Add option to send break to RS232 component

Please add any feature requests for Flowcode version 6 here

Moderator: Benj

Forum rules
Only feature requests will be considered here. General questions should not be posted in this forum.
kersing
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1873
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 530 times
Been thanked: 1040 times
Contact:

Add option to send break to RS232 component

Postby kersing » Sun Nov 29, 2015 8:47 pm

The current RS232 component does not have a macro to send a break to the output. It would be useful if this feature could be added.
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”

― C.S. Lewis

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14223
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4363 times
Been thanked: 4096 times
Contact:

Re: Add option to send break to RS232 component

Postby Benj » Tue Dec 01, 2015 6:57 pm

Hi Jac,

Would the break simply output low for a period greater then a byte period? e.g. so the stop bit is not detected.

kersing
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1873
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 530 times
Been thanked: 1040 times
Contact:

Re: Add option to send break to RS232 component

Postby kersing » Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 pm

Benj wrote:Would the break simply output low for a period greater then a byte period? e.g. so the stop bit is not detected.


Yes, to quote from the dsPIC33EP256MU806 datasheet:
UTXBRK: UARTx Transmit Break bit
1 = Sends Sync Break on next transmission – Start bit, followed by twelve ‘0’ bits, followed by Stop bit;
cleared by hardware upon completion


Of course different controllers use different registers/bits so it would be nice if it could be included in the component.

Some Microchip controllers like the 18F2X/45K50 series use break for auto baud or even "Auto-Wake-up on Break" (page 275 of the data sheet). The mechanism relies on the driving controller being able to send the break...
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”

― C.S. Lewis

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14223
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4363 times
Been thanked: 4096 times
Contact:

Re: Add option to send break to RS232 component

Postby Benj » Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:07 pm

Hi Jac,

Ok so it's something that some chips support in hardware. It certainly looks possible so I'll get it on the list and try and have a go next time I get a min. Should be easy to do with the software mode and would also come in handy for LIN based comms. We currently have an intern working for us on the compiler conversion and the PIC32 chip pack so maybe I could divert him for half a day or so to investigate.

AutoBaud would be another good feature but I would have to think about this one.
These users thanked the author Benj for the post:
kersing (Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:27 pm)
Rating: 5.26%