Problems with flowcode 5 and RS232 comms Ports

Moderator: Benj

Muppetmaster
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 4:26 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Problems with flowcode 5 and RS232 comms Ports

Postby Muppetmaster » Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:50 pm

Hi Guys,
Processor Pic18f25k22
Flowcode V5.0

I have a problem relating to the RS232 comms ports and get errors when compiling the Code.
My code requires that I use two RS232 communication ports, I had written an extensive flowcode chart but when attempting to compile I received errors relating to the use of both ports, I then created a simple flowcode chart to test the use of using two communications ports together, I would like to add that my project will require one RS232 port to run at 19200 baud and the other RS232 port to run at 9600 baud.

The simple test flowcode chart:

Flowcode.jpg
(216.29 KiB) Downloaded 1587 times


However in my tests I have compiled with both ports at 19200 Baud on test one and get 1 error reported on the compile which is:
test.c(426): Illegal redefinition of symbol: MX_UART_RTS_PORT_2


But if I change to 19200 Baud on port 1 and 9600 Baud on port 2 I then get the following errors reported on the compile which are as follows:

test.c(426): Illegal redefinition of symbol: MX_UART_RTS_PORT_2
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_UART.c(162): Illegal redefinition of symbol: MX_HARD_BAUD_2
C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_UART.c(163): Illegal redefinition of symbol: MX_HARD_SLOW_2

Error 1.jpg
(82.11 KiB) Downloaded 1587 times


Both ports are hardware RS232 communication ports comm 1 and comm 2.

I have added the test file created for this test to this post along with the screen shots to help find the problem.

test.fcf
(9 KiB) Downloaded 167 times


Could you guys please take a quick look at this problem as this stops me moving forward at the moment with the project?

Kind regards
Aj

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 467 times
Contact:

Re: Problems with flowcode 5 and RS232 comms Ports

Postby dazz » Thu Feb 09, 2012 4:37 pm

Hi

does this thread help viewtopic.php?f=47&t=10122
These users thanked the author dazz for the post:
Muppetmaster (Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:02 pm)
Rating: 5%
 
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

User avatar
JonnyW
Posts: 1230
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:13 am
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 306 times
Contact:

Re: Problems with flowcode 5 and RS232 comms Ports

Postby JonnyW » Thu Feb 09, 2012 4:45 pm

Hello. We are putting together an updated patch at this point (v5.1) which fixes several UART issues. We hope to include this fix in here.

In the meantime, looking at your issue, I think this patch might help.
PIC_CAL_UART.c
Patched UART file
(20.84 KiB) Downloaded 144 times


Please let us know if this fixes your problem as although we can test these things in the lab we can not replicate your setup exactly.

Cheers,

Jonny
These users thanked the author JonnyW for the post:
Muppetmaster (Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:15 pm)
Rating: 5%
 

Muppetmaster
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 4:26 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Problems with flowcode 5 and RS232 comms Ports

Postby Muppetmaster » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:11 pm

dazz wrote:Hi

does this thread help viewtopic.php?f=47&t=10122


Many thanks - I somehow missed this update and it fixed the one problem but I'm still left with the two errors...

2Errors.jpg
(50.08 KiB) Downloaded 1575 times


Many thanks for the quick responce.

Kind regards
Aj

Muppetmaster
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 4:26 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Problems with flowcode 5 and RS232 comms Ports

Postby Muppetmaster » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:15 pm

JonnyW wrote:Hello. We are putting together an updated patch at this point (v5.1) which fixes several UART issues. We hope to include this fix in here.

In the meantime, looking at your issue, I think this patch might help.
PIC_CAL_UART.c


Please let us know if this fixes your problem as although we can test these things in the lab we can not replicate your setup exactly.

Cheers,

Jonny


Hi Jonny,

Yes many thanks, this has now fixed the other two errors, I have compiled and it looks good now, and will test soon...
I hope this is ok with the above patch installed - its looks good...

Thanks again Guys for such a great responce, Looks like I can now move forward again with the project.

Kind regards
Aj

Muppetmaster
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 4:26 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Problems with flowcode 5 and RS232 comms Ports

Postby Muppetmaster » Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:07 pm

Hi Guys,

Just a quick update,

With both above patches I have now tested in hardware and all is ok with two comms ports running at different baud rates etc.

Once again many thanks for the quick responce.

Kind regards
Aj

User avatar
JonnyW
Posts: 1230
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 9:13 am
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 306 times
Contact:

Re: Problems with flowcode 5 and RS232 comms Ports

Postby JonnyW » Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:17 pm

Good news, we'll ensure this makes it into the patch.

Thanks for letting us know.

Jonny