Flowcode v6.0.9 Live + Recent Major Bugs & Fixes

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 6.

Moderator: Benj

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Flowcode v6.0.9 Live + Recent Major Bugs & Fixes

Post by Benj »

Hello All,

In case you were unaware Patch 6.0.9 for Flowcode is now live.

Please click Help -> Check for updates in Flowcode to get access to the new release.

Let us know if you have any problems installing the patch or otherwise.

Here is a list of all the major changes:
FlowCode_6_0_9_RelNotes.docx
(113.81 KiB) Downloaded 1137 times
Minor changes are still listed in the text file located in the logs folder.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Flowcode v6.0.9 Major Bugs and Fixes

Post by Benj »

PIC 18F 28 Pin Devices TRISE Problem
Some compile issues relating to "TRISE" have been found with some 18F devices so the fixed FCDs are now available from here.
The files need to be extracted into the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\FCD\PIC" directory to apply the fix.
PIC18F.zip
(153.43 KiB) Downloaded 388 times

16-Bit PIC Mapped IOC Problem
Some IOC mapping issues relating to most 16-bit PIC devices have been found so the fixed FCDs are now available from here.
The files need to be extracted into the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\FCD\PIC16" directory to apply the fix
PIC16.zip
(1.4 MiB) Downloaded 378 times

PIC USB Issues
USB PIC Code has a few bugs: http://www.matrixtsl.com/mmforums/viewt ... 991#p60933
USB Serial Component Issue: http://www.matrixtsl.com/mmforums/viewt ... 991#p60945

Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

6.0.7 ./. 6.0.9 USB Slave PIC18F2550 ( no hurry )

Post by Rudi »

no hurry
^^^^^^^^^
I can still work with 6.0.7 ..

Hi
i tested in 6.0.9 two simple projects with PIC18F2550 and UsbSlave
One Project is with a lokal variable and the other Project is with a Global Variable
The reason is - i want show a new bug in lokal and global variable ( this is later in other post )
But i can not show it in 6.0.9 because 6.0.9 do not work USB Slave Projekt well...
so i make exact the Same Project ( i make a new Project ) in 6.0.7 too.

The 6.0.7 Project works like it must ( but variable lokal / global bug is exist )

The USB Serial init as Com Devices and if i connect with Terminal and send string i get string back

The 6.0.9 Project works half.
The USB Serial Fire an Initialise as a Com Port, if i connect with Terminal connect will not succesfull.
so i can not test communication.

I have compare the Hex files - and it looks that 6.0.9 makes other config as the 6.0.7
The Codes are in Config at Begin not the same.

I compare in 6.0.9 and 6.0.7 each row in Projekt Properties in Config.
All the same.

I added fcfx 6.0.7 global and 6.0.9 global

Now to the global / lokal variable bug.
I post here as push new in lees minutes.

Best wishes
Rudi
;-)

Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Global / Lokal Variable ( No Hurry )

Post by Rudi »

No Hurry!
^^^^^^^^
Global / Lokal Variable String Bug

I can work in Char / Bytes..
I added the other two simple Projects.
6.0.7 Lokal USB Slave
6.0.9 Lokal USB Slave


if i work with 6.0.7 with the Lokal Variable Project, the rceived String is difference to the Global Variable Project.
You can test it so:

Load the 6.0.7 Lokal Variable Projekt.
The USB Slave will Initialise Com Port fine
I can connect to the Device with Terminal.
I send a String likewise "123" Enter
then Receive String will be: 123 and! add 3 characters! ( see pics )

Load the 6.0.7 Global Variable Projekt
The USB Slave will Initialise Com Port fine
I can connect to the Device with Terminal.
I send a String likewise "123" Enter
then Receive String will be: 123 ( ok see pics )

This i want test in 6.0.9 but i can not test because in 6.0.9 the USB Slave is changed? The Config Mode?
If you compare the Hex 6.0.7 and 6.0.9 example lokal variation the hex are difference in config start code, why?

I added the pic for compare
top is global string variable
bottom is lokal string variable

Thank you!
Best wishes
Rudi

No hurry!
^^^^^^^^


EDIT
-----

I forget the important point!

