Mikroprog suite for pic-Wrong PIC Recogonised?

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 5.
To post in this forum you must have a registered copy of Flowcode 5 or higher.

Moderator: Benj

Post Reply
JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Mikroprog suite for pic-Wrong PIC Recogonised?

Post by JDR04 »

Hi, have done a simple flowcode program just to flash a led on 1 pin

It converts to C and HEX fine. When I come to download the program into the 12F683 MCU,Mikroprog programmer says it sees a 12F508 MCU instead of 12F683 as selected?

I've attached the flow chart and the error message.Any help will be appreciated. Thanks guys...........John
Attachments
12F683 Test 2.fcf
(6 KiB) Downloaded 296 times
12F683 error.jpg
12F683 error.jpg (144.92 KiB) Viewed 7749 times

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: Mikroprog suite for pic-Wrong PIC Recogonised?

Post by medelec35 »

Hi John,
12F508 is the default device if communications fail.
I have a 12F683 connected and will deliberately set target deceive for the wrong device e.f 12F1840.
Select Read will all connections correct:
Device connected correctly.png
(7.83 KiB) Downloaded 2520 times
Now will remove wire from programmer PGC to target device and click on Read:
Device not connected correctly.png
(8.5 KiB) Downloaded 2520 times
.
So best to double check connections.
From the blue end of ribbon cable which is pin1:

Code: Select all

Programmer   Chip
1     -   VCC(pin1)
2     -   PGC(pin6) 
3     -   PGD(Pin7)
4     -  MCLR(Pin4)
5     -  GND(pin8) 
Re Flowchart:
C code with

Code: Select all

osccon=0x70;  
should be before the main loop and not inside.
osc needs to be internal and not external.
Watchdog timer needs to be off not on.
If you have got an external pull-up resistor between MCLR and VCC then master clear enable is ok on external.
If no pull-up resistor then master clear enable needs to be changed to internal.
Martin

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Mikroprog suite for pic-Wrong PIC Recogonised?

Post by JDR04 »

Thanks very much.I'll try your suggestions out and let you know Tuesday.Thanks again.............John

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: Mikroprog suite for pic-Wrong PIC Recogonised?

Post by medelec35 »

You're welcome John.
I guess it would have been less misleading if error pops up with 'Error - Unable to establish communication's'
Rather than 'Device Detected - 12F508'
But it is what it is.
Martin

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Mikroprog suite for pic-Wrong PIC Recogonised?

Post by JDR04 »

Thanks Martin, all is good.Thanks for your patience and time.

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 9520
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 2:27 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Has thanked: 2585 times
Been thanked: 3815 times
Contact:

Re: Mikroprog suite for pic-Wrong PIC Recogonised?

Post by medelec35 »

Hi John,
Glad it's all working.
What was the issue?
It helps anyone else who has the same problem.
Martin

JDR04
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:49 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: Mikroprog suite for pic-Wrong PIC Recogonised?

Post by JDR04 »

I was using a bread board with jumper leads.

Turns out one of the jumper leads was faulty. Could have kicked myself!!!Anyway, thanks for your time.

Take care.....John

Post Reply