ZIF socket for E-blocks2 device Programmer boards ?

For E-blocks user to discuss using E-blocks and programming for them.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

DeeJayOne
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 7:43 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

ZIF socket for E-blocks2 device Programmer boards ?

Postby DeeJayOne » Fri May 01, 2020 4:34 pm

Hi everyone ! :)

I'm asking if E-blocks2 Programmer boards have a embedded ZIF socket or not.
It seems that my eyes don't see it on the pictures, so I have tried to find it in the "accessories section" but without any success.

I have finally found this item : EB072 - ZIF socket programmer adaptor
https://www.matrixtsl.com/webshop/zif-socket-programmer-adaptor.html
That's great ! this is exactly that I would like to find.

But there is a little problem, this item is a discontinued product
It seems that it was maybe for E-blocks1 products.

So I'm always asking if there is a way to add a ZIF socket for E-blocks2 PIC Programmer boards ?
Windows 10.0.18362.778
Flowcode v8.2.2.15 (2020-02-28)

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2553 times
Been thanked: 3712 times
Contact:

Re: ZIF socket for E-blocks2 device Programmer boards ?

Postby medelec35 » Fri May 01, 2020 5:11 pm

DeeJayOne wrote:I'm asking if E-blocks2 Programmer boards have a embedded ZIF socket or not.

No it does not, it just has Dip sockets.
Is there a specific reason e.g only for programming multiple chips or to use with other E-blocks2 to plug in to the ports of the multiprogrammer?
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

DeeJayOne
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 7:43 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: ZIF socket for E-blocks2 device Programmer boards ?

Postby DeeJayOne » Fri May 01, 2020 5:38 pm

medelec35 wrote:
DeeJayOne wrote:I'm asking if E-blocks2 Programmer boards have a embedded ZIF socket or not.

No it does not, it just has Dip sockets.
Is there a specific reason e.g only for programming multiple chips or to use with other E-blocks2 to plug in to the ports of the multiprogrammer?


In my case, it would be for programming multiple chips.
Windows 10.0.18362.778
Flowcode v8.2.2.15 (2020-02-28)

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8809
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2553 times
Been thanked: 3712 times
Contact:

Re: ZIF socket for E-blocks2 device Programmer boards ?

Postby medelec35 » Fri May 01, 2020 5:53 pm

The only way I can think of is uses something like PIC-Programmer-Universal-Adapter-board-ZIF-socket Not purchased one, so can't recomend seller.
Use dupont male to female wires to connect from one if the DIP sockets on programming board to the ZIF socket.
Note: While using the zif socket you won't be able use if to communicate with the programmers ports.

The alternative is just to see if a ZIF will fit in the DIP socket, perhaps someone with both will be able to answer?
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.