conection pic to pic

For Flowcode users to discuss projects, flowcharts, and any other issues related to Flowcode 2 and 3.

Moderators: Benj, Mods

aerofrick

conection pic to pic

Post by aerofrick »

Hi

I am quite new in programming pic microcontrollers and I was wondering witch connection pic to pic would be the easiest and best to perform.

I havent decided on witch pic to use but I am thinking about using PIC16F1933 or PIC18F2331.
I want to use three adjustable resistors an LCD display (4?20) and a keypad and link this on the first pic on one end of the cable. On the other end I would have another pic witch would generate three individual PWM signals each controlled with an adjustable resistor linked to the first pic witch would drive motors. This second pic would also have a temperature sensor (DS18S20 or DS18B20) and few sensors that work as adjustable resistors and data from these sensors would be displayed on the LCD connected to the first pic.

I already got some tips about what communication to use but I havent decided witch is better and easier to create and use.

Any help appreciated
Jan

Sean
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Re: conection pic to pic

Post by Sean »

Hello Jan,

Your application appears to require bi-directional communications, so UARTs (RS232) will probably provide the simplest solution.

The Flowcode RS232 component should provide all the features you need. If the cable is relatively short, and the environment is not too electrically noisy, you might be able to connect the devices together directly (using a cross-over cable configuration).

If the application does not allow this, RS232 drivers can be used to improve signal transmission (as used on the RS232 e-block)

Alternatively, the UARTs could be connected via RS485 drivers (see the RS485 article in the Articles thread of this forum).