Macro "Locking"

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 2 and 3.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

Post Reply
Ron
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 6:15 pm
Contact:

Macro "Locking"

Post by Ron »

Hi,

Is there a way to "lock" a macro. That is to say, allow someone to use the macro in flowcode, but not let them open the macro flowchart, and not let them modify the macro?

This would be nice, I am going to give several small PIC controllers I am building to a local cub scout troop. I have known the troop leader for 20+ years and he is going to speak to the parents about ordering 4 of the student licenses, I supplied him 4 older PC's with monitors as well.

I want the kids to be able to create their own sequences by calling my macros, but not let them get in and possibly break the macros.

Thanks

Ron

User avatar
Steve
Matrix Staff
Posts: 3173
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 3:59 pm
Contact:

Post by Steve »

Hello Ron,

No such facility exists at the moment, but it is a good idea. I will look at adding it to a future release.

User avatar
AbhijitR
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 12:48 pm
Location: Pune, India
Contact:

Re: Macro "Locking"

Post by AbhijitR »

Hello!

Is there any option to lock/secure the complete flowchart or MACRO's in FLOWCODE 6.

Thank you.

Abhijit

User avatar
LeighM
Matrix Staff
Posts: 2040
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:07 am
Contact:

Re: Macro "Locking"

Post by LeighM »

Hi,
We do not have any facility to lock or write protect projects.
But what you can do is create your own component from a project.
That way you can provide the functionality of the macros from your project, exposing these for use by anyone else using your component.
They will be able to use these in their own project without seeing your macro contents (source).
Would that achieve what you want?

User avatar
AbhijitR
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 12:48 pm
Location: Pune, India
Contact:

Re: Macro "Locking"

Post by AbhijitR »

Hello! LeighM

Thanks for the answer, it sounds good.

Abhijit

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14829
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: Macro "Locking"

Post by Benj »

Hello,

In v5-v7 if you Export a macro then you can Export it as "Read Only" and as "Private".

Using the Macro -> Export menu.

You can then import the macro into other projects and it will then not be editable or viewable based on your export settings.

User avatar
AbhijitR
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 12:48 pm
Location: Pune, India
Contact:

Re: Macro "Locking"

Post by AbhijitR »

Hello! Benj

Many thanks for this suggestion, I guess this will solve my problem.

Regards
Abhi

User avatar
AbhijitR
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 12:48 pm
Location: Pune, India
Contact:

Re: Macro "Locking"

Post by AbhijitR »

Hello! Benj

The suggestion you gave to protect the MACRO worked well, thanks again.

Regards
Abhi

User avatar
Benj
Matrix Staff
Posts: 14829
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Matrix TS Ltd
Contact:

Re: Macro "Locking"

Post by Benj »

Many thanks for letting us know. Glad it's working well for you.

Post Reply