Page 1 of 1

Illegal symbol name

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:26 pm
by Mac
I just upgraded to Flowcode Version 5. To check out the new program, I opened a flowchart that worked well in Version 4.5, all looked good on the screen. I tried to load the flowchart into the PIC18F4550 and got the following failure message.

FlowcodeV5 IRCB 2012-01-16.c
Starting preprocessor: C:\PROGRA~1\Flowcode\v5\Tools\boostc\pp.exe "FlowcodeV5 IRCB 2012-01-16.c" -i C:\PROGRA~1\Flowcode\v5\Tools\boostc\include -d _PIC18F4550 -la -c2 -o "FlowcodeV5 IRCB 2012-01-16.pp" -v -d _BOOSTC -d _PIC18 -d _CHAR_INDEX

C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5\CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_ADC.c(1588): Illegal symbol name: (

1 errors detected
Error: preprocessing error

failure

..Return code = 1
Flowcode was unable to compile the flowchart's C code due to the following errors:

If your flowchart contains C code, please review this carefully. If your flowchart contains no C-code or you have thoroughly reviewed the code, contact Technical Support.

FINISHED

I checked the chip settings and the compiler options. They all looked the same as with Version 4.5. I could not find any reference to "Illegal symbol name" on the forums.
Any and all help is greatly appreciated.
Mac :?

Re: Illegal symbol name

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:41 pm
by JohnCrow
Hi Mac
Can you post you flowchart so someone can have a look at it?

Re: Illegal symbol name

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:13 pm
by JonnyW
The .c code file that has been generated will be good as well.

EDIT: Actually, just noticed where the error is: PIC_CAL_ADC.c Dont worry about the C code (unless its handy), this can be looked into without this.

Jonny

Re: Illegal symbol name

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:22 pm
by JonnyW
Hi. I'm sure someone will be able to add an official fix for this tomorrow, but if you need to get on with your work and this is holding things up:
  • Navigate to the folder with the Flowcode5_PIC.exe in it (C:\Program Files\Flowcode\v5, I think)
  • From there, open the CAL\PIC\PIC_CAL_ADC.c file in a text editor (notepad.exe should be fine)
  • On line 1588 you should see: #ifdef (MX_ADC_BITS_12)
  • Remove the brackets so the line reads: #ifdef MX_ADC_BITS_12
  • Save the file and rebuild your project
Apologies for not posting the fixed file myself, I am on holiday this week so cant guarantee I have the 100% up-to-date file. I wouldnt want to give you and out of date version!

I hope this helps,

Jonny

Re: Illegal symbol name

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:29 pm
by Mac
Thank you Jonny,
I'm reluctant to post the flowchart for proprietory reasons.
Mac

Re: Illegal symbol name

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:40 pm
by Mac
Jonny,
That fixed the loading problem, but now some of the flowchart functions don't work. I'll have to look into it and get back to the forum a little later.
Thanks again.
Mac

Re: Illegal symbol name

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:05 pm
by JonnyW
Hi Mac. No problems. Keep us posted on any issues you find - it is expected that there are some minor issues with the initial release but nothing major that should halt work. Most v4 flowcharts should load and work in v5 no problems but there are always corner cases we have not tested or did not expect. Any issues you do get and report we will sort as quickly as possible.

Jonny

Re: Illegal symbol name

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 2:58 am
by Mac
Hi Jonny,
After you helped me fix the "Illegal symbol name" problem, I noted that some of the hardware functions didn't seem to work properly. I think this subject would best fit in the Re: V5 Upgrade thread, so I'll post it there.
Thanks again, Mac