Configuring EB023-2

For E-blocks user to discuss using E-blocks and programming for them.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
leoo
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:43 am
Contact:

Configuring EB023-2

Post by leoo »

Hi,
I am designing an Ethernet to 4 x RS232 device server and I've done all the development using FC7 and the EB023-2 module.

These device servers are going to be installed on customer networks and as such need to be configurable on site by the user/tech. The IP Address, Subnet Mask and possibly the Gateway Address would need to be set on site to match the client's network settings The MAC address would need to be set during QC and Testing in the workshop. It is envisaged that all device configuration would be done via a "TelNet" type Ethernet connection.

The ability to change the IP address already exists within the component. Is there some way that the other settings can also be made user configurable?

Kind regards.
Leo

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14873
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: Configuring EB023-2

Post by Benj »

Hi Leo,

Just investigating this for you now. Looks like it should be possible but you would have to store the overrides in EEPROM and then manually overwrite them in the component on power up after the initialise.

Bear with me and I'll generate you a component with the other values editable.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14873
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: Configuring EB023-2

Post by Benj »

Hi Leo,

Right give this a go and hopefully it will do everything you need it to.

Simply drop the file into your "Flowcode 7/components" folder and restart Flowcode.
TCP_IP_EB023_00_2.fcpx
(23.67 KiB) Downloaded 252 times
Let me know how you get on.

leoo
Flowcode V4 User
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Configuring EB023-2

Post by leoo »

Hi Ben,

I have tested the IP, MAC and Subnet changes on a small test program and they seem to work well. I will check the Gateway change when I'm back at the office.

Thank you very much for resolving this for me.

Kind regards.
Leo

Post Reply