Variable Voltage Signal using PWM

For MIAC users to discuss projects, applications, and any other issues related to the MIAC unit.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

james87price

Variable Voltage Signal using PWM

Post by james87price »

Hi,

I am fairly new to flowcode and the electronic side of things so please bear with me if my questions are obvious! Couldn't find a straightforward in the forum...

I am trying to control a voltage signal (0-10v) using the transistor outputs and PWM. I understand how to set all the dutycycle properties but can't work out what is going on with the "ChangePeriod" option. What are the limitations with this? Could you give me a quick guide how to set a pwm output up entirely so I can check I am doing it right?

Thanks in advance

Benj
Matrix Staff

Re: Variable Voltage Signal using PWM

Post by Benj »

Hello,

Here is a quick explanation of how the parameters work.

Period Value - This controls the maximum count value of the PWM duty cycle and therefore the overall PWM cycle period. eg if you input a value of 10 then you can have a PWM duty cycle of 0 to 10. This can also be seen in the PWM component properties as the Period Register setting.

Prescaler Value - This controls how many clock cycles are used to determine a single PWM unit. eg for a period of 255 there are essentially 256 multiples of the PWM unit. For most PIC devices prescalers of 1, 4 and 16 are available. Again this setting can be seen in the properties window as the Clock Source setting.

Playing with both these values in the component properties will allow you to see the overall PWM period and frequency values change.

james87price

Post by james87price »

Hi Ben,

I've recently been able to record the PWM signal I am getting from my MIAC. I have been trying to optimise the PWM output which goes to a filter to achieve an analogue signal.