EB006

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 4.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 4 or higher. To sign up for this forum topic please use the "Online Resources" link in the Flowcode Help Menu.

Moderator: Benj

jgu1
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 275 times
Contact:

EB006

Postby jgu1 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:12 pm

Hi again!

I have long used a PIC 16F876 (28 pins) on my board for testing. The jumpers seem to be configuring correct to use all outputs for this Pic (EB Print) so it fits keyboard, Led output and display. Today I would switch to a Pic16F887 (40 pin) but nothing comes out of the gates. I think it's jumpers should be installed correctly for 40 pin´s, but I have little difficulty in seeing me out of it. Is there someone who can tell or show me how to place them.

My board is an EB006-00-7

In advance many thanks!

Jgu1

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8536
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2456 times
Been thanked: 3525 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby medelec35 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 4:03 pm

Hiya jgu1. You should not need to change any jumpers going from 28 pins to 40 pins.
Most likely cause of your project not working is your configuration settings including your target speed.
Take a look here:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=6936
Make sure you have SW2 on the correct setting.
If still not working post your flowcode if you don't mind sharing it, and we can take a look for you.
Please let us know how you get on.
Thanks
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

User avatar
Dan81
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:07 pm
Location: Albi France
Been thanked: 60 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby Dan81 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 4:29 pm

Hello JGU1

Try 0x2FF2 for the Config 1 word.
and reset after programming

Daniel

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8536
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2456 times
Been thanked: 3525 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby medelec35 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:04 pm

Dan81 wrote:Try 0x2FF2 for the Config 1 word.
Daniel

0x3D72 would be better since 0x2FF2 enables low voltage programming, which would stop something from working that could be using most of port B.
E.g LCD/LED Display or keypad etc
Of course entering config word value is quickest solution.
However I believe it's a good idea to go through all the config options, so can get used to changing them when selecting different target devices.
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

jgu1
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 275 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby jgu1 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:18 pm

Hi Both!

Thank you for your prompt reply. Ok so I should not move any jumpers. I can tell it's for my 4x40 display´project that I have great success with, in 876 but need more ports for ind/out.
I changed only the pic from 876 to 887 but it dosn´t work. After that, I try to make a new testprogam that lit all outputs on and a second later off them again, without succes.

I chose in setup for the testprogram a pic16F887 and the real crystal, but should I cofigurere multiple locations? It seem to be ok when I copile to chip. I attach my test and display program tomorrow.

I must admit the hex values you writing about, I dont understand.

Forecast thanks for your help.
Best regard

Jgu1

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8536
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2456 times
Been thanked: 3525 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby medelec35 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 6:01 pm

Sorry Daniel and JGU1
I did make a mistake. I misread post so selected 16F877 and not 16F887.
Daniel was correct. LVP is not enabled with that config.
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

jgu1
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 275 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby jgu1 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:15 am

Hi Again!

To be sure, I've tried to replace Picén, both for a new 887 and a 877a
and have tried to get in touch with them. But no luck. When I go into configuration and try to autodetect, writes FC "Could not ID the onboard chip." Whether I choose it or not. And I have no opportunity to choose a 887 in Config.
Please, hope you can help me. :?: I have att. my little testprogram.

Best regard.

Jgu1
Attachments
887.fcf
(5.5 KiB) Downloaded 99 times

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8536
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2456 times
Been thanked: 3525 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby medelec35 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:09 am

Could not ID the onboard chip could be down to communications. Either between USB and EB0006 or betwen EB006 and chip it's self. Since you have tried two chips then it could be ICD2/USB jumper not making contact or usb lead is plugged into a different USB port on PC and driver failed to install correctly? With programmer connected, can you see the Matrix PICmicro programmer in the device manager under custom USB Devices? If you can, then either problem with jumper connections, faulty chip or most unlikely faulty hardware but before last option is decided If would be best if matrix staff can confirm this first, just encase I have missed something out. I know this may sound obvious, but is there only one chip on the programmer which is correctly inserted?
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

jgu1
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 275 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby jgu1 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:24 am

Hi Medelec!

I can see when I try to make contact with EB006 Led 1 is flashing and I'm connected via USB port. and if I use a 876, there are no problems. Do you have the opportunity to subscribe for or otherwise show me how the various jumpers must be. And the Pic is placed correctly.

