Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

For E-blocks user to discuss using E-blocks and programming for them.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

simsto
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by simsto »

Hello,

I'am using the GSM-Module EB066 with a PIC18F4455. I inserted a Prepaid-Card from klarmobil.de. The status led is flashing every second (I assume that the module cannot connect to the gsm network.). The jumper settings are B and 1.
I've attached the following file:
GSM.fcf
(7 KiB) Downloaded 979 times
It is possible to program the chip one time. The code does not work. After that it is not possible to program the chip. I have to power off for a while and can program the chip again.

I do not see any solution.
Thanks in advance.

Best regards
Simon

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 716 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by JohnCrow »

Hi
I have attached a couple of my gsm test programs.
These were tested on Virgin Mobile Pay As You Go Sim
Network Test.fcf
Network Test
(7.5 KiB) Downloaded 944 times
Receive Simple Text Message.fcf
RX Text Message
(7.5 KiB) Downloaded 1013 times
Hope the are helpful

I use the format +447712345678 for the phone number in my gsm programs

Have a look at my GSM control article
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/article.php?a=504
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

simsto
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by simsto »

Hello John,

thank you very much. My board is working now.

But there is still the problem I mentioned in my first post. I can only program the chip one time. After that, I have to turn off the board and on again to be able to program the chip.

I have never had this problem until I have connected the GSM Board.

Thanks in advance.

Best regards
Simon

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 716 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by JohnCrow »

Hi Simon

Hmm that is a strange problem.
Ive not had anything like that with the GSM board.
Is it only with the GSM board attached, or is it doing it all the time now?


A couple of suggestions.
1) Have you checked to see if anything on the boards is getting hot (or hotter than they should be)
2) Does your power supply have enough current to run the system continuously. (I use the Matrix PSU which is fine)
3) Have you tried another 18F4455 chip
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

simsto
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by simsto »

Hello John,

unfortunately none of your suggestions match.
JohnCrow wrote:Hi Simon

Hmm that is a strange problem.
Ive not had anything like that with the GSM board.
Is it only with the GSM board attached, or is it doing it all the time now?


A couple of suggestions.
1) Have you checked to see if anything on the boards is getting hot (or hotter than they should be)
All parts feel normal. I did not found any hot spot.
2) Does your power supply have enough current to run the system continuously. (I use the Matrix PSU which is fine)
I have only used several Matrix PSU. Everthing the same.
3) Have you tried another 18F4455 chip
I have tried with 3 different 18F4455 mounted on 3 different EB006 Multiprogrammerboards.

Perhaps the error messages from PPP can help:
First, I get an error which tells me "Picmicro has not been erased. Continue?". After that I get "Programming failed." and/or "Scheme size is zero or negative".

I have no idea.

User avatar
JohnCrow
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1367
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:21 pm
Location: Lincolnshire
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 716 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by JohnCrow »

Ahh Now :)
Picmicro has not been erased. Continue?". After that I get "Programming failed."
I have seen something similar to this sometimes when Ive been using the EB006 and various e-blocks, though I dont think it was with the GSM board.

Though not seen this error
Scheme size is zero or negative".
I found if I unplugged the e-block while I programmed the chip, then reconnect the e-block to run the program (Don't forget to switch off the programmer before removing and re-connecting the e-block) Everything worked fine.

My thoughts were that it could be related to the e-block using one of the programming lines of the chip at the same time, as it also seemed to be with more complex projects with several e-blocks on the EB-006. So Ive not really been concerned about it.

This was in FC4. I dont think Ive had this with FC5 but, I really cannot remember :(
Be interesting to see the MM guys comments on this.
1 in 10 people understand binary, the other one doesn't !

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3422
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by Steve »

simsto wrote:First, I get an error which tells me "Picmicro has not been erased. Continue?". After that I get "Programming failed." and/or "Scheme size is zero or negative".
I've not seen the latter msg ("Scheme size is zero or negative") before, and it's a little odd that this is display sometimes. Is it a particular chip that causes this message to occur?

As for "PICmicro has not been erased", I would suggest disconnecting the E-blocks while programming - especially those on PORTB. If this does not help, you could try temporarily switching the RC/XTAL switch over to the RC setting which programming the device.

simsto
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by simsto »

Hello Steve,

that was is:
Steve wrote:...I would suggest disconnecting the E-blocks while programming - especially those on PORTB. ...
Thank you.

Could you please help me with my new question?

Is it possible to use the gsm-board and the gps-board at the same time with a PIC18F4455? Or do I have to take a PIC with two USART?

Best regards
Simon

simsto
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by simsto »

Hello,

after a few attempts I have got the example running which John has provided above.
I've build my own example for a 16F877A with 19.660800MHz.
Everthing works fine.
My next try was to put this on a 18F4455 with 4MHz.
It doesn't work as excpected. For example, if I dial the number the green led on the gsm board is lit, but the code is not executed(RD2 should be lit, too.). Receiving a SMS isn't possible, too.
But from time to time it works as expected. Is it a timing issue?
I've attached my Flowcharts.

Thanks in advance.

Best regards
Simon
Attachments
GSM_Test_18F4455.fcf
(11 KiB) Downloaded 718 times
GSM_Test_16F877A.fcf
(10.5 KiB) Downloaded 799 times

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3422
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 114 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by Steve »

To test for a timing issue, just create a simple 1-second LED flashing program with the same config settings (or better still, add some LED flashing code to your existing problem). If you get the LEDs flashing at the expected rate, then you can rule out timing issues.

