Using the ESP8266 examples

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 6.

Moderator: Benj

chipfryer27
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:53 pm
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 63 times
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP8266 examples

Postby chipfryer27 » Mon May 23, 2016 7:45 pm

Hi Rudi

Echo on or off makes no difference.

I can monitor both Tx and Rx on the ESP / uC so I can see what goes in and what comes out. Once the ClientConnect (for example) is issued, the Flowcode Macro itself is looking to see the ESP reply with "Linked".

If you look in the "C", you will find around line 1447 FCL_DONE = FCD_08181_WLAN_ESP8266__CheckForData("Linked", 7);

So unless the ESP sends "Linked" to the uC, then the program halts until timeout.

Regards

kersing
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1873
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 530 times
Been thanked: 1040 times
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP8266 examples

Postby kersing » Mon May 23, 2016 10:52 pm

Could you try attached component where you are able to change the response to expect in the properties? (Set the responses your firmware provides in the items below ESP Responses)
Attachments
WLAN_ESP8266.fcpx
(16.44 KiB) Downloaded 235 times
These users thanked the author kersing for the post (total 3):
chipfryer27 (Mon May 23, 2016 10:59 pm) • LeighM (Tue May 24, 2016 8:28 am) • Rudi (Tue May 24, 2016 10:05 am)
Rating: 15.79%
 
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”

― C.S. Lewis

chipfryer27
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:53 pm
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 63 times
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP8266 examples

Postby chipfryer27 » Mon May 23, 2016 10:58 pm

Hi Kersing

I will give it a try and let you know.

Many thanks.

chipfryer27
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:53 pm
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 63 times
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP8266 examples

Postby chipfryer27 » Tue May 24, 2016 7:37 am

Hi Kersing

I moved my original component to a different directory before downloading yours and restarting Flowcode.

However when I add in a new Component Macro and select ClientConnect I don't see any options in properties to select a response, just the same parameters as normal.

Am I doing something wrong?

Regards

kersing
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1873
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 530 times
Been thanked: 1040 times
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP8266 examples

Postby kersing » Tue May 24, 2016 9:36 am

The response strings are located in the component properties.
These users thanked the author kersing for the post:
chipfryer27 (Tue May 24, 2016 10:02 am)
Rating: 5.26%
 
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”

― C.S. Lewis

chipfryer27
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:53 pm
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 63 times
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP8266 examples

Postby chipfryer27 » Tue May 24, 2016 10:01 am

Hi Kersing

They are indeed, sorry for the confusion.

I am very pleased to say that I am able to change the expected response and the circuit ran without issue first time (and on a number of repeats too).

I set in component properties:-
ESP_CON_TO_SSID_CONFIRM = WIFI CONNECTED
ESP_CLIENT_CONNECTED = CONNECT

Many, many thanks for your help, it is very much appreciated.

Regards
These users thanked the author chipfryer27 for the post:
Rudi (Tue May 24, 2016 10:05 am)
Rating: 5.26%
 

MJU
Posts: 429
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:51 pm
Location: Antwerp Belgium
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 94 times
Contact:

Re: Using the ESP8266 examples

Postby MJU » Thu Jul 14, 2016 12:25 am

I'm using the Matrix-Wiki ESP8266 TCP-Client example and I got it working with only one problem....

It seems to connect to the Matrix website and I can see on my logic analyser that the content of the test-file is being transferred.
But, the strange thing is that after issuing the request for the text file, I see the data appear on my logic analyser, but, the LCD doesn't get erased and the "Done" is shown on my LCD.

In my opinion, if the TCP request is send the LCD should always get erased??

Strange because the "Done" at the end appears and the "Connecting.." is still on the display.