thanks to tiny for the regedit tip - this has saved multiple re-installs.

I've also noticed the problem occurs when creating a new macro (Ctrl-M) - although this doesn't always cause the crash...

Martin

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 413 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Steve » Thu Jan 23, 2020 3:42 pm

Thanks, Martin.

I've not been able to replicate this myself, but I am about to send you a PM with something I'd like you to try.

Regards,
Steve.

patrick schoon
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:07 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby patrick schoon » Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:21 pm

Hi,

Today i experianced a FC8 bad start again. (Win-7 Pro)

I did leave my PC with running FC8 overnight without working on it. I only switched off my monitors..

After switching on my monitors a did a safety backup of my project and closed FC8, all was well.
Then i had to update my Qnap Qsync and restarted my PC and FC8 was dead.

Deleted FC8 from the regestry and all is working well again.

I also experianced this on a Win10 Pro version.

Hope this helps with debugging the problem.

Regards,

Patrick Schoon

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 413 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Steve » Fri Jan 24, 2020 1:07 pm

Hi all,

If anyone wants to help and is experiencing this problem relatively frequently, can you please contact me via PM. I am creating a special build of Flowcode that will hopefully help and I want to test it a bit more before releasing it as a patch.

Thanks,
Steve.

dannyvanneijenhoff
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:59 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby dannyvanneijenhoff » Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:19 am

Just had last week again the same problem (again) at my w10 pc,
and on a w10home-1909 laptop msi i7-8750h after updating all the components (there was an new ADC component) in FC8.22... No other antivirus installed (yet :oops: ) other than microsoft.

removed FC8 and reinstall after use Regedit to delete the entire registry entry "HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ MatrixTSL \ FlowcodeV8".
Then delete the directory "C: \ ProgramData \ MatrixTSL \ FlowcodeV8".

Works again now
These users thanked the author dannyvanneijenhoff for the post:
Steve (Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:25 am)
Rating: 5%
 

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 413 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Steve » Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:29 am

dannyvanneijenhoff wrote:Just had last week again the same problem (again)


Thanks for letting us know.

Did this crash happen when you were running the v8.2.2.15 version that was released at the beginning of March?

A number of fixes were put in place to hopefully prevent this crash in that version. Also, this version should not corrupt the registry if a crash happens and so there should not be a need to delete any registry keys or reinstall Flowcode.

dannyvanneijenhoff
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:59 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby dannyvanneijenhoff » Wed Apr 15, 2020 2:29 pm

i am not sure wich version it was (sorry :-) )

It was strange, because it has work for a few weeks on the laptop. And after i updated all the files (when i saw an updated ADC component), it wo'nt start up again.

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 413 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Steve » Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:44 pm

No problem. This issue has been so difficult for us because it happens very rarely and seemingly at random.

If you (or anyone else) experiences the crash whilst using the latest v8.2.2.15 version then please let us know. I'm hopeful we've fixed the issue, but it's difficult to know for sure because we're unable to replicate the crash.

leoo
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:43 am
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby leoo » Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:31 am

Hi,

I stopped using FC8 for most of last year because of the Windows 10 shutdown problem. I started using FC8 again on Tuesday and experienced the problem on Wednesday. I was on version 8.2.1.13. I loaded 8.2.1.14. but I see version 8.2.2.15 is available. Can you supply a link to the new version please?

Kind regards.
Leo

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14790
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4752 times
Been thanked: 4358 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Benj » Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:01 pm

Hi Leo,

This should be all you need.
https://www.matrixtsl.com/flowcode/down ... _Patch.msp

You can find all the latest downloads here.
https://www.matrixtsl.com/flowcode/download/
These users thanked the author Benj for the post:
leoo (Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:10 pm)
Rating: 5%
 

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3148
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 413 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby Steve » Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:17 pm

I think that link for the patch just takes v8.0.x and v8.1.x versions to v8.2.0. This update is essentially a service pack.

To upgrade from v8.2.1 to v8.2.2 you will need the hotfix that is available via the second link in Ben's post.
These users thanked the author Steve for the post (total 2):
leoo (Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:20 pm) • medelec35 (Sat Apr 18, 2020 10:36 pm)
Rating: 10%
 

iain wilkie
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:37 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Bad mistake in FC8!

Postby iain wilkie » Sat Apr 18, 2020 8:04 pm

Great solution, got me up and running again :)

Iain