somthing gone wrong but don't know what

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 4.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 4 or higher. To sign up for this forum topic please use the "Online Resources" link in the Flowcode Help Menu.

Moderator: Benj

User avatar
Steve001
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
Has thanked: 453 times
Been thanked: 505 times
Contact:

somthing gone wrong but don't know what

Postby Steve001 » Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:36 pm

evening all,

can somone have a look at this please as i cannot see whats wrong :-(

done a simple flowchart to test as i am having problems, and that not working now. . . getting config word 1 & 2 errors
Have use this chip several times and have tried stuff that i know works and still get errors .
As this chip has been errased and programed many times now 20 - 30 times ish could it be damaged ?

Why dose simple chip set up return a different chip to the expert screen ? i am using a PIC16F884I/P

i also get an error "could not ID chip " and why when i go back to chip setup dose it revert back to RC when xtal is set ?


steve
Attachments
Flowcode3.fcf
(4.5 KiB) Downloaded 107 times
Capture001.JPG
(206.8 KiB) Downloaded 826 times
Capture.JPG
(122.46 KiB) Downloaded 826 times
Last edited by Steve001 on Sun Jun 19, 2011 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8541
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2456 times
Been thanked: 3526 times
Contact:

Re: somthing gone wrong but don't know what

Postby medelec35 » Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:46 pm

I did state some things that could cause that type of communications issue here:
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=7821&p=20917#p20917
Have you tried just unplugging and re-plugging in USB lead to programmer?

Martin
These users thanked the author medelec35 for the post:
Steve001 (Sun Jun 19, 2011 2:34 pm)
Rating: 5.26%
 
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

User avatar
Steve001
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
Has thanked: 453 times
Been thanked: 505 times
Contact:

Re: somthing gone wrong but don't know what

Postby Steve001 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 2:34 pm

hi, martin

have tried that and unplugging the jumpers and replacing them.and tried to program with my programmer not pluged i and recived
usb lead not plugged in message (which i would expect or somthing simmlier)
noticed today that when i hit program LED2 flashes ? (not noticed this before) looking at the circuit diagram this is across the 5v after Q3 .
the regualtor is also very hot . . :( hot enough to be too hot to touch !
is this a red herring am i barking up the wrong tree ?
have got 14.76 volts from psu to plug
anybody any ideas . going to have another look later

steve
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8541
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2456 times
Been thanked: 3526 times
Contact:

Re: somthing gone wrong but don't know what

Postby medelec35 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 3:16 pm

How about you measure the 5V supply.
Can you measure the 5V with the chip connected, then again with every thing else disconnected including chip, LCD etc.
If the regulator is getting that hot, then something is drawing excessive current.
If nothing else is plugged in and 5V is low and regulator is getting hot, then programming board sounds faulty.
You will probably find another component on the board is also getting very hot?
If Voltage goes to normal, and reg stops getting hot with chip and other peripherals unplugged then you can find out whats causing the overheating
By process of elimination.

Martin
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

jgu1
Posts: 1128
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1042 times
Been thanked: 277 times
Contact:

Re: somthing gone wrong but don't know what

Postby jgu1 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 4:19 pm

Hi!

It looks like just the mistake I did. Try before you compile to the Pic remove your display (hardware) from EB006. I did and it worked. I do this every time.
When the compiling is finish connect the display again and press the resetbuttom on EB006.

regard

jgu1

User avatar
Steve001
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
Has thanked: 453 times
Been thanked: 505 times
Contact:

Re: somthing gone wrong but don't know what

Postby Steve001 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 7:57 pm

just had a quick look at my programmer pcb .

powered it up on its own ( No eblocks or chip fitted ) LED2 still flashes the 5 volts is doing what the led does.
going to have a look when i get more time this week. will let you know what i find .

Thanks for your help guys

steve
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.

User avatar
Steve001
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 pm
Has thanked: 453 times
Been thanked: 505 times
Contact:

Re: somthing gone wrong but don't know what

Postby Steve001 » Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:30 pm

found programmer pcb to be faulty, just waiting for new one then i can go again :D

steve
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.