Interface board for Flowcode V8 and above. Now added RTC

Tips, Tricks and methods for programming, learn ways of making your programming life easier, and share your knowledge with others.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 15195
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4761 times
Been thanked: 4296 times
Contact:

Re: Interface board for Flowcode V8 and above. Now added RTC

Post by Benj »

Hello,
But lots of corruption / missing pixels etc. Maybe a speed issue?
I think I might have improved this now, I had a bug in the old WIFI firmware where the value 255 couldn't be received. I've fixed it now and it seems to run faster and more stable. The latest is now available on the Github page. Do you have access to a PICkit programmer to reload the firmware or would you like to return the board to be reflashed?

mnf
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1071
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 11:57 am
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 414 times
Contact:

Re: Interface board for Flowcode V8 and above. Now added RTC

Post by mnf »

Hi Ben,

Thanks I will try it out. I've a little used PicKit3 (or Chinese copy thereof somewhere) - so hopefully I can do this - if not I'll put them back to you...

Martin

mnf
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1071
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 11:57 am
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 414 times
Contact:

Re: Interface board for Flowcode V8 and above. Now added RTC

Post by mnf »

Thanks, that seems to have solved it.

Cloned the repository - think you need to adjust permissions to allow download from the web page?

Soldered on a 5 pin header. Installed mplab and then wrote the hex file. Worked first time! - and a question, if I installed the usb firmware could I use the board in 'usb' mode. Or vice versa with the usb board (after adding a Wi-Fi board too)?

How should I access a pin on the board? Say use 6 and 7 (pwm) as digital outputs..

Is it possible to send a hex file to a pickit without using mplab ?

Martin

kersing
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 2006
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 552 times
Been thanked: 1079 times
Contact:

Re: Interface board for Flowcode V8 and above. Now added RTC

Post by kersing »

Download is an item of the “Code” “button”. Works for me...
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”

― C.S. Lewis

mnf
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1071
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 11:57 am
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 414 times
Contact:

Re: Interface board for Flowcode V8 and above. Now added RTC

Post by mnf »

Ah yes - I see it now.. I was in the 'firmware' directory - and couldn't just download the one file?

Good to get the interface board up and running - can see a lot of potential uses..

One problem I notice - on first running FC - sim works perfectly (display works as should) - subsequent 'runs' don't necessarily work correctly. (For example I just had the display 'invert' instead of clearing) Seems either FC or the interface board don't completely 'reset' between runs. I suspect it's FC - because restarting FC solves the problem with no need to power off the board. This is backed up by the fact that having a flowchart that 'finishes' works aok - whereas a chart that has an infinite loop that needs a manual 'stop' doesn't.

Martin

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9223
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2542 times
Been thanked: 3729 times
Contact:

Re: Interface board for Flowcode V8 and above. Now added RTC

Post by medelec35 »

Hi Martin
mnf wrote:
Mon Oct 12, 2020 9:07 pm
Is it possible to send a hex file to a pickit without using mplab ?
Sent you a PM
Martin

stefan.erni
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 650
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 2:09 pm
Location: switzerland
Has thanked: 182 times
Been thanked: 178 times
Contact:

Re: Interface board for Flowcode V8 and above. Now added RTC

Post by stefan.erni »

Hi Martin, Hi Ben

Wonderful board!
I used the example from the MPU9250 and connected a small demo board from the MPU9250 to the interface board and it worked right away. Now I want to connect my own hardware. I guess it's pretty easy. Is there a circuit diagram of the interface board?

regards

Stefan

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 9223
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2542 times
Been thanked: 3729 times
Contact:

Re: Interface board for Flowcode V8 and above. Now added RTC

Post by medelec35 »

Hi Stefan,
stefan.erni wrote:
Thu Oct 15, 2020 9:10 am
Wonderful board!
I agree, as I keep using that and Eblocks2 as my go-to boards for development.
stefan.erni wrote:
Thu Oct 15, 2020 9:10 am
Is there a circuit diagram of the interface board?
Yes there is, you can read how Ben designed the board here.
Martin

mnf
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1071
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 11:57 am
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 414 times
Contact:

Re: Interface board for Flowcode V8 and above. Now added RTC

Post by mnf »

Just been experimenting with i2c on the interface board.

Can't get it to work reliably - initially I used wi-fi and sometimes results would be correct - other times just 0 returned from i2c reads.
Tried with USB and again sometimes results correct / sometimes not... Reading multiple (128) bytes from i2c - and correct (one or more) results (all 128 bytes) could be followed by (again one or more) incorrect results (all bytes 0).

Tried again using the Uno SCADA slave and all is good - results 100% correct - multiple reads working reliably.

Anyone had success with this - do I need a firmware update? It 'might' be because the sensor board has pullup resistors (as well as the interface board)?


I'm using cal i2c, and the InjectorSCADAI2C (and using FC v9) , and either the SCADA Interface board or Scada (Arduino Uno).

Martin

Post Reply