16F723 vs 16F723A

For questions and comments on programming in general. And for any items that don't fit into the forums below.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
rondesgr
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 2:03 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

16F723 vs 16F723A

Post by rondesgr »

1) In setting up my first Flowcode4 project, I noticed I can select a PIC16F723 but not the 'A' version. Will this make a difference when I do a final compile for the 16F723A?

2) How can I determine if my Flowcode is going to be bigger than the memory limits of chip?

thank you for your time and attention,
Ron

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: 16F723 vs 16F723A

Post by medelec35 »

Hello rondesgr
When you compile your Flowchart to Hex or Chip,
Flowcode will display a 'Memory Usage Report'

Here are two examples. First report, there is just enough memory on the Chip.
Second report is when I have added a few extra Icons and gone over the memory capacity of the chip.
Example 1.

Code: Select all

Building CASM file

Memory Usage Report

===================

RAM available:128 bytes, used:123 bytes (96.1%), free:5 bytes (3.9%), 

Heap size:5 bytes, Heap max single alloc:4 bytes

ROM available:2048 words, used:1910 words (93.3%), free:138 words (6.7%)

success

Return code = 0

FINISHED
Example 2.

Code: Select all

Building CASM file
Memory Usage Report
===================
RAM available:128 bytes, used:123 bytes (96.1%), free:5 bytes (3.9%), 
Heap size:5 bytes, Heap max single alloc:4 bytes
ROM available:2048 words, used:2107 words (102.8%), free:-59 words (-2.-8%)
Too much code to fit in ROM, overfilled by:59 locations.
failure

Return code = -2

Flowcode was unable to assemble the ASM file due to the following errors:

FINISHED
If you just compile to hex, this can be done without having any target devices.
You than see how much memory the software takes up, so you can make your decision on what chip to buy.
Martin

rondesgr
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 2:03 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: 16F723 vs 16F723A

Post by rondesgr »

Thank you! Those reports will help immensely!

Do you know if there are any issues with compiling to an actual 16F723A with 16F723 selected as the target?

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: 16F723 vs 16F723A

Post by medelec35 »

Yes there is a problem when compiling to 16F723. Take a look here:
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 79&p=19250
If you have any problems compiling, then support is there to help you.
Martin

Post Reply