Which AVR to start with?

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
MJU
Posts: 502
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:51 pm
Location: Antwerp Belgium
Has thanked: 121 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Which AVR to start with?

Post by MJU »

After Flowcode for PIC, version 3, 4, 5 I've bought the Pro version of Flowcode 6 for PIC AND chippack for AVR...
I'm used of choosing Microsoft PIC's to my needs, but I have no experience with AVR chips.

What AVR is a good one to start with for general purpose programming?
In the PIC multiprogammer set there was an 16F877A included, what is the AVR version of this PIC?

What are good tools to choose an AVR?
Microchip has it's "MAPS" program, is there such a tool for AVR?
I have the Atmel app ATmicro database, but isn't there such a tool for Windows computers?

Thanks!

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 716 times
Contact:

Re: Which AVR to start with?

Post by JohnCrow »

Hi
I cannot remember if the programmer cam with a device or not. I tend to use either the ATMEGA324P (40pin) or the ATMEGA 328pu (Same as the arduino uno) for basic experiments.
Easiest intro to AVR way is an arduino, though not as versatile as the Matrix programmer, which is a nice board. Comes with the Atmel AVRISP unit which can be used as a stand alone programmer. Ive used it on the Arduino and on the AVR device on my GERT Board for the Raspberry Pi.

The device like pics depends on what you want to do.
One thing to be carful with if you set the fuses incorrectly, you can brick the device.There are ways to recover the chip but best not to do it :)

Hope this helps a bit
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

MJU
Posts: 502
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:51 pm
Location: Antwerp Belgium
Has thanked: 121 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Which AVR to start with?

Post by MJU »

Thank you!

That "fuses" thing, I have to look into first.
Doesn't Flowcode takes care of that thing? :D

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 716 times
Contact:

Re: Which AVR to start with?

Post by JohnCrow »

Hi
Fuses are in pics as well
Its another name for the advanced config settings

Selecting the oscilator (internal or crystal)
Clock Multipliers
Clock Divider
Watchdog
ect etc

Most of the time it wont be a problem, its only if you start tweeking the more advanced options, its never happened to me, but there are posts on the forums about it if you do a search.
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Which AVR to start with?

Post by dazz »

Hi
Start with a cheap arduino using a 328pu chip, Or buy some 328pu chip with the arduino bootloader built in as you only then need a few components to get it running, there are advantages and disadvantages to doing this, like you can only have a 16mhz xtal, but the fuses are protected

Regards
DAzz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

MJU
Posts: 502
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:51 pm
Location: Antwerp Belgium
Has thanked: 121 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Which AVR to start with?

Post by MJU »

With all the PIC's I've used, I hardly ever changed the fuses.
I never used a bootloader except for an ECIO project.

All the other times Flowcode had the right settings for me.
I hope that version 6 does the same trick for me :-)

Alberta2012
Flowcode v5 User
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 2:18 am
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 14 times
Contact:

Re: Which AVR to start with?

Post by Alberta2012 »

Hi !

I have been playing with AVR for a bit.....

The ones I use are ATTiny2313 & ATMega8.

I have a STK500 and I could not figure out how to configure FC to download directly to it.... So what I do, is create the Hex file with FC, then I used ATMEL studio to download to the chip....

Go to the Atmel site, and request a few sample...easy to do !

shayanjameel08
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 7:48 am
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Which AVR to start with?

Post by shayanjameel08 »

hey i got this warning
“F_CPU not defined for ”
what does it means ?
how can i solve this??

dazz
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:15 pm
Has thanked: 474 times
Been thanked: 458 times
Contact:

Re: Which AVR to start with?

Post by dazz »

shayanjameel08 wrote:hey i got this warning
“F_CPU not defined for ”
what does it means ?
how can i solve this??
Hi
First off please sign up to the forum relating to the version of flowcode you are using links are in my sig, Once done post a topic in that forum and please give more information as to what the issue is, It is impossible for us to second guess what hardware you are using so cannot give an answer if we font know what chip type you are using, also once in the correct forum you will get a much quicker response

Regards
Dazz
To sign up to the V5 forum follow this link http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/forum_upgrades.php

Post Reply