PicKit3 Command Line Extensions - Power

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 6.

Moderator: Benj

Mark
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Bakewell, UK
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

PicKit3 Command Line Extensions - Power

Postby Mark » Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:05 pm

I have had a look at the excellent wiki
(and trawled the Forum, so sorry if it already there).

http://www.matrixtsl.com/wiki/index.php ... ming_Tools

and at the microchip datasheet (attached).

From this I expected changing, the FC 6 Programmer Parameters to:

-P$(chip) -F$(target).hex -E -M -V5.000

would give 5v power, no luck FC gives error 5 (vs error 2 for unpowered).

How can I power the PicKit3 when using FC6?

Thanks.

ps I'm using windows 7, 64 bit
Attachments
PicKit3 Command Line.txt
(13.3 KiB) Downloaded 76 times
These users thanked the author Mark for the post:
Benj (Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:13 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Go with the Flow.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14370
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4447 times
Been thanked: 4145 times
Contact:

Re: PicKit3 Command Line Extensions - Power

Postby Benj » Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:17 pm

Hi Mark,

Thanks for the detailed post :) Makes my job much easier.

You could try these to see if they make any difference.

-P$(chip) -F$(target).hex -E -M -V5

-P$(chip) -F$(target).hex -E -M -V5.0

-P$(chip) -F$(target).hex -E -M -V5.0 -I

Let me know how you get on.

I seem to remember a niggle with the powering of the PICkit 3 but not sure if it ever got solved. From memory Microchip said they had intentionally added it because the PICkit 2 had damaged some hardware but I never had any problems with it.
These users thanked the author Benj for the post:
Mark (Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:56 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 

Mark
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Bakewell, UK
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: PicKit3 Command Line Extensions - Power

Postby Mark » Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:56 pm

Hi Ben,

Thanks for the fast response; adding

-V5.0 works.

For reference, at the Build - Compiler Options - Programmer entry we need:

Location

...D:\Flowcodev6\tools\PICkit3\PK3CMD.exe (or whatever the system needs)

Parameters

-P$(chip) -F$(target).hex -E -M -V5.0

To cut a long story short I also tried several chips and the 'proof' came from a known good circuit with a known good program. Some other combinations gave other errors.

A list of what the error codes for FCv6 mean may be useful for future reference.

Thanks

Mark
Go with the Flow.