WDT and LVP are other config settings to be aware of.

simsto
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by simsto »

Hello Steve,

a LED test programm works as expected(1sec on, 1 sec off).
WDT and LVP are disabled.

I am now using the same osc frequency as in my 16F877A project(19660800MHz).
I get the same things like descried above.

Is there maybe a problem with the baud rate? How can i calculate and set the baud rate?

Best regards
Simon

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by Benj »

Hello Simon,

The GSM component will automatically use your clock speed setting in Flowcode to calculate the 9600 baud rate required for the GSM serial connection.

The GSM module can also be interfaced using a RS232 component, for this the appropriate baud settings should be setup in the RS232 component properties.

Do you have a scope or datalogger etc that you can use to confirm the serial baud rate going out of the microcontroller?

simsto
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by simsto »

Hi Benj,

I took a scope and measured the outgoing baud rate. I've attached two screenshots. Both chips(16F877A and 18F45k22) have an 4MHz oscillator. The baud rate seems to be ok.
16F877A:
16F877A_at9600B.jpg
(230.74 KiB) Downloaded 12407 times
18F45k22:
18F45k22_at9600B.jpg
(215.37 KiB) Downloaded 12407 times
So, do you have any idea why the GSM-Board doesn't work with the 18F45k22 or 18F4455 respectively?

Best regards
Simon

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by Benj »

Hi Simon,

I thought maybe the problem might be to do with the flags for the UART receive interrupt but looking through the code and the definitions for the devices you mentioned everything seems to be ok.

Can you narrow it down to a specific function. Eg you could maybe start testing using the RS232 component to send out the string "AT" followed by a carriage return decimal 13.

From sending this out you should get back "OK" from the GSM module.

If this works ok then maybe try repeating the process using the GSM Send Command and Get Response functions.

simsto
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by simsto »

Hi Benj,

my problem is solved now. It was my own impatience. :oops:

I've called the initialize-function at the beginning of my programs but I've paid no attention to the return value. My programms ran into the following code and this could not be working right. I viewed the flowcode help but there is no talking about a return value (void is given). So I've never mentioned to look at. But after reviewing the code of the function, I've recognized that there are return values.
Now I am doing a loop until the GSM board is initialized and everything is ok.

Thanks to the members above. The given information improved my knowledge.

There is just one thing according to my other topic "Using GPS Module on USART2". When I was first using gsm and gps together, i've got compiler errors. The compiler says "variable tst already exists". Both c-codefiles (PIC_gps.c and PIC_gsm.c) use a variable which is called tst. I have renamed this in one file and it works. Possibly this problem could be wiped out in further releases!?

Best regards
Simon

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by Benj »

Hi Simon,

That's great glad its working for you now and many thanks for letting us know.

I will see if I can get the help file updated and also get rid of the problem regarding the multiple instances of the same variable for the next release.

There is another variable called in, did you have any problems with this?

Edit I have made the changes and also found the same tst problem in the WLAN component. All fixed now for the next release.

simsto
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by simsto »

Hi Benj,

that's fine.

The compiler doesnt't throw an error due to the variable in.

By the way: Will Flowcode v4 get new updates or is there no more maintenance for it anymore?

Thanks for your help and have a nice weekend.

Best regards
Simon

awaisnaz
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by awaisnaz »

HI Simon,

I read your posts at Matrix multimedia. I wanted to know if you had successfully run both of gps and gsm modules on either PIC18F45K22 or PIC18F4455.

I had used PIC18F2550 but it either runs gps (any baud rate) or gsm (any baudrate) but when I combine them together, then either of gps or gsm will not work.

your input will be appreciated.

regards,
Awais Nazir

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by Benj »

Hello,

The GPS and GSM components both communicate via the hardware UART on the device. If you need to connect both boards to a single microcontroller then you really need to use a device with multiple UARTs. e.g. the 18F45K22.

You will then need to use code customisation to move one of the components from UART channel 1 to channel 2. Which version of Flowcode are you using?

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by Benj »

Hello,

To anyone having problems with this board please refer to this forum topic.
http://www.matrixmultimedia.com/mmforum ... 48&p=35600

saad.sharif
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:35 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by saad.sharif »

hi john

i want to ask some questions about your network test file you made... i have download that when i click on compile to hex it gives error
as shown below...

please help...!!
Attachments
Screenshot (5).png
(137.66 KiB) Downloaded 9279 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Are you using the latest release of version 5 which is v5.5? You can use the help menu check for updates to see what version your currently using.

saad.sharif
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:35 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by saad.sharif »

sir i am using version 5.1....

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15312
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4803 times
Been thanked: 4314 times
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Ok if you upgrade to v5.5 then this should fix your compile errors.

Let me know how you get on.

Peter Chen
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Using GSM Module EB066 and programming

Post by Peter Chen »

I also met the same problem with you. My gsm board LED flash every one second. For about 5 minutes, it will off which may means that the gsm cannot establish the connection with network. It may not be the sim card problem as the board could extablish the connection when I firstly use it. What worong with it? How I can solve this problem? My folowcode version is 5.4.
Thank you for your answer!

Post Reply