If you load the lokal variable project and
send only 2 byte string .. like "12" and then enter
the receive String will be "12" - ok!

The overrun in lokal variable if = 3 bytes and the correct global variable = 3 bytes but difference receive is the Info to lokal string variable bug.

Is this in 6.0.9 too?

Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

No Hurry - Info

Post by Rudi »

Append ( No Hurry )
======
Hi
The Lokal Variable[3] String Bug is only with USB Serial in 6.0.7.
The same Projekt with RS232 ( Com ) and Lokal String Variable in 6.0.9 is ok.

Because USB Serial in 6.0.9 not work here at me i can not test in 6.0.9 with USB Serial .
The same Project in 6.0.7 with USB Serial work with USB Serial but the Lokal String Variable is fail ( add 3 characters ).

Best wishes
Rudi

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by Benj »

Hello,

We have replicated the problems with the USB components on 8-bit PIC and are now resolving the issues.

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2178
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 699 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by LeighM »

Hi Rudi,

For the USB (Serial) issues, can you try these files, drop them into your installation directories...
Flowcode 6\compilers\pic\boostc\include\USB
Flowcode 6\CAL\PIC\USB

(we are going to consolidate these into one directory, but best placed in both for now)

Thanks
Leigh
Attachments
USB.zip
(30.76 KiB) Downloaded 325 times

Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by Rudi »

LeighM wrote:Hi Rudi,

For the USB (Serial) issues, can you try these files, drop them into your installation directories...
Flowcode 6\compilers\pic\boostc\include\USB
Flowcode 6\CAL\PIC\USB

(we are going to consolidate these into one directory, but best placed in both for now)

Thanks
Leigh

Hi Leigh,

USB Serial Solved!

Best Thanks!

This Solved the USB Serial PIC18F2550
;-)
Best Thank!!!
^^^^^^^^^^^^

I have test now the lokal string[3] variable test with usb serial in 6.0.9
little change, the 3 added character now: EA 01 03 ( see Pic )
but this is not hurry Leigh -

Best wishes
Rudi
;-)

( i am outside next 2 h )

Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Not Hurry - Info Append Lokal String Variable

Post by Rudi »

Not Hurry - Only append Info Lokal String Variable
Hi

i added a pic.
If i send with Terminal - i can send without a finnish and set a finnish like CR + LF ( \r + \n )
i test all tow variation:

Code: Select all

Send 1,12,123 each without a ´finnish:
1       =  1      ( adds \r \n   ) 
12     =  12    (adds \r  \n  )
123   =  123  (adds 3 char adds \r + \n )

Code: Select all

send 1,12,123 each with CR + LF ( \r + \n )
1       =  1      olala ( 1 + \r + \n ) but adds new line with 3 char + \r\n
12     =  12    fail ( 12 + \r    (\n is missing) ..adds 3 char  + \r \n)
123   =  123  fail ( 123  (\r\n missing) + 3char + \r + \n)
Best wishes
Rudi
;-)

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2178
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 699 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by LeighM »

The issue was that the USB Serial Send String expected a null terminated string.
In your test, with the string length and buffer size being the same (3), then the output was overrunning.
I’ve now fixed this and attached an updated USB Serial component.

Leigh
Attachments
USB_Serial.fcpx
(15.71 KiB) Downloaded 302 times

Mark
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Bakewell, UK
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live - Installation Issue

Post by Mark »

Hi Ben,

I have just downloaded Flowcode v6.0.7 and then overwritten with the v6.0.9 patch, registered the installation, imported a known good FC6 program. It compiles to C OK but when it tries to compile to hex I get the error code below.

This is a second install on my laptop for doing fieldwork (so I guess it is still one user). The laptop is running Windows 8 and there have been no previous Flowcode installs. For completeness, I'm using a Pickit3 as the programmer.

I intend to do the same with Flowcode v5 as I have some legacy programs that require that version.

Please suggest how I might solve the problem.

Thanks in advance.

