Page 1 of 1

Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:34 pm
by dbasnett
It would be nice if the decision block would take a macro call that returns a value.

Pseudo Code Before

foo = bar

if foo then
'foo true
else
'foo false
end if

bar macro
if this return 1 else return 0
end bar

Pseudo Code After

if bar then
' true
else
' false
end if

bar macro
if this return 1 else return 0
end bar

Also, for what it is worth, I like the idea of single bit Booleans and 32 bit Long Integers. Writing the code for single bit booleans is not hard in flowcode, but can be prone to mistakes.

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:44 pm
by Steve
dbasnett wrote:It would be nice if the decision block would take a macro call that returns a value.
This is a great idea, but I can't guarantee that is will make it into V5 of Flowcode. We are getting quite close to the end of development and I'm reluctant at this stage to add anything that has the potential to delay the project.
dbasnett wrote:Also, for what it is worth, I like the idea of single bit Booleans and 32 bit Long Integers. Writing the code for single bit booleans is not hard in flowcode, but can be prone to mistakes.
You will pleased to know that these new datatypes are available in Flowcode V5!

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:48 pm
by dbasnett
Steve wrote:
dbasnett wrote:It would be nice if the decision block would take a macro call that returns a value.
This is a great idea, but I can't guarantee that is will make it into V5 of Flowcode. We are getting quite close to the end of development and I'm reluctant at this stage to add anything that has the potential to delay the project.
Well keep it in mind. I was surprised that it wasn't there.
Steve wrote:
dbasnett wrote:Also, for what it is worth, I like the idea of single bit Booleans and 32 bit Long Integers. Writing the code for single bit booleans is not hard in flowcode, but can be prone to mistakes.
You will pleased to know that these new datatypes are available in Flowcode V5!
:D

Any idea when V5 will be available? Will there be a cost to upgrade from 4 to 5?

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:59 pm
by Steve
We're looking at a release at the end of the year. Our upgrade policy is usually 50% of the cost of the V5 price, but we have not fully resolved the list of versions and prices that will be available.

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 1:41 pm
by dbasnett
Steve wrote:We're looking at a release at the end of the year. Our upgrade policy is usually 50% of the cost of the V5 price, but we have not fully resolved the list of versions and prices that will be available.
My opinions, for obvious reasons, about upgrades.

1 - Anyone purchasing version 4 after 30 June 2011 should get a great upgrade offer, free sounds good :D .
2 - If I were doing this I would announce a limited time upgrade to version 5 for a ridiculously low price and at the same time announce that versions prior to version 4 would no longer be supported. If you are planning a year end release there would be plenty of time to get the word out.

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 1:52 pm
by Steve
dbasnett wrote:Anyone purchasing version 4 after 30 June 2011 should get a great upgrade offer, free sounds good.
Unfortunately I think I would have great difficulty getting this past the marketing department!

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2011 1:56 pm
by dbasnett
I had to try. :P

As a tech person it took me a long time to understand the benefit of the sales / marketing departments.

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:07 pm
by allpicproject
Steve wrote:We're looking at a release at the end of the year. Our upgrade policy is usually 50% of the cost of the V5 price, but we have not fully resolved the list of versions and prices that will be available.

Btw, how about the bugs in ver4.x ? is it all will be solved in the latest of ver4.x or need to upgrade to ver5.x to get ver4.x bug resolved.

Just ask ( as I dont have much money to upgrade ... just bought ver4.x in Sept 2011 ) ... very nice if can upgrade for free because very small time gap. :D

Regards
Allpic

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:42 am
by Steve
We might have a new release of v4.x soon and we will continue to support this for some years yet. If you have specific bugs in mind, please let me know and I will try to get them fixed in the new version.

More details of the V5 release will be given at the beginning of next month.

We also intend to make free versions available to Flowcode users who help with its development or support. For example, active forum helpers like our "most valued" and those people who help with translations will get one. And in Spring next year we hope to release a new SDK for generating components, which will be another route for a free upgrade.

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 11:53 am
by allpicproject
Steve wrote:We might have a new release of v4.x soon and we will continue to support this for some years yet. If you have specific bugs in mind, please let me know and I will try to get them fixed in the new version.
Thanks for the support.
Steve wrote: We also intend to make free versions available to Flowcode users who help with its development or support. For example, active forum helpers like our "most valued" and those people who help with translations will get one. And in Spring next year we hope to release a new SDK for generating components, which will be another route for a free upgrade.
What the 'translation' means ? ie from English to other language ?

I want to involve in 'new SDK for generating components' process if possible. Let me know when it's time come.

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 1:23 pm
by Steve
allpicproject wrote:What the 'translation' means ? ie from English to other language ?
Yes - translation of the UI in Flowcode.

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 3:50 pm
by allpicproject
If you dont mind, may I see the list of UI to be translated into other language? or you may send it to my email ... allpicproject@gmail.com

My mother language is Malay Language / Bahasa Melayu ( I'm from Malaysia ).

Let me see if I can translate them into Malay language.

Regards
Allpic

Re: Decision Blocks and Macro Returns

Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:32 pm
by Steve
I will PM you with more information shortly...