newbie requires help

For users of Matrix Multimedia Electronics software to discuss projects, circuits and any other electronics concepts.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Steve001
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

newbie requires help

Post by Steve001 »

Hi,

I am new to microcontrollers and purchased the following kit (Before i had herd of matrix multimedia)

http://microcontrollershop.com/product_ ... b04349e59d

i also purchased the following software as a learning tool (Which i was told would be ok, and good software to make a start with)

assembly for PICMicro microcontrollers (ELPIC_3)

Reading through forums on here and various aplication notes

Can i use the software on my board ? to do the exersises and tutarials by copying the code into MPLAB ?
as it looks like the software works with the development boards
or would i be better bighting the bullet and purchasing a E-Blocks board ?

Also the project that i wish to build is a thermometer that has selectable inputs ( 6 or 8 )
with a additional one mounted on the pcb for an ambient temperature wich displays on a LCD Screen
two relay outputs for alarm and over temperature trip
using thermopile diodes as sensors

http://optoelectronics.perkinelmer.com/ ... tID=TPS333

looking at the following

PIC 18F877A with an additional AD Convertor ( ANALOG DEVICES AD7582) to get additional analouge inputs

Not sure the way to go adding ad convertors seams silly when there is a chip with it all there.
but the 18F8722 seams a very daunting contoller

Regards

steve

:?
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.

Steve
Matrix Staff

Re: newbie requires help

Post by Steve »

Hello Steve,

Sorry for the late reply - our offices have been shut over the Christmas period.

That course should be ok on that board, but some of the tutorials may require a different hardware setup (e.g. the LCD tutorials expect the display to be connected to certain pins on portb and they may not be on your board).