Error text is:

Registered to: HXXXXXXXXXXX
Licence key: XXXXX
http://www.matrixtsl.com
Launching the compiler...
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\pic\boostc\boostc_18F.exe -v -t PIC18F46K22 "18F46K22_OK.c"
Launching BoostC...
BoostC Optimizing C Compiler Version 7.20 (for PIC18 architecture)
http://www.sourceboost.com
Copyright(C) 2004-2013 Pavel Baranov
Copyright(C) 2004-2013 David Hobday

Compiler can not be started without a host program (code 120)

...
Completed BoostC compilation, return = 120

C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\pic\boostc\boostc_18F.exe reported error code 120


FINISHED
Go with the Flow.

Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live - Installation Issue

Post by Rudi »

Mark wrote:Hi Ben,

I have just downloaded Flowcode v6.0.7 and then overwritten with the v6.0.9 patch, registered the installation, imported a known good FC6 program. It compiles to C OK but when it tries to compile to hex I get the error code below.

This is a second install on my laptop for doing fieldwork (so I guess it is still one user). The laptop is running Windows 8 and there have been no previous Flowcode installs. For completeness, I'm using a Pickit3 as the programmer.

I intend to do the same with Flowcode v5 as I have some legacy programs that require that version.

Please suggest how I might solve the problem.

Thanks in advance.

Error text is:

Registered to: HXXXXXXXXXXX
Licence key: XXXXX
http://www.matrixtsl.com
Launching the compiler...
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\pic\boostc\boostc_18F.exe -v -t PIC18F46K22 "18F46K22_OK.c"
Launching BoostC...
BoostC Optimizing C Compiler Version 7.20 (for PIC18 architecture)
http://www.sourceboost.com
Copyright(C) 2004-2013 Pavel Baranov
Copyright(C) 2004-2013 David Hobday

Compiler can not be started without a host program (code 120)

...
Completed BoostC compilation, return = 120

C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\pic\boostc\boostc_18F.exe reported error code 120


FINISHED

Hi Mark,
i try in first time the same, and after reboot the pc only 8 bit makes fail, after install Benj Pic18 updates is all ok.
so i post, what i have done :

try to reboot pc after install and activate is complet.
load the same project and try to compile.
is the errorcode the same - then can it be the firewall blocks
is the errorcode 1
have you install the 8 bit patch from benj ( thread top )

http://www.matrixtsl.com/mmforums/viewt ... 949#p60902

try this.
perhabs this solved your*s.
best wishes
rudi
;-)

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by Benj »

H Mark,
The laptop is running Windows 8
You have my sympathies :D something about a barge pole comes to mind!
Compiler can not be started without a host program (code 120)
This is BoostC saying that it thinks it is not licensed, try as Rudi suggests restarting your computer and hopefully the problem should go away. We are looking into a better way of fixing this issue long term.

Let us know how you get on.

Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Solved: Lokal String bug with USB Serial

Post by Rudi »

LeighM wrote:The issue was that the USB Serial Send String expected a null terminated string.
In your test, with the string length and buffer size being the same (3), then the output was overrunning.
I’ve now fixed this and attached an updated USB Serial component.

Leigh
Hi Leigh, hi MM Stuff,

it works like clockwork

Solved!

Best wishes!
Rudi
;-)

Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

No Hurry, only Cosmetic Issues as Info

Post by Rudi »

No Hurry
Hi
At Project Properties the Window zooms not right.
I add a pic.
I hope this declare the Issues.
Best wishes!
Rudi
;-)

Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

No Hurry, Cosmetic/technical Issues lokal Variable Array Siz

Post by Rudi »

No Hurry, Only Info - Cosmetic / little Technical Issues in Inserting variables in all icons

This only in Lokal Variable.
If set a lokal Variable as String like incom[3]
the local variable .incom will be inserted in Icons with ArraySize like this .incom[3]
i add a pic, i hope this declare the issues.

btw:
this will be a fine future in Char so the cursour is at begin the Digi for change the digi like the global "byte variable as Array" with IntIncom[] but this is only in lokal variable. ( other pic this is fine perhaps you can change in local variable too )
The String Variable as Global is ok - as lokal the array size is inserted too.

