Help on a circuit

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

QMESAR
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Help on a circuit

Post by QMESAR »

Hi All.

I apologize as this is not a programming issue directly however I am sure here is very experienced Hardware people and I am asking a bit of help on a transistor circuit.
I need to handle on a machine an emergency stop button which is wired to a 24V supply ,I was thinking to use a transistor inverted signal to the mcu pin
however this has brought 2 questions to my mind

(1) What is the easiest way to calculate the value of the base resistor?
(2) can this circuit be improved to handle reverse polarity condition ?

I do apologize for this elementary questions :oops: I am no hardware developer and I want to make sure that what I am doing is ok and safe I will appreciate any help and any other suggestion to handle the emergency stop button

Many thanks :D
Attachments
1.JPG
1.JPG (11.79 KiB) Viewed 5068 times

Steve001
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Re: Help on a circuit

Post by Steve001 »

Hi Peter

Looking at a bog standard BC107 for example

http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/16619 ... 1485678472

Working on worst case scenarios

The information shows that this has a minimum current gain of 40 (hfe)
Using your 10K collector resistor

I= V/R
I= 5/10000
I= 0.5 mA

You can calculate Ib now

Ib=Ic/hfe
Ib=0.0005/40
Ib= 0.0000125
Ib= 0.0000125= 0.0125 mA

R= V/I
R= 24/0.0000125
R= 2.4 MΩ

this is how i do it there are other ways to do base biasing using a potential divider this helps the issues with the differences with the transistors hfe range.
Because the input is 24 volts i would use an opto because of the large size of base resistor and also the voltage level.

there is this too may help

http://www.nutsvolts.com/magazine/artic ... ook_part_1

to handle the reverse polarity is this the transistor base ?