Is LIN component LIN 2.0 Compliant ?

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 6.

Moderator: Benj

User avatar
Jay Dee
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:42 pm
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 135 times
Contact:

Is LIN component LIN 2.0 Compliant ?

Postby Jay Dee » Tue Apr 21, 2015 6:22 pm

Hi guys,
A last minute project dropped on my desk at the start of this week..Send LIN control signal to a vehicle wiper motor (Bosch WDA)...looked pretty easy :lol:
I have a LIN analyser running to monitor traffic and test responses etc.. the Target Motor is LIN 2.0
Using the Microchip MCP2003 LIN transceiver which is also LIN 2.0

However I think FlowCodeV6 is LIN 1.3? I'm trying to confirm the differences but a Microchip doc states that a LIN 1.3 Master cannot command a 2.0 Slave... Gutted!
As I am using the micro-controller and transceiver as the Master.. does anyone have experience with making this work with LIN 2.0 ?
Any help appreciated, thanks, J.

User avatar
Jay Dee
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:42 pm
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 135 times
Contact:

Re: Is LIN component LIN 2.0 Compliant ?

Postby Jay Dee » Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:00 pm

The guys at VECTOR outline the differences between LIN 1.3 and LIN 2.1 as;
>Better Dynamic Configuration of LIN Slaves
With the introduction of the new LIN 2.1 "Assign frame ID range" service, up to four protected identifiers (PIDs) can now be assigned to a LIN Slave using a single configuration command.
>LIN Slave Diagnostics Divided into Three Classes (I, II, III)
Now, diagnostic classes explicitly define the features of the supported diagnostic services. In order to support segmented diagnostic requests and responses, LIN Slaves with diagnostic classes II and III now provide a LIN transport protocol.
>Updated LIN Application Programming Interface (API)
the application now has access to the current communication status (Sleep / Awake) of the LIN cluster, which dramatically simplifies the integration of the LIN transceiver.
>Support for Legacy Slave Devices
It is possible to use LIN 2.1-based control units together with previous versions. LIN 1.3 / 2.0 Slaves communicate seamlessly with a LIN 2.1 Master. If dynamic configuration is not required, a LIN 2.1 Slave can interact with a LIN 2.0 Master.
>LIN Transport Protocol
supports the transmission of functional requests such as "Tester Present". Functional requests received by the LIN Master on the backbone bus are forwarded to the LIN cluster and its respective LIN Slaves.
>Updated LIN Description and Node Configuration File Formats (LDF / NCF)
In order to support the new functions, the LDF and NCF exchange formats needed to be revised by the LIN consortium.

I found the specification for the lastest and greatest LIN specification but somewhat beyond me to identify and then implement the required changes in FC.. :(

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4404 times
Been thanked: 4128 times
Contact:

Re: Is LIN component LIN 2.0 Compliant ?

Postby Benj » Wed Apr 22, 2015 10:20 am

Hello,

LIN is currently known to have issues. We are doing professional services work to get it fully functional on AVR. This now functions but is giving some strange errors on a expensive analyser so we need to get to the bottom of the issue.

LIN in Flowcode v5 was 1.3 compliant but again had problems.

For the work in v6 I have updated the components to LIN 2.0 however other than the current AVR running at a specific speed (8MHz) I think you will have big problems using the component.

We can look at adding PIC to be properly supported if this is a priority.

User avatar
Jay Dee
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:42 pm
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 135 times
Contact:

Re: Is LIN component LIN 2.0 Compliant ?

Postby Jay Dee » Wed Apr 22, 2015 10:36 am

Hi Ben,
Once you guys have resolved the issues, porting it to PIC would be great.
Unfortunately most bits we are seeing are now LIN 2.0 (I see the official spec is now at 2.2!).
I have a clunky alternative with limited functionality available, I think this is our best option for the immediate future.
I would however really like to re-visit this in a couple of months and do a propper CAN to LIN 2.0 for our project, so really hope you guys can knock out the issues with the LIN component.
regards, John.
These users thanked the author Jay Dee for the post:
Benj (Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:07 am)
Rating: 5.26%
 

User avatar
Jay Dee
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:42 pm
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 135 times
Contact:

Re: Is LIN component LIN 2.0 Compliant ?

Postby Jay Dee » Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:12 am

Hi Ben, just to conclude, it not super urgent as I have a possible alternative shipping from OZ but would be good if it could be sequenced in somewhen in next month or so.. :D
In yesterdays testing I also noted some unusual behaviour using both a Peak Pro Analyser, Aglilent scope and Kvaser etc so kinda threw all of the toys at it, haha!

User avatar
Jay Dee
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:42 pm
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 135 times
Contact:

Re: Is LIN component LIN 2.0 Compliant ?

Postby Jay Dee » Wed Nov 25, 2015 1:12 pm

Hi Ben,
Did you ever get any further with porting the new LIN code to the PIC?
My customer would like to look again at the LIN project we poked at earlier this year so any progress would be great.
regards, John.