Best wishes
Rudi
;-)

Mark
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:46 am
Location: Bakewell, UK
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by Mark »

Thanks guys.

Yes, problem with error 120 solved with a restart.

I suggest forcing a restart after install as many programs do not require restart these days.

Barge pole and Windows 8, Yes, I mistakenly installed the Windows 8.1 update. Not so much an update as yet another way of working. It insisted that I now log into my own computer using Microsofts own log in, good job I had the details on another PC as it refused to do anything without logging into a microsoft account.

One request : FVv6 when sending a compiled program to a chip (this chip icon on the top row) always does a complete recompile. I find this cumbersome as it is not required by v5 and I often forget some minor issue, cable power etc. and it only checks this at the very end, leaving me to waste 2 or 3 minutes after recalling a particulat project requires power off to program etc.

Anyway, I am getting to rather like FCv6.

ps can I configure it to start with the screens as I left them on shutdown? rather than have to tidy up the screens I want on every start?

Thanks,

Mark
Go with the Flow.

Roy Johnston
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:38 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by Roy Johnston »

i had a prog working perfectly on 6.0.7
after upgrade I cannot receive or send data from my vb application via the usb slave


Dim lRetVal As Long
Dim bDataOut(0 To 25) As Byte
Dim bDataIn(0 To 25) As Byte
Dim nTxDataCnt As Long
Dim nRxDataCnt As Long
Dim sID(0 To 20) As Byte
Dim dig0
Dim y As Long
Dim x As Long
Dim Z As Long
Dim Humidity As Single
Dim dry As Double
Dim Wet As Double
Dim wetbulb As Double
Dim room1temp
Dim room1humidity
Dim room2temp



sID(0) = Asc("v")
sID(1) = Asc("i")
sID(2) = Asc("d")
sID(3) = Asc("_")
sID(4) = Asc("1")
sID(5) = Asc("2")
sID(6) = Asc("b")
sID(7) = Asc("f")
sID(8) = Asc("&")
sID(9) = Asc("p")
sID(10) = Asc("i")
sID(11) = Asc("d")
sID(12) = Asc("_")
sID(13) = Asc("f")
sID(14) = Asc("f")
sID(15) = Asc("0")
sID(16) = Asc("5")
sID(17) = 0


Me.Humidity = Me.Cub_Room__1_Humidity & " %"

'Cub Room 1 temp

If Me.Cub_Room__1_dry < Me.room1temp Then
room1temp = 1
Else
room1temp = 0
End If


'Cub Room 2 temp

If Me.Cub_Room__2_dry < Me.room2_temp Then
room2temp = 1
Else
room2temp = 0
End If

'Cub Room 1 humidity

If Me.Cub_Room__1_Humidity < Me.room1humidity Then
room1humidity = 1
Else
room1humidity = 0
End If

'delay room 1 temp

If Me.room1on = -1 Then
If room1temp = 1 Then
If Me.room1tempcnt > 20 Then
Me.[Cub_Room _1_heater] = 1
Else
Me.room1tempcnt = Me.room1tempcnt + 1
End If
Else
Me.room1tempcnt = 0
Me.[Cub_Room _1_heater] = 0
End If
Else
Me.room1tempcnt = 0
Me.[Cub_Room _1_heater] = 0
End If

'delay room 1 temp
If Me.room1on = -1 Then
If room1humidity = 1 Then
If Me.room1humiditycnt > 20 Then
Me.[Cub_Room _1_humidifier] = 1
Else
Me.room1humiditycnt = Me.room1humiditycnt + 1
End If
Else
Me.room1humiditycnt = 0
Me.[Cub_Room _1_humidifier] = 0
End If
Else
Me.room1humiditycnt = 0
Me.[Cub_Room _1_humidifier] = 0
End If

