Converting EB005 display control to I2C

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

Brendan
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 115 times
Contact:

Converting EB005 display control to I2C

Postby Brendan » Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:16 am

I've been struggling trying to get an I2C interfaced display working (posted elsewhere), as I'm clearly missing something in the LCD driver datasheet. This is for a PIC-based test jig where the display is interfaced via I2C.

Looking at an alternative route, the on-board display driver chip (Sitronix ST7032i) is evidently code-compatible with the HD44780 that I understand is used on the E-Blocks EB005.

I would therefore like to edit the code / Flowcode (V5) to make use of the provided EB005 display driver functions, but converting the parallel (4-bit) output to suit the preordained 8-bit I2C of the tested product. If relatively straightforward I'd be extremely grateful for guidance.


Many thanks in advance.

Brendan.

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8612
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2477 times
Been thanked: 3560 times
Contact:

Re: Converting EB005 display control to I2C

Postby medelec35 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 9:08 am

Hi Brendan.
Programming Tips & Tricks is not for questions or technical support.
It's only for people who are posting tips,tricks and sharing their working Flowcharts.
So I have moved your post to a more relevant part of the forums.

Martin
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
Brendan (Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:07 pm)
Rating: 5%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

Brendan
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 115 times
Contact:

Re: Converting EB005 display control to I2C

Postby Brendan » Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:06 pm

Oops... My bad, and apology :oops:

Thanks Martin :)


All the best,

Brendan

Brendan
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 115 times
Contact:

Re: Converting EB005 display control to I2C

Postby Brendan » Sun Jun 23, 2013 5:10 pm

My original issue has now been resolved and the I2C display now working in native Flowcode (after a critical header byte value was corrected :roll: )

My particular thanks to Jac (Kersing) for taking the time to dig out and PM some well-written example 'C' code :D


All the best,

Brendan
These users thanked the author Brendan for the post:
bercioiu (Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:00 pm)
Rating: 5%
 

bercioiu
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:56 am
Location: bucharest, romania
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

Re: Converting EB005 display control to I2C

Postby bercioiu » Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:59 pm

interesting!
Can you share with us the hardware and flowcode settings? I'm looking for something like that for a long time.
Thanks!

Brendan
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:53 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Has thanked: 136 times
Been thanked: 115 times
Contact:

Re: Converting EB005 display control to I2C

Postby Brendan » Wed Aug 14, 2013 11:44 pm

Sorry for the (very) late reply.

Here's the code that worked to produce just a one-liner in the LCD (which was enough for the test exercise).

Not entirely clean and slick, but got the job done and off my back :D


All the best,

Brendan
Attachments
I2C_Display_Test_WORKING_23-Jun-2013_VerE.fcf
(43.72 KiB) Downloaded 144 times

bercioiu
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:56 am
Location: bucharest, romania
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

Re: Converting EB005 display control to I2C

Postby bercioiu » Wed Aug 14, 2013 11:59 pm

It is not so late, it's only one day after a month :-)
Thank you for your reply, I thought you made a custom code for the LCD and we can use LCD natively in Flowcode ...
Any way, thank you again!