Thank´s

jgu1

jgu1
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 275 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby jgu1 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:30 am

Hello again! :?:

I do not understand what happened, but after having switched around on different types Pic (876,877 and 16F84) and made various test programs, there was suddentlig contact with 877a and no problems with programming it so I suppose it also applies 887th. But of course it's annoying not knowing what was wrong. I have a great suspicion of a bad soldering on the EB006. :?: :?: :P


I apologize for the inconvenience, and hope I can approach me again.

Best regard

jgu1

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8536
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2456 times
Been thanked: 3525 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby medelec35 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:47 am

That’s great! Glad it’s working.
No need to apologise. You had a problem, and then asked for help. Even if you suspect a dry joint and suddenly is working again. That’s what we are here for to help.
Thanks for letting us know.
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

jgu1
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 275 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby jgu1 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:10 am

Hello again!

For problems with Pic16f887 I have found out the following. The moment I put a 887 in EB 006 and FC have started up is there something strange. program behaves strangely, and if I put my project up to use a 887 and try to autodetect via config changes the Picén to a 16F84 and writes it can not find the USB cable and not supporters 887th One of my friends who also use FC have tested the same and got the same result. Are there any here who might. have a 887 and could test it, or tell me what is wrong. I have tested with 3 new Pic16F887 with same result.

Best regard.

Jgu1
Attachments
test.gif
(87.67 KiB) Downloaded 2483 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14567
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4598 times
Been thanked: 4239 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby Benj » Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:25 am

Hello,

The 16F887 chip is not availble from the simple settings screen. Try clicking the "Switch to expert config" button and then try the autodetect process again and that should work correctly.

User avatar
medelec35
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 8536
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2456 times
Been thanked: 3525 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby medelec35 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:28 am

I believe that warning message states that you will need to go access expert config settins to set configuration of target device up, or it will not run as expected.

PPP is detecting 16F887, so after changing your config settings, Should Compile to Chip
OK

Edit: Opps. I was typing reply and not seen your post.

Sorry Ben
Martin

If you read a post that is useful, please show appreciation by clicking on thumbs up Icon.

jgu1
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 275 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby jgu1 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 10:45 am

HI!

I've tried all your suggestions, it does not work. But could it be a bug in sofrwaren? Should it not be automatically autodetect the Pic which sits, as it can with all other types of PiC. :?:

Regard

Jgu1

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14567
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4598 times
Been thanked: 4239 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby Benj » Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:13 am

Hello,

Which version of Flowcode are you running? Maybe updating to the latest version v4.3 will fix the problem you are having. If your already using v4.3 then im a bit out of ideas. I'll have a think on it.

User avatar
Dan81
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:07 pm
Location: Albi France
Been thanked: 60 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby Dan81 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:21 am

Hello MGU1

Can you post your Flowchart (with "your" configuration)

Daniel

jgu1
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 275 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby jgu1 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:33 am

Hi Daniel!

This is one of the testprogram I have made.

Jgu1
Attachments
887.fcf
(5.5 KiB) Downloaded 75 times

User avatar
Dan81
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:07 pm
Location: Albi France
Been thanked: 60 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby Dan81 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:48 am

Hello MGU1

I've modified the config word to 0x2FF2

Daniel
Attachments
887_v2.fcf
not tested
(5.5 KiB) Downloaded 84 times

jgu1
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 275 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby jgu1 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:22 pm

Hi Daniel! :P

Now it works, fine. But how can it be to EB and FC can not autodetect just this Pic? The reason that I would like to use 887 is that it is cheaper than 877 and has already bought a lot of 887.

To all who have been helpful, thank you. :P :lol: :P

Jgu1

User avatar
Dan81
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:07 pm
Location: Albi France
Been thanked: 60 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby Dan81 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:21 pm

Hello Jorgen

in Flowcode menu
go to Chip / configure and click on "option"
then unthick "use simple config screen".
Next time you'll get the "expert config screen" and you will be able to detect the 16F887

I 've been using the 16F887 for 2 years.


Daniel

jgu1
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:39 am
Has thanked: 1041 times
Been thanked: 275 times
Contact:

Re: EB006

Postby jgu1 » Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:09 am

Hi Daniel! :lol:

Just what I need. Now it does not matter if I use a 876, 877, 887 it will be detected immediately without problems. I still do not keyed with other types, but it comes and I assume that it also works.

Once again, many many thanks for your help, it may well be also have been instructive for others user here.

Best regard :P

Jgu1