PPP3

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 2 and 3.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

wjhos
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:30 pm
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

PPP3

Postby wjhos » Wed Sep 05, 2012 2:15 pm

I managed to program 16f1825, using PPP3 ver. 3.14.18.33.However, that file got corrupted and i cant find it anywhere on this website.Pls helpme out. ver.3.11 cannot program 16f1825.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 13173
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3824 times
Been thanked: 3665 times
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby Benj » Wed Sep 05, 2012 2:33 pm

Hello,

Here you go.
PPP v3.14.zip
(1.29 MiB) Downloaded 462 times

wjhos
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:30 pm
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby wjhos » Wed Sep 05, 2012 2:59 pm

Thanks, but it does not work. Starting PPP3 gives error ''Failed to get data for CONFIG8L'
Ignoring starts the program, but the config screen is cut, so no buttons can be used.
However, programming,reading etc. is possible, but no chip configuration.
Last edited by wjhos on Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 13173
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3824 times
Been thanked: 3665 times
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby Benj » Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:01 pm

Hello,

The config window should be scalable by hovering your mouse near one of the edges of the window.

wjhos
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:30 pm
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby wjhos » Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:07 pm

Resizable yes, but no accept or ok buttons appear.

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 13173
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3824 times
Been thanked: 3665 times
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby Benj » Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:14 pm

Hmm that's odd, I have just tested it using v5 PIC and it's working fine. Could it be related to the Windows DPI setting or anything like that?

wjhos
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:30 pm
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby wjhos » Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:31 pm

I do have v. 3.11 on cd, but that does not program 16f1825, but is working ok.
Is there a way to use the new PIC config files by this version. (copy/paste to the v. 3.11 directory does not work

User avatar
DavidA
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1037
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Matrix Multimedia Ltd
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 270 times
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby DavidA » Wed Sep 05, 2012 4:36 pm

Hello,
?
When you say you cannot see the OK and cancel button could you provide a screenshot of the issue as this seems like a similar issue we have had with another user, where their windows DPI settings were set higher (this makes all the icons and windows bigger in Windows bigger)

If you are unsure of how to take a screenshot, please see this website:

http://take-a-screenshot.org/

wjhos
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:30 pm
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby wjhos » Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:26 pm

I donot think it is adpi problem, but an installation problem. As i said, i had v3.14 installed till it crashed. The version i received from you runs after unzipping.
Anyway, i attach the screenshot.
Attachments
Config.JPG
Config.JPG (71.27 KiB) Viewed 12276 times

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 13173
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Has thanked: 3824 times
Been thanked: 3665 times
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby Benj » Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:33 pm

Hello,

Looks to be a DPI problem to me, you can see that the standard font is larger then it usually is. You can view your DPI settings here in Windows 7.

Start -> Control Panel -> Personalization -> Display

and then more options available by clicking

Set custom text size (DPI).

Both of mine are set to 100% default.

PPP does not need to be installed, it is simply a set of files that run.

Clicking off the config onto a blank part of the PPP config window may allow you to hit the enter key on your keyboard instead of clicking OK.

wjhos
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:30 pm
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby wjhos » Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:04 pm

Hello,
Problem solved, however i have to use my glasses to be able to read the small characters in normal windows screens.
Having said that still leaves me with the problem of the slow running pgm i posted on this forum. The program runs normally in an 16f877, but not in an 16f1825 (EB-006-00-7 board) Tried all kinds of clock settings, but no result.
Switching between different PIC's brought me to a nuissance in the list of PIC's in Flowcode. When building, select device, i get a list which to me makes no sense. There is no numeric/lexicografic order, all PIC's are in a random order, so difficult to decide if i have to scroll up or down or if i am in the vicinity of the wanted PIC. In PPP the order is more logical. Can something about that be done.
Thanks,
W.J. Hos

User avatar
petesmart
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:42 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 179 times
Been thanked: 136 times
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby petesmart » Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:57 am

Hi Ben, Jonny,

I can also confirm that DPI causes all sorts of issues with display in all versions of FC V5, especially display of the MIAC image on the panel. I also the sawthe same config issue on beta dSPIC.

I first noticed this back in V4 versions, and I think that Jonny fixed or was working on a fix, can't remember now as it was a awhile ago.

I run my monitors at 125% as the resolution I'm running is very high, greater than 2k pixels...it's a 30" monitor so it's difficult to see the fonts when set to 100%.

All the best

Pete
sorry about that Chief!

mikky7
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:19 pm
Contact:

Re: PPP3

Postby mikky7 » Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:37 pm

Programming,reading etc. is possible, but no chip configuration.