'delay room 2 temp
If Me.room2on = -1 Then
If room2temp = 1 Then
If Me.room2tempcnt > 20 Then
Me.[Cub_Room _2_heater] = 1
Else
Me.room2tempcnt = Me.room2tempcnt + 1
End If
Else
Me.room2tempcnt = 0
Me.[Cub_Room _2_heater] = 0
End If
Else
Me.room2tempcnt = 0
Me.[Cub_Room _2_heater] = 0
End If




dig0 = 0
If Me.[Cub_Room _1_heater] = 1 Then dig0 = dig0 Or &H1
If Me.[Cub_Room _1_humidifier] = 1 Then dig0 = dig0 Or &H2
If Me.[Cub_Room _2_heater] = 1 Then dig0 = dig0 Or &H4

If Me.[Cub_Room _1_heater] = 1 Then
Me.led1.BackColor = 42495
Else
Me.led1.BackColor = (vbBlack)
End If
If Me.[Cub_Room _1_humidifier] = 1 Then
Me.led2.BackColor = 42495
Else
Me.led2.BackColor = (vbBlack)
End If

If Me.[Cub_Room _2_heater] = 1 Then
Me.led3.BackColor = 42495
Else
Me.led3.BackColor = (vbBlack)
End If

bDataOut(0) = dig0

lRetVal = ECIO_Open(0, sID(0))
lRetVal = ECIO_Transmit(bDataOut(0), 1, nTxDataCnt, bDataIn(0), 3, nRxDataCnt, 200)
ECIO_Close
Me.Cub_Room__1_dry = round((bDataIn(0) / 2.2), 1)
wetbulb = round((bDataIn(1) / 2.2), 1)
Me.Cub_Room__2_dry = round((bDataIn(2) / 2.2), 1)

If wetbulb > Me.Cub_Room__1_dry Then wetbulb = Me.Cub_Room__1_dry
dry = Me.Cub_Room__1_dry
Wet = wetbulb
Humidity = computeByWB(dry, Wet)
Me.Cub_Room__1_Humidity = round(IIf(Humidity > 1, "1", IIf(Humidity < 0, "0", Humidity)) * 100, 0)
Attachments
Cub_Room.fcfx
(17.15 KiB) Downloaded 189 times

Rudi
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:59 am
Has thanked: 493 times
Been thanked: 187 times

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by Rudi »

Roy Johnston wrote:i had a prog working perfectly on 6.0.7
after upgrade I cannot receive or send data from my vb application via the usb slave
Hi Roy,
you use a 18F?
have you install the 8 bit patch from benj ( thread top ) this helped me in USB Serial too.
http://www.matrixtsl.com/mmforums/viewt ... 949#p60902
try this. perhabs this solved your*s.
best wishes
rudi
;-)

Roy Johnston
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:38 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by Roy Johnston »

tried that did not work,
I am using a 18f4550, in that download I did not see a 18f4550 file, however I did copy it into the directory,
to no avail

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by Benj »

Hi Roy,

The FCD fixes only apply to the 28 pin devices so you should be ok. Leigh posted a working fix for the USB stack here if this helps.

http://www.matrixtsl.com/mmforums/viewt ... 991#p60933

Let me know how you get on.

Roy Johnston
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:38 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by Roy Johnston »

Sorry it does not work
I am using usb slave not serial.
if I reinstall 6.0.7 it works

Roy Johnston
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:38 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by Roy Johnston »

i reinstalled ver 6.0.7 ( using the repair option) without uninstalling 6.0.9,
it now works.
if I look at the installed version in help, about it still shows ver 6.0.9.0 installed

GTF
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 52 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by GTF »

I can no longer compile to hex after installing the 6.09 patch. License info is now showing only "Home" Version, whereas it should be "Professional."

Compiler Messages:

Registered to: XXXXXXXXXX
Licence key: XXXXXX

NOT FOR COMMERCIAL USE
http://www.matrixtsl.com
Launching the compiler...
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode 6\compilers\pic\boostc\boostc_18f.exe -v -t PIC18F14K50 "HJ03062014.c"
You do not have a valid license to perform this action
FINISHED

kersing
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 2045
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 553 times
Been thanked: 1081 times
Contact:

Re: Flowcode v6.0.9 Live

Post by kersing »

After you activate again the correct license should be available.
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”

― C.S. Lewis

Post Reply