Flowkit

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 4.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 4 or higher. To sign up for this forum topic please use the "Online Resources" link in the Flowcode Help Menu.

Moderator: Benj

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 190 times
Been thanked: 140 times
Contact:

Flowkit

Postby petesmart » Fri Jul 22, 2011 2:57 pm

Hi MM Team,

Does Flowkit work with:

1) ECIO-40P

2) ECIO-ARM40P

3)dsPIC/PIC24 via EB-064

Is there any other way of using ICD mode and Flowcode without flowkit?

many thanks

best regards,

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3110
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 396 times
Contact:

Re: Flowkit

Postby Steve » Fri Jul 22, 2011 3:42 pm

FlowKit works with all those devices.

The only other way to use Flowcode's ICD feature is to use the EB006 (v7 or later) which has this built in.
These users thanked the author Steve for the post:
petesmart (Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:25 pm)
Rating: 5%
 

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 190 times
Been thanked: 140 times
Contact:

Re: Flowkit

Postby petesmart » Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:24 pm

Hi Steve,

thanks for the fast response.

This brilliant news as I have both EB-006v7 and flowkit...

I'm a very happy man... :mrgreen:

Thanks

Best regards

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14655
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4646 times
Been thanked: 4267 times
Contact:

Re: Flowkit

Postby Benj » Fri Jul 22, 2011 5:00 pm

Hello,

The EB064 has the ICD built in too :D
These users thanked the author Benj for the post:
petesmart (Fri Jul 22, 2011 10:33 pm)
Rating: 5%
 

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 190 times
Been thanked: 140 times
Contact:

IDC and EB – 064

Postby petesmart » Thu Dec 01, 2011 2:05 pm

Hi Ben,

I am currently using an EB – 064 working with dsPIC 30F3012, using the latest version of dsPIC flow code software.

I was attempting to do some debugging on the hardware around the EEPROM, read/write function and I don't seem to be able to write to the EEPROM i.e. the value does not get stored and is lost on powerdown. Not sure if there any known issues here?

My question is around ICD mode with EB 064. I have selected ICD mode and have successfully compiled to the chip using the default settings. When I run the program I get the error message back that the target device cannot be found, 1st line of code should be etc etc etc . Are there any special tricks required to make ICD mode work on an EB 064?

Best regards

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14655
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4646 times
Been thanked: 4267 times
Contact:

Re: Flowkit

Postby Benj » Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:57 am

Hello Pete.

Have you tried an EEPROM address other then 0 I seem to remember there was a problem with storing data at address 0 on some devices.

Also with your ICD problem the main reasons this is not working are:

a) you are using the ICD pins somewhere in your program.

b) the clock speed setting in the project options window is not right for your hardware. Can you do a 1 second LED flasher test with ICD switched off to confirm that this is set up correctly.

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 190 times
Been thanked: 140 times
Contact:

Re: Flowkit

Postby petesmart » Fri Dec 02, 2011 9:09 pm

Thanks Ben,

Your guess was correct, I'm using address location zero.. The code appears to be ok as it simulates fine.....will try an alternate location.

As with ICD, thanks for the clues, Will investigate further and come back to you...

Best regards

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 190 times
Been thanked: 140 times
Contact:

re ICD and EEprom issue

Postby petesmart » Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:56 pm

Thanks Ben,

You where spot on with the clue on the EEPROM location, ADDR 0 does not store data in my example, disPIC30F3012. Moved to ADDR location 1 and problem solved. :D Is this a bug, do you know what the cause of this behaviour?

As for the ICD, pins (all of port B) are used by the hardware application. Attempted to move to port C, RC 13 thru RC15. Tried the 'Over-ride ICD pin' option and can only select 5,6,7 - not 13, 14,15... appreciate your thoughts on this..

Thanks again for your assistance,

all the best

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14655
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 4646 times
Been thanked: 4267 times
Contact:

Re: Flowkit

Postby Benj » Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:01 pm

Hi Pete,

I seem to remember first coming across the EEPROM bug on the Microchip forum. I believe it is a bug in the EEPROM silicone but I could be wrong on this.

When you are selecting the port is it PORTC_H because if it is then pins 5, 6 and 7 should actually refer to the PORTC pins 13, 14 and 15 you are expecting.
These users thanked the author Benj for the post:
petesmart (Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:39 pm)
Rating: 5%